Humans logo

A Chat With Heather Strazza

A few moments with "The Miracle Oil Painter"

By Cathy (Christine Acheini) Ben-Ameh Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I first met Heather Strazza online about two years ago and am continuously blown away by her talent. She began her art journey following severe traumatic brain surgery. You can read all about her story HERE.

I was lucky to steal some time out from her hectic schedule to chat with her about her art and what inspires her. Enjoy.

Cathy Ben-Ameh: Please could you give us a brief bio on who you are and how long you have been painting?

Heather Strazza: Hi I am Heather. I became a full-time or otherwise put obsessed and extremely loved and dedicated to art a few months after a severe traumatic brain injury in 2015.

Cathy Ben-Ameh: Can you describe one artwork or series from your oeuvre that you feel was pivotal in your career?

Heather Strazza: My recent series started in March of 2020 when the Covid fear was covering our planet, I felt a shift in my focus from art for fun to art for a purpose. And I wanted to be an inspiration and share biblical truths from prayers and time with the Lord to inspire each piece.

Cathy Ben-Ameh: How has being a woman affected your career?

Heather Strazza: Being a woman I think has always made it difficult for me to express my value for my time and work compared to being generous and giving things away for free, or people assuming I should be that way. It’s been difficult for my entire life, but I’m growing little by little in knowing how to express my value to those who are interested in my work.

Cathy Ben-Ameh: What makes a great artist?

Heather Strazza: A great artist is made from someone who creates genuinely and uniquely and puts in the time and effort to be pleasing as well, whether in skills or in the meaning behind it.

Cathy Ben-Ameh: Which other great women artists inspire you and why?

Heather Strazza: Great woman artists that inspire me….

I have quite a few online Instagram artists that inspire me. I am inspired by people who give their skills and time to glorify the Lord. And it’s not all about the talent but I seem to be encouraged by the time they spend not only on the art but also the quiet time spent with the Lord to hear His voice.

Cathy Ben-Ameh: How has the art world’s relationship with women artists changed since you began your career? How could it still improve?

Heather Strazza: I feel women are going to outnumber the men just like in a typical prayer circle. I feel women have a more natural ability to surrender to the Lord. Seeing that I’m not alone and it’s not a waste of time. Art for the Lord by other women, knowing their paths in life sometimes has been a wonderful blessing and sometimes extreme loss, God is still magnified! It helps me to be encouraged in my unique situation in life. It helps me to step forward and know my art and my time have value.

Cathy Ben-Ameh: What advice would you give to emerging female artists entering the art world?

Heather Strazza: The advice I would give emerging female artists...I would say to have a clear view and understanding of their values and stand firm on them; To spend time in prayer and worship. Take it easy and know that you and God are a team and it’s okay to be unique!

Cathy Ben-Ameh: Thank you so much for your time Heather.

Heather Strazza: My pleasure!

If you have been inspired by my chat with Heather Strazza, please follow her on Instagram, check out her website and contact her for your own specially painted art in whatever style you like.

Until next article, keep on being amazing!

art
1

About the Creator

Cathy (Christine Acheini) Ben-Ameh

Bio:

Cathy Ben-Ameh has published two books; "The Impact of Music Streaming on The Music Industry: Case study-Spotify" and "'13- A Chapbook of 13 Short Poems". https://linktr.ee/cathybenameh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.