Filthy logo

Would You Like To See Jeffrey Lionel Dahmer Naked?

Some Thoughts On Media Horror Of The Human Body

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read

Introduction

I have been wanting to write this piece for a long time but each time I have backed off for various reasons and I was not sure how to frame it, and it is still a bit piecemeal, but hopefully I don’t come over as a perverted misogynist in my statements here.

This is my first article that probably should be in the Vocal Filthy Community. It’s not erotic or meant to titillate but it is essentially about the multiple misogynistic double-standards that are prevalent in almost all societies today. It seems to me that violence and mutilation are fine to share almost everywhere in the guise of horror entertainment and “human interest” but the human body, especially the female body is something that should be targeted and covered up, which is a great analogy for society’s misogyny.

The Penis

If a woman is sent an unsolicited “dick pic” that she didn’t ask for, it’s not a nice thing. I discussed with a female friend why a guy flashing his penis was so bad, and she said it made her feel threatened because of the wider implications of this. If that guy feels he can do that, what else does he feel he can do? If a woman is alone she immediately becomes a potential victim. That is certainly not acceptable.

Another friend told me of two great retorts when someone asked her for oral sex:

“I’d love to but I’m scared it would get stuck between my teeth”

“No thanks I’ll smoke my own”

The thing is, many people I spoke to find unsolicited dick pics absolutely disgusting (I find a lot of unsolicited things that I get very annoying) but they seem to be OK with horrific images. I suppose a lot of horrific images may be seen as fantasy and not actually really threatening, but I was once channel flicking and stumbled on a scene in the film “Hostel” where a man was burning off a girl’s face with a blow torch because “he had paid for it”. I switched over immediately and found that a whole lot more disturbing than any unsolicited sex communication that I might receive, but that may be because I am an old white man.

The Female Nipple

Seriously, why is this seen as so offensive? I have written many times about my Facebook bans because there was female (and in one case a male painted bottom see image below) flesh in something I shared, but the female nipple is a point of egress for mothers milk to feed her baby. Male nipples are fine and dandy.

Easster

We then have female (and male) genitalia being taboo items. Did you know that in the fifties women on screen were told to shave their armpit hair because it might excite young men and make them think of pubic hair further down the female body. Again the patriarchy blaming women and defending “boys being boys”.

Women are continually sexualised in advertising and more to the point that a woman is often humiliated for breastfeeding a baby in public. Women’s bodies are expected to be covered until men want to use them for something, and that should never be acceptable.

Conclusion

The point of this piece is that a woman’s nipple causes more offence in the media that horrific images such as mutilations, weapons and blood stained blades, and that should not be the situation at all.

We should be more offended by so many other things that we let float by , but some bare female flesh and for some people the world ends.

I really hope that we do learn to appreciate love and beauty more in preference to horror, misogyny and sexualisation of women.

The music is "Is It My Body?" by Alice Cooper

taboosocial mediansfwhumanityfeminismconventionsbeautyadvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    No, I don't want to see Jeffrey naked. I agree with what you've been told about the type of men who send for unsolicited dick picks. I wouldn't trust them are far as I could throw them. And yeah, there are lot worse things to see than breast feeding mothers.

  • I find dick pics very offensive and disturbing because I am a victim of sexual assault when I was a child. Sex and many aspects of sex have destroyed my childhood and I'm still suffering from the trauma of it all as I've stated in my poem, Behind Closed Doors. I hate the topic of sex and find it very disturbing. I find this more offensive than horrific images of mutilation and blood unless it involves any animal including those killed for food. I guess our life experiences play a huge role in whay we find offensive. But I get what you're trying to sat here, Mike. This was very well written! And to answer your question, no, I don't wanna see Jeffrey Dahmer naked.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Spot on Mike. 🥰 I read a man who sends a D pic does so because it excites him not the receiver. Should be treated just like public indecent exposure.

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Bravo Mike. Youd love Tool's song "Vicarious". "Eyes on the TV, cuz tragedy thrills me Whatever flavor it happens to be like "Killed by the husband!" Drowned by the ocean Shot by her own son!" "She used a poison in his tea," And kissed him goodbye, That's my kinda story It's no fun til someone- DIES." can't wait to read ward 6!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I agree - our offenses are directed the wrong way.

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.