Humans logo

2016

Changes

By Emma CranePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

2016 was a year of emotions. It was not the best. There was loss beyond comprehension and sadness that still lingers. November is the month people take the time to say what they are grateful for; this is great. It gives inspiration and happiness to many but in 2016, that didn't seem to be the case. So many times I saw these memes talking about how horrible the year was, and no matter how accurate this may be, I did not share them because even though it was not the best year for me, I have a few things that I don't want to forget about from that year. I saw happiness in friendly gatherings to celebrate life and death, and I witnessed friends begin mother and fatherhood.

Out of all the happiness and sadness, I was able to meet an amazing man that makes my heart beat faster and makes the days brighter. There have been many days where things seem bleak, but not 365 of them. There have been days of immense happiness but not 365 of them. I don't want to forget that in 2016, my grandmother moved back to Florida, then moved again, that I lost a very dear friend that has left a void in my heart and possibly my soul that will never be regained, but I am blessed and grateful to have known this friend, and will forever cherish the time we did have in our short time on this planet. In all honestly, to just call him a dear friend doesn't do him justice; he was my family. We have not shared blood but we had a bond like no other. Due to this loss, I made some new friends and I am grateful for this also. Each one, unique in their own way, has helped me to understand things about myself that I thought I had lost long ago or just plain forgotten about. These people inspire adventure and made me remember that you have to live. They reminded me that I can make someone happy and BE happy, that I can be accepted for who I am, flaws and all, and that someone can be mad at you one day and okay with you the next. They showed me what forgiveness and fierce loyalty looks like.

When I look back at everything that has happened, I see and feel the impact of 2016 and I don't want to forget. I want to look into Derek's eyes and know things will be okay and feel the warmth of his embrace. I want to talk to Levi about his new life. I want to go shopping with Giuseppe. I want to see Randy make moves. I want to talk for hours with Damien about movies. I want to see Steven and John move forward with their plans in life, theater for John and new growth opportunities for Steven. I want to watch April and Jason continue their life with each other. Even after ten plus years being together, they are as in love as the day I met them. I want to see Cody and Brittani begin their new journey as husband and wife. These are the things I love and hold dear to me.

This was my 2016 and I want these memories and adventures to continue into my future. So, no, there will be no forgetting the year that everyone says was so terrible. In my life, I have had many experiences, but 2016 brought me the greatest loss that I have ever felt, and the greatest love I have ever felt. As I move forward, I know those feelings will eventually fade in intensity but the love and loss will always be there.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Emma Crane

I am a person that has a lot on her mind. I am in my 30's and love that there is a platform like this where I can share my passion for writing, which is something that I have been doing since my childhood.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.