Humans logo

After retiring as a senior engineer, I was rehired by the company at a monthly salary of $2000. My apprentices ignore me, and my colleagues secretly criticize me

After retirement, would you consider accepting a rehiring offer?

By imdoddPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
After retiring as a senior engineer, I was rehired by the company at a monthly salary of $2000. My apprentices ignore me, and my colleagues secretly criticize me
Photo by ThisisEngineering RAEng on Unsplash

I'm , and before retiring, I was a senior engineer at a company. Prior to my retirement, several private enterprises approached me, hoping that I would join their companies after retirement. One even offered a monthly salary of 20,000 RMB. I was initially tempted to accept, but the company's vice president wanted me to return, citing the company's need for my skills and experience. However, the rehiring salary would be reduced to 10,000 RMB.

I didn't hesitate and readily agreed. Having spent over 20 years with the company, I have developed an emotional connection. So, even with the lower rehiring salary, I accepted the offer from the vice president. We agreed that I would return after half a month.

On the day of my retirement, many colleagues came to bid me farewell. My apprentices were particularly emotional, and one of them even cried. He held my hands tightly and said, "Master, I really don't want you to leave the company. I haven't fully learned your techniques yet." The other apprentices also expressed their desire to continue learning from me.

I was moved by their sentiments. The atmosphere was quite emotional, and even I teared up. However, I consoled myself with the thought that I would be back soon, which eased my sadness. I told my apprentices, "Don't be sad, I'll be back in a few days!" One of them asked about the situation, so I explained the rehiring arrangement to them.

I thought they would be happy, but to my surprise, their expressions showed confusion and shock, rather than joy. I didn't think much of it at the time and assumed I had misunderstood something.

After taking a two-week break at home, I returned to the company. I wanted to go back to my original office, but someone was already occupying it—a former apprentice of mine who had exceptional technical skills. He said the company had assigned him that office. I explained that I had returned and expected my office back, but he ignored me.

I soon realized that the situation was not as simple as I had thought. My previously respectful apprentices were now indifferent to me, treating me almost like an enemy.

When I saw my apprentice occupying the office, I didn't argue and instead approached the facilities team to arrange a new office. Although smaller, it was sufficient and didn't hinder my work.

Over the next few days, I noticed that my apprentices were avoiding me. To my frustration, I heard from others that some colleagues were criticizing me behind my back, saying I was greedy for money and shameless for returning after retirement to take young people's positions.

I genuinely believed that my rehiring was due to the company's needs. Money wasn't my main concern; if it were, I could have easily joined those private enterprises.

Despite the challenges, I focused on doing my job well, believing that as long as I performed my duties, I could overcome any negativity. However, I quickly realized that the situation was more complex than anticipated. Colleagues who had once cooperated with me were now distant. At lunchtime, I found no one willing to share a table with me in the company cafeteria.

Back at home, I reflected on the situation. It dawned on me that my colleagues, including my apprentices, didn't seem to welcome my return. I realized that accepting the rehiring was a mistake. I spoke with the vice president and expressed my intention to leave. I made a decision—to sever ties with the workplace and focus on my family after retirement, to avoid jealousy and envy.

This experience opened my eyes to the harsh realities of the workplace. There are no true friends in the workplace, only interests. People get along as long as there are no conflicts of interest. When conflicts arise, even apprentices can turn against you.

I had previously underestimated the complexity of the situation. After this experience, I truly understood that the workplace is a realm of fame and fortune, and fading away is a common occurrence.

I would like to advise fellow retirees to avoid rehiring if possible. If you choose to return, consider other companies rather than your former workplace.

Finally, I'd like to ask all of you: After retirement, would you consider accepting a rehiring offer?

friendship
Like

About the Creator

imdodd

Write a little story about human nature, work, and life around you. Here, you can find joy, inspiration, and contemplation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.