FYI logo

Why, Oh Why, I Hunt AI!

And how you can, too!

By Judey Kalchik Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - March 2024
34
Why, Oh Why, I Hunt AI!
Photo by Maros Misove on Unsplash

There have been some excellent articles and comments recently around AI-created content (which I understand) and bots/scripts (of which I am learning). It is a good reminder for me that just because we publish something doesn't mean that everyone/anyone has seen it, much less remembered it.

This is a working compilation of the articles and resources that I use on the Vocal platform to identify and report unattributed AI-generated content, and perhaps even more importantly- WHY I do it.

WHY Do I Care That AI-Generated Content is on Vocal?

Actually- that is the wrong question. The correct question is 'Why do I care about UNATTRIBUTED-AI content on Vocal?" Because: Vocal DOES allow AI-generated content: as long as it's within the Vocal Standards. Here's the link to those, and it's also our first tool.

Since I don't expect everyone to click through to it, here is a snippet of the policy:

AI-generated content on Vocal should be labeled clearly as such. This labeling should be included at the beginning of the content itself as well as in any accompanying materials, whether it be links to AI-generated content or AI-generated images within the story. All AI-generated content should also be clearly attributed to the AI software that generated it. If you dabble with AI-generated content on Vocal, it is important to also be aware of the potential for copyright infringement.

What's my issue with unattributed-AI on Vocal?

I spell that out in this article, which also includes a positive way to connect with writers, increase engagement on the platform, etc.

Specifically; here are two reasons from the article above (you really should read the whole thing if you haven't yet) I'm hot about unattributed AI on Vocal:

  1. Unattributed AI content clogs the platform and can turn off readers by giving the impression that it is nothing but clickbait and unoriginal content. This is not good for creators seeking to expand the reach of their natively-generated content.
  2. Unattributed AI, if it puts-off readers, dilutes the investment of Vocal+ members, those that pay to create and maximize their benefits and time, on the platform.

Haven't I written about AI Before?

Oh yeah, I sure have. Here are the Tools, Articles, and even poems that I've written about and because of Unattributed-AI on Vocal.

Tools

1.) You Can Find It! Identifying AI-Assisted and Generated Content. This is a serious tool that only took me months to complete. So it comes first. This is the Introduction and Table of Contents. All of the other chapters are linked one-after the other- and are live on Vocal.

2.) "Once Upon a Time" You might have learned the song BINGO as a child; this is AINGO, and sadly it is all too easy to complete the AINGO card once you know what to look for.

Articles

How to Make BIG Money on Vocal With AI! This article is my MOST READ on Vocal, with 970 reads as of this morning.

Proof, because hyperbole makes me queasy

I wrote it specifically to draw in new creators that didn't read the Vocal standards or are searching for that pie-in-the-sky instant gratification and get rich scheme. And also purposefully as a sticky-headline to attract them. I'm pretty happy that it works since I get several reads a week after almost a year. (Spoiler alert: I also hope you'll read it and I can then see the numbers turn to 1000 reads...)

Poems

How Do You Congratulate AI? Sometimes, when I am frustrated or angry, I get that writing itch, and often that turns out passive-aggressive. This poem is that.

When the (now-deleted, thank you!) profile C S Lewis received Leaderboard recognition and payment for 2nd place as a supportive commenter, I'd had enough. This poem, and accompanying explanation, was the result.

Conclusion and a bit about Plagiarism

I really hope (really- even a small amount of hope is still hope), that I won't write anymore about unattributed AI on Vocal. But that could still happen.

One of my concerns about AI is the way information is gathered to inform and grow its capabilities. All online content is threatened by this 'scraping' of content; it's one of the reasons there was a strike of the Screen Actor's Guild in 2023. Creators of all types, alive and historical, can and do have their content gathered electronically and then fed into programs to fuel AI development.

Some platforms, like Medium, have added blocks and doorways, and whatever else the safeguards are called now, as a way to restrict that scraping access. It holds for a while and then is breached. Maybe it will get better. I don't know.

I do know that plagiarism is its own special form of hell, and that within the past four days I've reported two profiles because they plagiarized Top Stories and published them- word for word- as their own. (Both profiles have since been deleted.) Here's something I've written about what you can do:

I do know that the better informed we are the better things will be. I've found the work of fellow Vocal creator and published author Cendrine Marrouat very helpful, especially this piece on AI-Generated content of copywriting.

This piece from Cendrine on copywriting infringement reporting is wonderful. Sadly, bots and those folks seeking to profit off of your work can and do steal and publish what you have written.

And here's the link to Vocal's Google form to report a plagiarized story. I hope you never need it.

~

Please do leave a comment. Let me know: was this helpful? Do you have suggestions on articles I can research on the topics? What questions do you have that I've left unanswered?

You can subscribe to me for free, too!

Pop CultureVocal
34

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barrogaabout a month ago

    Of course! It is admirable and very needed in the community that you are committed to bringing attention to the problem of unattributed AI material on Vocal. Continue your fantastic effort!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    Unfortunately it’s incredibly obvious when someone “writes” in Ai assistance. It’s grossly over exaggerated in language and dry as kitty litter in the sun. So, I appreciate when people show others unattributed Ai. It’s not right! At least admit you didn’t write it.

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Dear Mrs. Judey - May I add as an aside. The focus is not only on 'Writers'. I was asked by a student: Can Lawyers-Doctors & even Pharmacists among other professions be more efficiently 'Diagnosed' with Ai; I think the jury's probably still out on that. 'j'.in.l.a.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Fantastic article & congratulations on Top Story!!!♥️♥️💕

  • JBaz2 months ago

    I am so happy you took this on. All of us who struggle and work and strain to create something just so others can steal, and do no work at all and try to profit. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK. ( yep, I yelled that last line) Congratulations

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Wow. Thank you for this information. My journalism professor was always preaching to us about stealing other peoples work and not to do that. Course I am old and there was no AI back in the day.

  • Cendrine Marrouat2 months ago

    Thank you, Judey!

  • Lol, I remember your poem about C S Lewis! Also, I've been so focused on AI that I completely forgot about plagiarism. I'm so glad you caught the ones that plagiarised the Top Stories and have been removed!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    AI is a growing source of ire for me. Glad to know others feel the same way! It's the images that catch my irritation the most these days, but that's another story (or essay. Or two). Great article, Judey, as always. What *interesting* times we live in.

  • Thank you again for sharing your insights & bringing these resources together, Judey. Blessings.

  • J. Delaney-Howe2 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your insight as well as the resources. Worthwhile read.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    Yesss! This is perfectly and concisely put, Judey. Thank you for being such a champion of reporting undisclosed AI. This article is a fantastic resource and I added it to my Bookmarks tab. Thank you so much for writing this and for writing about this topic. 💗💓💕👏🏻👏🏻

  • Celia in Underland2 months ago

    Great that your oustanding insights have been collated - making them easy for people to find -Fab! 🤍

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    Thank you for doing this!! I still can't tell. I have been told someone is using AI that follows me and I follow, but I can't tell?? I guess I have to become more familiar. Thank you for the material to do just that.💕❤️

  • Excellent piece and this will be a Top Story. Lots of pieces worth taking in and links worth investigating. Thank you for this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.