History logo

The Hidden Scribe

The story of an imposter monk

By emaPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Runner-Up in Past Life Challenge
The Hidden Scribe
Photo by Georg Arthur Pflueger on Unsplash

The candlelight flickered as I tried to focus on the miniature.

The monastery was enveloped in silence, with only a few coughs or the creak of a chair, while the monks hunched over their desks, were busy reproducing the manuscripts.

Sometimes I had to translate from Latin, and other times I just had to copy the text, but my favorite thing was painting the capital letters and miniatures.

Usually, I enjoyed the silence and the protection those walls offered, a shelter from the cruelty and dangers of the outside world.

Sometimes, a look or a nod scared me. Could they have known that I was a woman?

The idea of hiding here had come to some relatives, they told me of the legend of Pope Joan. She hid among the monks and later became pope. I didn't aspire to that much, for me to go unnoticed was essential, also because the legend says that as soon as they discovered Joan's secret, they stoned her on the street!

However, my family thought this hideout was the best, especially to avoid ending up like my grandmother, burned at the stake like a witch. In the monastery, my uncle could welcome me as his nephew and protected me. I couldn't have done in a nunnery. Furthermore, the nuns were not entrusted with any intellectual tasks.

So my job wasn't a free choice, but it allowed me to put everything I'd learned into practice and continue to learn more. I just had to adjust a little and learn to work in a team.

The copying and translation works did not only concern sacred texts but included texts of mathematics, astronomy, grammar, and many subjects that the monks wanted to guard and preserve.

Sometimes I was allowed to leave the monastery to serve in private homes. Here I could admire books of great value and consult topics that did not fit into the monastery libraries. I could also paint the miniatures with pure gold, purplish, and other precious materials. Sometimes, the most curious children came to observe my work and I was asked to teach them some topics.

Life in the monastery could also be tiring. Yet the work in the garden, in the farmyard, and in the kitchen was very satisfying. Being outdoors and grow vegetables was an interesting discovery. I've never had to do this, but I've learned the value of getting food.

Picking the fruits and vegetables we had grown with our hands was a cause for joy. A little I liked the idea of going to get eggs because I was terrified of chickens! However, I used to give my best in the kitchen, especially preparing desserts.

Now and then, the inhabitants of the nearby village would approach the monastery for help, so that we could distribute some of what we had cooked to the poor, along with fresh fruit and vegetables.

Unlike other church bodies, the monastery received no tax money and was self-supporting.

However I felt guilty for using all my energies towards writing and painting. It was important for me to preserve those texts and preserve them for future generations, to spread the culture and art, but at the same time, people were dying of hunger and disease.

Maybe I could have done something more practical. Give more substantial help beyond simple almsgiving? Contribute to changing things? Maybe, I was hiding from what was going on in the world. I was scared and chose to hide.

In the Middle Ages, it was hard, if not impossible, to get out of the path that society had imposed on us, who knows if things will change in the future?

PerspectivesMedievalFictionBooks

About the Creator

ema

I invent stories, sometimes they need to be written.

Carpe Diem Tempus Fugit.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Marilyn Glover2 months ago

    You made me think and consider the future of man in our real world. Nice work and I agree with another comment; you should consider using personal art in upcoming stories. 🥰

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    I love the concept and thought provoking questions of this piece! I love that you tell us a tale of a woman in a man's world but also that you inspire the reader to think beyond the story! Beautifully done!

  • Spencer Hawken10 months ago

    I love how you managed to squeeze so much into such a short piece, excellent work.

  • Joe Luca11 months ago

    A peaceful read. Reminded me of the Brother Cadfael tales - love those. Nicely done.

  • Jazmin Fernandez12 months ago

    oh, the monastery might have been seen as a more suitable place for protection and personal development. Good work Ema, I loved the story.

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    This is really good! I felt immersed in this reality ☺️☺️

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    This was a lovely story, You should use your own drawings and paintings, I would be interested to see them. I so wish that I was a painter, but now AI can paint for me, though not the same. I like your way of thinking.

emaWritten by ema

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.