Humans logo

A Man without a Month

Can someone place Me in the Spotlight

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
A Man without a Month
Photo by Ahmed Hasan on Unsplash

Another look at the calendar and another day of partying has passed and everyone continues on as if they have no phase. Here I stand, still left out, body numb and not a bit of amazed.

Sometimes I walk as if I am thin air, for there is only one celebrated day about me. Even most times the TVs and adds play me like I'm second hand, even the recycled gifts displays this about me.

Excuse me if I walk with me head down, because it appears to be another common day. After the lights fade, the dancing stops, I'm reminded how little effort would compare to the energy even when it comes my day.

Most of the time when the music stops, I quickly retreat back to my normal routine. All this joy and laughter is far greater than what my day has ever seen.

So excuse me if I fade from the light as if there were no cause for celebration, because when my day comes, the thought is low and without hesitation.

National this month and national that month as if everyone is saying look at me! However, after the celebration, I drop my head because when me day comes, no seems to remember me.

We have a great plan ahead and the preparation can sometimes start months in advance. I'll just hold my head low after we're done, because on my day, no seems to want to dance.

Please don't worry about me! I will continue to assume my place well after the party and the endless happy hour. Somehow, people will breeze past my day; last year during that time the city even lost power.

However, society will tell me to continue my walk and hold my shoulders very high! Be the protector and make sure no one sees you cry! Hold your head straight and take that bad news like a man. As the world continues with joy, there is no one there to hold your hand.

The party is over and there is nothing more to savor. Go put on you mask, suit up with your cape and go do the world another favor. Stand in front of the car and make sure your hold that door open for the women and children. Continue to be a safe net and make sure everyone gets in the building.

Turn out the lights, sweep the floor because the day which was put on hold in now completely over. Congratulations, your daughter just passed her driving test and the wife keeps showing you ads for the new Range Rover.

After all this endless and joyful commotion, when it all ends, no seems to see your smile fade because when thinking of you there is little emotion. So drink your wine even after the party stops, please, leave it to me to clean up all the mess with a familiar mop.

I feel like every other father does after a celebrated month or holiday. I look forward to tie and sock packets, with shaving cream from Old Spice with a perfect ending to another office day.

I will assume my position and maintain it after your celebrated day is gone and very well done. Then I'll retreat back to my normal day duties, might even look at an old western and dream about being part of how the west was won.

I am a father that continues on well after the party and lights have faded away. Even well after my 10 hours on Sunday in June, I still feel like I'm being worked because what I have accomplished sometimes doesn't even compare to the man on the moon.

family
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.