Gamers logo

Disney Villains Pokémon Teams

Pokémon Teams for Dr. Facilier, Gaston, Jafar, Ursula & Maleficent

By Steve BrewerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

If you have read my previous articles or spoke to me for 0.25 seconds you will know that I am a huge, HUGE Pokemon nerd. I was six when the series debuted in the states and have followed it ever since.

Something I enjoy doing is trying to envision how characters from other media would be if they entered a different universe. A previous article was about the Pokemon teams I saw the Classic Universal Monsters using, and this article will be along a similar vein.

While I love horror now I still do have a fondness for Disney, it was nearing the end of its Golden Age when Pokemon came to the US and I was one of the millions of kids growing up watching “Beauty & the Beast”, “Little Mermaid”, “Aladdin”, “The Lion King”, and the other 90s Disney smash hits. It is time we merge the two together!

Before we get into the teams there are a few things to disclaim and plug:

Disclaimers/Provisos/Neuroticisms

  1. To try to keep from the teams focusing heavily on one or two generations I am setting a limit of one to two Pokemon from a single generation on a team.
  2. These are type-based in-game teams so yes, they will share the same weaknesses. They will not be competitive nor are they intended to be.
  3. I will be listing Pokemon only, no natures, items, or moves will be included in the lists.
  4. Despite the legendary status of the Disney Villains, I did not include mythical or legendaries on their teams.
  5. While I know there are many other Disney Villains I have decided to limit this list to five. I may do a follow-up article with others down the line but for now it will just be Dr. Facilier, Gaston, Jafar, Ursula & Maleficent.

Shameless Plug for my other Pokemon Team articles

A Fairy Tale: My 'Pokemon' Champion Team

The Divine Pokemon Comedy: My Backup Pokemon Champion Team

Earth's Mightiest Elite Four

Indigo Pokemon League - Master Level

Just a Normal Pokemon Ranger

Universal Movie Monsters' Pokemon Teams

Call me biased but the Ghost-type is my favorite Pokemon type and I had to include it in this article, and who better to deploy ghosts than Dr. Facilier from "The Princess & The Frog".

For the ghosts themselves, I chose ones who fit in with his voodoo curses or his "royal blood" (on his mother's side). His Friends on the Otherside include Cofagrigus, Aegislash, and Dragapult who depict his royal heritage while Banette, Spiritomb, and Gengar are his voodoo curses.

A villain I wanted to include was Gaston from "Beauty & the Beast", I loved Luke Evans's take on the character in the live-action adaptation and his team was the first from this list I designed.

Gaston loves to shoot things with his gun, so I based his team on animals people hunt for sport. Ursaring is a bear, Sawsbuck is a deer, Bibarel is a beaver, Pyroar is a lion, Oranguru is an ape, and Kangaskhan is a kangaroo. I was trying to diversify the secondary typings while pulling animals from around our world to fill his team.

The Normal-type is grossly underrepresented on the Elite Four and I hope this would be a worthy team to change that.

With this being a list of villains we all knew the Poison-type would be on here, and I knew Jafar from "Aladdin" would be the one to command it. The Pokemon would be his minions, helping him in his sorceries, espionage, and other devious dealings.

I knew his ace would be Arbok, anyone who grew up watching Disney or just familiar with the original "Aladdin" movie would see him with a cobra. Dragalge and Toxtricity would be his lab assistants, Crobat and Salazzle his messengers, and Drapion his muscle.

Another villain, or villainess in this case, I knew would be on this list from its inception is Ursula from "Little Mermaid". Hers was the second team I made and was one of the easier teams to construct.

I see her ace Pokemon to be Jellicent with its female version bearing similarity to her physically and its Ghost-type giving it dark abilities. Barraskewda and Bruxish are her minions, Floatsem and Jetsem, while Kingdra, Sharpedo, and Tentacruel are creatures of the deep she can summon to do her bidding.

After completing Gaston and Ursula's teams I knew I had to include the one and only Maleficent on this list. I knew right away I wanted her team to be both the Dark-type and about fairy-tales.

Hydreigon and Honchkrow were givens on this team, Maleficent turns into a dark dragon and has a crow lackey so both were easy to select. Sableye, Alolan Muk, and Grimmsnarl are dark creatures she summoned to do her bidding while Pangoro is a hired henchman she infused with dark magic.

nintendo
Like

About the Creator

Steve Brewer

Certified movie nerd with concentrations in Star Wars, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Marvel, fantasy, horror, and sci-fi.

Also an avid hiker, camper, racquetball player, cat dad, and loving uncle/godfather.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.