Gamers logo

Universal Movie Monsters' Pokemon Teams

Yes, I really did make Pokemon teams for Universal's classic horror monsters

By Steve BrewerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I have always been a Pokemon fan, I was there when the franchise was introduced in the United States and have been an avid fan ever since. The same is not true for horror, it took quite a long time for the genre to grow on me but I am now well into it. My favorite part of the horror genre is the OG horror movies, I am a fan of the classics and the Universal Classic Monster Movies are among my favorites.

Last Halloween I was playing Pokemon with Frankenstein playing on tv when a thought came to me if Frankenstein's Monster had a Pokemon team what would it be?

Now I know what you are thinking, don't cross the streams! First, nice Ghostbusters reference there! But second, why not? The Classic Monster Movies are really, REALLY tame by our modern standards, and don't monsters deserve their own team of pocket monsters?

After giving it thought off and on over the course of nine months I have finally designed teams for the Classic Monsters and am ready to release them.

But first, we need to get a few disclaimers, provisos, and neuroticisms disclaimed, provised, and neuroticised:

Disclaimers/Provisos/Neuroticisms

  1. For the sake of this article I am going to focus on five of the Classic Monsters; the Creature from the Black Lagoon, the Mummy, the Wolf Man, Frankenstein's Monster & Dracula.
  2. Each team will not be limited by type. Instead, I built them around a theme that relates to the character and is stated with the team.
  3. To try to keep from the teams focusing heavily on one or two generations I am setting a limit of one to two Pokemon from a single generation on a team.
  4. While I do try to keep the teams balanced the teams are more intended to be in-game and not competitive.
  5. I will be listing Pokemon only, no natures, items, or moves will be included in the lists.
  6. Despite the legendary status of the Classic Monsters, I did not include mythical or legendaries on their teams.

Shameless Plugs

Before we get into the teams please indulge me as I shamelessly plug my other Pokemon articles:

General Pokemon

7 Things I Would Bring to a 'Pokemon Yellow' Remake

Pokemon Teams

A Fairy Tale: My 'Pokemon' Champion Team

The Divine Pokemon Comedy: My Backup Pokemon Champion Team

Earth's Mightiest Elite Four

Indigo Pokemon League - Master Level

Just a Normal Pokemon Ranger

Pokemon Go

Is it possible to do a 3-Star Raid in Pokemon Go by yourself?

My Suggestions for Pokemon Go

Now that I have shamelessly plugged my other Pokemon articles let's get into the teams!

The Creature from the Black Lagoon comes from deep within the Amazon and is a remnant of an era long past, so I crafted his team of a Lost World. A place time forgot, not to quote King Kong, with flora and fauna from different geologic eras.

Greninja is the representation of the Creature itself and its signature Pokemon. Skarmory and Armaldo represent extinct animals that still roam the Creature's habitat (while I know Skarmory isn't a fossil Pokemon I chose to include it to better balance the team). Alolan Exeggutor is rainforest itself and Darmanitan and Toxicroak are present-day fauna that lives nearby.

The Mummy was once a man who attempted to resurrect his love but was caught and put to death for this crime, so I made his theme the Pharaoh's Curse. Each member of his team is a representation/guardian of different aspects of ancient Egypt.

Cofagrigus is the representation of the Mummy and his ace. Perrserker is the guardian/representation of the pyramids, Feraligatr the Nile, Flygon the desert, Golisopod the sea, and Arbok the pharaoh.

The Wolf Man is a man who was bitten by a wolf and afflicted with the curse of the werewolf. Now he is doomed to stalk the night and prey upon anyone he comes across, so I gave him the theme of a Moonlit Forest.

Zoroark represents the Wolf Man in his wolf form and is his signature Pokemon while Lucario represents his human form. Trevenant is the forest itself while Noctowl and Seismitoad are nocturnal animals that the Wolf Man would encounter. Last but not least is Clefable which is the representation of the moon itself.

Frankenstein's Monster is the result of an experiment to create life from death that caused the ruin of the experimenter and its creator, Dr. Frankenstein. For this reason, I gave Frankenstein's Monster the theme of a Ruined Laboratory.

Machamp is the ace of Frankenstein's Monster's team and the Pokemon I felt best to fit it. What is an 1800s laboratory without gears turning and plasma firing? Klinklang and Rotom fit these roles perfectly while Galvantula, Crobat, and Alolan Raticate fill the roles of animals that would live in the lab (spiders, bats, and mice respectively).

Count Dracula, a mysterious aristocrat who lives in a large but remote castle and is well-deserving of the Haunted Castle theme I gave him. While he does move from his castle during the events of his book we do say there is no place like home and I am sure he would bring his Pokemon with him.

Noivern is the perfect representation of Dracula himself and his signature Pokemon. Polteageist and Escavalier contribute to the haunted castle imagery with Polteageist being a ghost and Escavalier being a suit of armor that moves. Galarian Weezing is Dracula's butler while Slowking is his daytime servant and Umbreon is his familiar.

nintendo
Like

About the Creator

Steve Brewer

Certified movie nerd with concentrations in Star Wars, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Marvel, fantasy, horror, and sci-fi.

Also an avid hiker, camper, racquetball player, cat dad, and loving uncle/godfather.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.