History logo

Answer

Observations On Religion And The Ultimate Question From A Seven Days In Post From 2019

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
5
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

This is another taken from my blog Seven Days In, which has just received its millionth visit. It is very amateur but it is a great way of sort of keeping a diary that will last as long as the internet does. This is the post to celebrate the millionth visit.

The post was written when reading a Richard Dawkins book which got me pondering on the answer to the ultimate question. Then I thought of a few other fiction books that posed similar questions.

And of course

The Original Post

I am enjoying, if that's the right word, "The God Delusion" by Richard Dawkins but seems to be more against organised controlling religion and by extension the monotheist "god" which is the focus of most religions. I'm a tenth of the way through the book and think that at some point he will take aim and my own belief that evolution won't waste our consciousness but I have no evidence or reason to believe that, but you can never satisfactorily prove the non-existence of something, and also the fact that we cannot explain something means we have not found the answer. I couldn't really explain how a plane flies but it's not supernatural, magic or the will of god.

Also. I wonder if Richard Dawkins would have a problem with people who worshipped the Earth and believed when they die to become one with the Earth. He couldn't really argue with the basic premise.

Often religion is a search for "the answer" and two books spring to mind that provide the solution.

The first being Douglas Adams' "Hitch Hiker's Guide To The Galaxy" which gives that answer as 42 but he tells us you need to know what the question was.

The next is "Venus on the Half Shell" written by Philip Jose Farmer under the pseudonym Kilgore Trout, a creation of the amazing Kurt Vonnegut. Basically, the protagonist is searching for God to ask, in his opinion, the ultimate question:

Why are we born to suffer and die?

Through many adventures, he eventually comes face to face with God and asks his question and God answers:

Why Not?

A great ending to the book.

And just a thought, why doesn't the Christian God have a proper name? It's like calling your dog Dog (ironically a palindrome of God) and what the heck is the Holy Ghost?

So what to go with this morning, maybe "Converted" by The Alabama 3 from "Exile on Coldharbour Lane" which my friend Tom glared at me as they broke into the chorus "Let's Go Back To Church* but by the end of the gig even he was converted.

Concluding Observations

I think we are always looking for answers but Kilgore Trout and Douglas Adam s were brilliant with their ultimate questions and answers. Often people don't like the answers they are given and their ultimate question is often rhetorical.

In my job, I am often asked for things that may seem impossible, or at the least very difficult. One of the best managers that I ever had, her name was Ola in case anyone who knows where I work is reading this, almost always asked me to do things that seemed impossible. Sometimes they actually were, but most of the time she made me think and I actually gave her what she wanted, much to my own surprise.

In reality, there is no answer to the ultimate question because there is no real ultimate question. I am sure my friend Randy will have a great observation on this, but for me "42" and "Why Not?" will do,

Maybe every child's favourite question is the ultimate one.

Why?

FiguresPerspectivesLessonsGeneralBooksAnalysis
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Yayyyy, congratulations on your millionth visit on your blog! Religion has always felt weird to me, lol!

  • I love the answers & have no better, lol. I'm a long-time fan of Douglas Adams & have treasured his answer for almost as long. In our freshman debate class in high school, Mr. Zubke gave us a bonus question on our very first exam. "Why?" Let me tell you, I waxed eloquent on the subject of why we debate issues & work so hard to find answers. When we got our exams back, he revealed that only two answers were acceptable. "Why not?" & "Because." It remains my favorite question ever asked on an exam, even though I missed it by a mile (or several galaxies). And I have long since remembered the lesson he taught us that day: Never answer a question that hasn't been asked.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Ah, religion! A brave and complex subject to take on, and one that I usually have to avoid discussing with people I'd like to stay friends with. Spirituality and "being" are always fun, but then I get weird looks from people. I completely agree with your conclusion: "42" and "Why Not?" will do. I'll have to find a copy of Venus on the Half Shell. Great story.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    People do say if you think of yourself as just a body, you will suffer but if you think of yourself a spiritual being , it’s not suffering but a learning process or just a experience, you spirit want to go through in this earth before it became a body.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.