Filthy logo

Have Your Cake

And Eat it Too.

By Melynn Marie Published 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Have Your Cake
Photo by Ayesha Firdaus on Unsplash

I never thought a piece of chocolate cake would be the death of me. No one probably does. But here I am lying on the floor dying and with no savior in sight. It's a different kind of story for sure, I would say funny, but as I am lying here it is more like hitting your funny bone, not so funny after all.

It all started three days ago. I got off work early, excited to start my weekend. My husband and I were leaving for some much needed romance and I thought I would surprise him. My heart melted when I saw the bouquet of flowers. That is so sweet I thought, grabbing the card. I opened it excitedly.

"Mallory,

I'm sorry I can't be there this weekend. Enjoy. "

Inside was a ticket to my spa and a credit card. What does he mean he can not make it? We had this planned for months. The doorbell rang. I scurried to answer. She was a much smaller woman than I, younger, perky breasts. She was dressed in a tight pink dress with fishnets and stilettos.

" Is Ben here? You must be Sam? Ben said you wouldn't mind me coming in and waiting on him. I'm Kerri."

I froze up for a moment with my mouth agape the size of the grand canyon wondering who Sam and Kerri were before my wits came back.

"Oh, yes, nice to meet you too!." I motioned for her to enter.

" Make yourself comfortable, I'm sure Ben will be home soon."

I walked to the kitchen, tears began welling up. It had been weeks of me wondering what he was hiding, but I would have never expected this. I grabbed a pen and paper and wrote out a note with a sad face.

I’ll miss you! xoxo, Mallory

As he pulled up I went into the pantry and hid.

" Kerri, you are already here? ." I could hear her heels begin clicking behind.

I watched through the crack in the door as he looked at my note.

" Are you ready to go?"

" Let me grab my bag.” He fidgeted.

He called for her from the front and she giddily shuffled towards him. I followed them to a tiny restaurant downtown. I sat watching them through the window. Another man walked up to them and nodded towards me.

"Shit, Shit, Shit, Shit" I fumbled with my keys, dropping them on the floor board. I looked and Ben was already heading my way. I hit the gas peeling out. My phone began ringing.

"He-hello" I answered, choking back tears.

"What are you doing following me?"

Our conversation ended when a black Sudan pulled out in front of me and I hit my breaks. A large man got out of the car with a mask and ripped me from mine. He stuck a needle in my arm and I remember nothing until I woke up.

The king sized bed was covered in silk grey sheets. The room was decedent, with marble floors and draping silk. I had never seen something like it. I could smell coffee. What time was it even? I was groggy but was able to muster up enough will power to stand and investigate.

Alex, an old friend of ours, stood in front of the sink shirtless. He had beautiful brown hair and bright green eyes. His muscles glistened from the moisture gathering in the room. He was at least 6"2', which made me feel tiny in stature. He pointed at the tub where a bath was being drawn and walked past me.

I was hesitant at first but with my groggy state and swollen eyes, a nice bath and that cup of Joe sounded good. Not sure how much time passed but the door opened. I could see it was him from my peripheral vision. Maybe if I don't move he will go away, I thought.

"Am I expected to get out in front of you?"

He snickered and tossed a towel by the tub as he turned around.

I got up wrapping the large fluffy towel around me.

" Where am I?" I blurted out as I walked towards him. He kept walking.

I began to follow when I noticed a dress lying on the bed. It was a vibrant cobalt blue with jeweled straps. It matched his suit.

“Alex you got to answer my quest-”

I stopped dead in my tracks as a room full of well dressed people stared at me looking like a lunatic. I grabbed my towel tighter and backed up slowly, closing the door. Gunshots began ringing. I scooted myself under the bed. I was a hostage because I just had to snoop.

All was silent. I began searching for a weapon. When I heard footsteps. Alex, the giant he was, came sauntering in like nothing had happened. I froze as he walked over and zipped the back of my dress and waited like a shaking chihuahua for my next instructions.

Alex looked me up and down for a moment.

"You are lucky I got you. Smart choice not going to the spa."

"Wait, What do you mean?" I was bewildered at the statement.

"You don't know?"

"Know what?"

"Listen, I don't know all the details but I can tell you right now you're better off with me, Ben wants you killed. We've got to go.”

I did as he said. He held out his arm to hurry me along. We walked through the living area of the home and I cringed at the scene. I recognized Kerri.

"Hello sir, I'm your cleaning service today." Alex handed him a large rolled up stack of cash.

"Thanks Matt, see you soon."

"See you soon," I whispered. "This happen often? Are you in the mob or something?"

Alex looked down at me and smirked. He opened my door for me and walked around to the driver's seat. Where was he taking me? Is Ben really trying to kill me?

"So are you going to tell me anything else?"

