History logo

Arthur B. MacBeth

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 9 days ago 4 min read
Arthur B. MacBeth
Photo by Jessica Kantak Bailey on Unsplash

It was little after my grandparents passed that I realize who I am. I took a DNA test which was unusual in my family. And that's when it all started. I researched non-stop and sought after more and more. I was caught up in my endeavors. And I would spend time out of work looking for clues to my ancestors. And my ancestors what they were blew my mind. I did not know they were warriors, doctors, and kings and princes. I did not know that they fought oppression like they did. I was wrapped up in the joys and perils of knowing about the past. And then after sometime it happened a letter for Arthur B. MacBeth, it was a peculiar letter but also a royal letter. And I questioned whether I was in trouble from some prestigious relatives. Or I questioned if I was royalty. This happened on and off for many days and nights. I was going mad and losing my mind. And I received a call from a professor who I loved her class. And we discussed many issues and I told her about my relatives. And she explained to me history and why we need to know the good and bad to keep repeating the good and to keep defeating the bad. And at the end of the conversation, she said right now Arthur B. MacBeth opened the letter. And so I did. And I almost lost my mind, I dropped the phone. I was related to the King of England and a whole bunch of royalties. My professor said congratulations. I put on the Rock Music and played Motherland. It was the most exciting day of my life. I was all into royalty watching binge watching and playing their music. And I was so happy and that I subscribe to royal news online and with social media. I was royalty just like that and nobody nothing could do anything about it. Then it happened I had a meeting with the Prince of Wales, I was a fool. He was courtesy and tried to warn me about royal protocol and the bad things. But all I was hearing was that I was family at the royal coffee shop. And I shook hands with him and he awarded me the title of Lord, Noble and King's Honors. I was famous and popular. And he instructed me to established my estates and I was not listening. Then I met the three after walking the streets of London and embracing my royal roots, I first thought the three were cousins or sisters or somehow related but I was a naive royally, a foolish fame royal with little knowledge about the royal protocols and processes. The three, Hilda, Bilda, and Dilda. I could not tell if they were cousins or sisters or what. They were following me but I was unafraid I just thought they were fans. And eventually we met at their shop in the city, Hilda was the ugliest, Bilda was an It, and Dilda was either Black or Mixed. They all grouped together and talked at the same time. And I was convinced that they wanted to work with me. And I guess I was under their spell. But whatever they said came to pass and I was intrigue and enchanted. Then after sometime away, I received a call from the Princess of Wales who introduced herself and she asked about how the fame is going. Then I told her about Hilda, Bilda and Dilda. And she dropped the phone and said Oh my God they are freaks. You got to leave them alone at once. They are traitors and witches. I said Oh my God oh my God I would never betrayed the Throne and I would never be disloyal to my country. So I told them that day I would never be bothered with them again. And that night and all week long something weird kept happening, something was in my house and something was written on my door every night. I was scared the whole night and week long. And I finally prayed that if God saved me from this. I would kill those witches or have them arrested. And it happened that I ran into them in a crowd and said get those witches. And they first were unafraid and said We are just psychics who help people. Then I shouted again. Then they said we are just good witches who help the poor and needy. And I shouted again they said Mess with us and we will cast spells upon you. And the crowded aroused jump for them but they jumped through their shop's windows and they were arrested. And I never heard from them again. The Prince of Wales and the Princess of Wales restored my honor for preserving the peace and capturing those insurrectionists. And I was again acknowledge as the relative of the Throne and given a large beautiful estate even Hollywood Celebrities would envy.

Lessons

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MPWritten by Matthew Primous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.