Humans logo

5 Steps to Designing Your Life

Without pictures, the soul cannot think.

By gaozhenPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Recently, I have observed that many of us feel that we are reacting to life rather than creating it

Maybe some of us get stuck in a job that we don't think is challenging or fulfilling our potential. Or, we always feel left behind -- the demands of running errands, tasks, and bills keep us playing catch-up. Some of us struggle to find a meaningful balance between family and career.

Or, simply put, we have become victims; Unconsciously, we have decided that every day is the effect and cause.

Recently, when I was faced with a disconnect between my different interests, I realized that I had to refocus quickly to avoid going astray.

I find that by designing my life through the vision statement, it has been a tool to provide more direction: instead of becoming reactionary to whatever happens in my day, I regain the role of creating it.

inspiration

Last week, I went to the Phoenix Zoo for board training. I was recently nominated as the Board Development Chair of our local Boys and Girls Club, and I gladly accepted this organization because it is an organization I am passionate about.

On Friday morning, the zoo was clearly a popular destination. I parked in the first available space - the furthest part of the parking lot - and walked to the entrance.

With me in heels and dresses, pushing a stroller in comfy sneakers, matching outfits, cool sunglasses and a big smile looking forward to a fun day at the zoo, comfy moms in sneakers stood out.

I couldn't help wishing I was there with my own family - on a beautiful phoenix spring morning - with the sun shining, walking slowly, watching koalas, and the latest reptile exhibit.

I found my own style of speaking: I listened, took notes and brainstorming about how I could contribute to leading our board to make a greater impact in the community.

During a break, I chatted with the president of an organization whose purpose is to provide services to children who have lost their parents.

I found myself deep in conversation and sharing that maybe my husband and I could volunteer at their upcoming summer camp. After all, we all lost our parents when we were very young, and we understand the hardships involved, and we have a lot of empathy for children who are on a similar path.

After the break, the consultant began to talk about the importance of vision statements to nonprofits. He highlights how an organization's vision statement shapes, inspires, and leads members to purposeful fulfillment.

Wavering and overcommitment

I couldn't help but step away from that training for a while and, mentally, reflect on my own personal vision statement. What is mine? I'm very familiar with vision statements for nonprofits, but why don't I know what my personal vision statement is?

Why would I swap my company heels for mom sneakers so easily? What motivates me to freely devote my time to any organization I'm passionate about when I already have many commitments? How can I refocus on my true true intentions for my future?

I need a personal vision statement.

When I got home that evening, I picked up an issue of Inc. magazine and remembered an article I had read on a recent flight home. This article is about the power of vision and highlights the importance of vision to a company.

I have translated this article into a personal creation vision statement.

Your vision statement

The key points I took from the article were:

What is vision? It's not as mysterious or as there as it sounds. Quite simply, a vision is a picture of your success at a specific time in the future.

Great visions are inspiring. You're excited to get out of bed every morning.

The vision must be strategically sound. You have to have a reasonable chance of getting there.

When we engage in effective vision, we are moving toward the future we want, not just reacting to a present reality we don't like.

Spend time working on the future you choose to create: Life is short, and spending time agonizing over opportunities that seem too good to pass up - but won't get us where we really want to go - is a waste of time.

Vision makes it easier to deal with the decisions that arise every day: the only opportunities worth considering are those that will help us achieve our vision.

Let's go!

Here's what you need to start designing your vision statement:

30 minutes of time (no breaks)

A pen and a piece of paper

Divide the papers into 4 categories: 1) topic/time frame, 2) problem, 3) feeling and 4) draft

Step 1: Choose your topic and time frame

When did your vision happen? What is your vision when you graduate from college? Or when you retire? Or when you're ready to start a family?

Choose your destination for your vision statement so you can zoom in on the details.

Perhaps there is no theme or theme - just a timetable - a vision statement for the next three years? Or five years?

Step 2: Answer questions to guide you

To get your creative juices flowing, answer some exploratory questions:

What are the three most fulfilling things you do in a day?

What are your most important values?

What are your intentions?

What is your greatest strength? Casually ask those who know you, "What are my greatest strengths and weaknesses? What do you admire most about me?"

These questions help you move in the direction of your vision by identifying your authenticity.

If you need more questions to explore in more depth, Tina has created 15 questions to help you.

Step 3: Senses

One key difference between a mission statement and a vision statement is that you can feel it, experience it, touch it, even smell it -- you can see it.

Write a few key words with the feeling of your vision statement. To connect with the senses at a certain point in time

Perhaps, as part of your statement, you want to be a healthier version of who you are today. What was that like? A few key words that come to mind might be: energetic, happy, awake.

Or, you can elaborate further. For example, maybe your vision is to open your own coffee shop on the beach one day. Fast forward five years, and you're now celebrating the coffee shop's first anniversary:

What are customers doing? Are they reading the latest news wirelessly? Is there an artist who sketches from a window with an ocean view? Is there a smell of espresso in the air? What about the terrace - can you feel the breeze from the beach? Amplify the taste of coffee, what customers are doing, how they interact, and how your employees serve them.

Connect with the vision statement and deepen the reality at all levels of your senses.

Step 4: Draft

By brainstorming steps 1 through 3, you can begin to move toward a vision statement:

To reach for great things. The goal of the vision statement is to create an awesome and authentic life. Don't settle for the status quo: Do great things.

Write from the heart. Whatever flows into your heart, let it flow to the paper: go. Don't judge it. Write it down, even if people have convinced you along the way that it's impossible.

Step into the future. Visualize yourself as your vision statement arrives. Put yourself out there. Combine the senses in step 3. Think of the vision statement as the movie of your life: in the movie, not in the audience. It was written as if you were there.

Go to. Avoid editing; Write it. Many times, the most inspiring, honest, and insightful ideas are the ones that come freely. Don't edit thoughts in your own way. No one will read your vision statement -- it's for you -- so give it your all.

Go for it. Now, using all of these techniques, create your vision statement.

Perhaps your vision statement is a series. Maybe it's divided into three parts, three paragraphs to create your entire vision. Or, perhaps your vision statement is a concise, simple paragraph that encapsulates your vision.

There are no guidelines for the length of the declaration.

Take no more than 30 minutes, draft it, and go back to your day.

It will still be there waiting for you when you return from other duties. Enjoy your vision statement: play with it, connect with it, be creative, be yourself.

Step 5: Evaluate

Do you feel connected to it? Will it bring you peace of mind and happiness when you finish drafting? Do these words resonate with you and empower you to create the future?

If so, you have created the perfect vision statement at this point.

Remember that we are always evolving and changing, so revisit the vision statement to include new changes and new chapters in your life.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

gaozhen

Husband, father, writer and. I love blogging about family, humanity, health and writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.