Alex sighed "I already told you, your husband planned and is still planning on killing you. You are lucky my boss wants you safe."

"If he wanted me dead then why didn't he just do it himself? How did you know I was going to be at the restaurant?"

"I was there to take him out but you ruined that, so here we are."

"Oh so you are a hit man?"

"No"

"A body guard?"

"No, just drop it Mal. "

"Fine"

A block or so passed.

"Where are you taking me? "

"To My boss."

"Who is your boss? Do I know them?"

"Yes, I'm sure you do. Now can you shut up?"

We rode in silence the rest of the way. I didn't recognize the city. We finally pulled up to a stone building embellished with gold accents.

Alex got out and came around to open my door.

"Well I've never been around such a gentleman." I said in a joking manner.

Alex stoically offered his arm again. The inside was marble and gold. The elevator door opened into a penthouse office with many finely dressed men and women standing around.

"Mallory, so glad you could join us. I do believe Alex has taken good care of you?"

It was Sam!

"Umm yes?"

"Good. I'm sure you know that Ben has been planning to kill you? His indiscretions are not ok and everyone involved will be, or have already been, dealt with. We just need to get Ben taken care of. Which is where you will come in."

"Me? What am I supposed to do?”

The room snickered.

Alex held out his arm and accompanied me to the balcony. He handed me my phone, already dialing Ben and a script.

"Hey babe. I've been kidnapped. They are threatening to kill me. I need you to meet me at the house tomorrow with a million cash."

I hung up.

"Wait a minute. I thought you said he was trying to kill me? Why would he care if I've been kidnapped and that you are trying to kill me?"

“He will, I promise.”

"Are you going to kill me?"

"No, I won’t let them. For now we party! What’s your poison?”

My thought process at this point was I'm either dying tomorrow or I'm not.

"Whiskey on the rocks." I needed something stout at this point.

I began losing count of my drinks and became oddly comfortable with these dangerous seeming people. Alex made it easier or maybe it was the alcohol.

"Alex, I think I have had enough."

"Ok Mal. Come with me."

He grabbed my hand and took me towards the elevator. I felt like everyone was watching. Probably because they were. Alex swept me up. For some reason I felt comfort which was odd given the circumstances. I'll blame it on the alcohol.

What happened next was slightly surprising to me. I've always prided myself on being a loyal woman but when you think your life's about to end you do things you wouldn't expect. I could feel his warm hand following down the curve of my back as he helped unzip me.

"Thanks."

He grabbed a hold of my hip and twisted me back around in one smooth motion. I looked up at him in surprise. He smiled a full smile this time. His teeth almost sparkled as he grabbed my chin and wrapped his muscular arm around my waist. I felt him pull me into his stout, masculine body. His hand brushed my strap off my shoulder. His kiss was soft and passionate, like I had never felt before. My dress fell and he moved me to the bed. His mouth moved over my breast. As he slid my dress the rest of the way off.

"Alex, wait. I can't, I'm married.

"To a dead man." He replied.

At this point I didn't know what to say. He wasn't wrong. Hell, I may be a dead woman tomorrow. I felt his hand wandering up my thigh. He pulled me in closer. His body felt right against mine. I began tingling. I felt ready for him. He pressed against me and I felt him ease inside. I had never had sex like this. I guess it's different when you plan on dying the next day. Or when you’ve had a crush on the man for years.

Alex woke me. He was cold compared to his behavior the night before. Maybe he knew I would be a dead woman. Either way I knew I had to deal with whatever was next.

Samantha handed me a piece of chocolate cake as I got in my car to drive home. She told me that it was a parting gift. When I arrived the house was empty. My flowers were still on the counter, wilting. Something felt off.

“Ben!?”

He set a briefcase down. I didn't know what to say or do. I didn't know who to believe. He hugged me.

"Either get it over with or you have some explaining to do."

"Get what over with?"

"Samantha said-"

"Samantha kidnapped you?"

"Well yes. But it was an oddly pleasant kidnapping."

Alex stepped around the corner and I watched my husband's body crumple to the floor with a hole between his eyes. When I looked up at Alex he was gone along with the briefcase. I was alone.

A little later I drug Ben’s lifeless body outside, when I returned, I saw the cake sitting on the counter. I didn't remember bringing it in. I shrugged my shoulders and tried a bite. It was so good, until I collapsed.

Like I said before I never expected that a piece of chocolate cake would be the death of me. Yet here I am. I guess the saying is right; you can't have your cake and eat it too.

...

Alex injected her with a serum hoping he wasn’t too late.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Melynn Marie

I'm a mother of three. Writing is a hobby and a past-time of mine. I only hope I can help others through my writing in some way. Weather it be through entertainment or a different point of view. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.