Fiction logo

When You Gamble Your Heart

Make a wish and blow

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Top Story - May 2023
70
When You Gamble Your Heart
Photo by Sam McNamara on Unsplash

I blew on candles that weren’t for my birthday.

I figured, why do wishes only count on days of birth? I mean, someone somewhere was definitely born today, maybe they’ll be kind enough to let me borrow some of their luck.

I need it.

I want it.

I want her.

As the smoke rose and spread out into thin air and the charred wick curled in on itself, an aroma engulfed me. It was a familiar scent. The same as the lotion she used last week. The lotion that unleashed something within me and almost caused me to make a huge fool of myself. Sniffing someone always came off awkwardly. Thankfully, she hadn’t caught me in the act.

I never thought I’d like the smell of a birthday cake so much, but it seemed fitting considering my constant wishes. If only she would notice me the way I noticed her.

It was on a Tuesday that she had smiled at me. I gave her a little wave, shy about the interaction. But it was only two days later when she actually came up to me in the halls. I tried my best not to gawk as she strolled over towards me. The cheap high school lights suddenly illuminating her like the goddess I perceived her as. Her dirty blond hair suddenly golden, her brown eyes melting me like sweet chocolate.

“Hey Juni” Her left dimple an exclamation point to her smile. She re-shouldered her back sack, sending me into a fantasy where I was carrying her books for her. May she never carry another weight again.

“Oh, hi Star!” I responded too eagerly.

Star, like the one I wish upon on a clear night. Each one an entry ticket into the raffle of romance where one day I might be hers.

“I was wondering, I know it’s a little too close to midterms, but do you think I could borrow your notes? Mine are… a little lacking… Shakespeare isn’t really my thing.” She blushed lightly, biting her bottom lip in the cutest possible way.

“Yeah um of- yes. I mean of course. I could even help you out with some of the practice essay questions if you want?” Don’t hope too hard Juni.

“Gosh that would be so perfect Juni! I just can’t seem to get this old wordy stuff and there’s just way too much I’ve spaced out on. Would tomorrow afterschool work to meet up?”

Shakespeare you ol’ fart, you might have just gotten me a date. I’ll never scoff at your bullshit writing again. “Yeah, totally! You could come to mine? My mom makes killer spaghetti on Fridays.”

Killer spaghetti? It’s spaghetti for Pete’s sake. It can’t be killer. Garlic saucy at best, maybe.

A light chuckle from the beauty in front of me almost sent me. “Sure girl, I could always do with killer noodles”

“Cool yeah, we can meet here tomorrow after school and head over to my house then.”

“Sounds good, see ya then!” And with that she turned and took off. Did that even happen?

~

I lit the birthday cake candle that night hoping it might charm her and fell asleep with the goofiest smile on my face.

~

“Okay so basically the drunk porter scene, like the guard guy, that’s all for like an intermission.” I try to explain as Star just gazes around my room. “like a break, yeah?”

She hums a sort of understanding and stretches her legs out in front of her. I would never have thought that I’d want to see more of someone’s legs underneath pants, but the fact that Star is in my room, in my house even, just frazzles me.

“And he’s basically summarizing for us all what’s happened so far, breaking that fourth wall and stuff.” I sense that she’s distracted and try to consider that maybe she’s not really here for Shakespeare.

“It smells really sweet in here. Almost like candy or cake or something.” She looks up at me and studies my face. I feel her combing every facet with her chocolatey eyes, and I hope she might look at my lips. But I’m caught between want and reality. I can’t mess this up.

“Yeah, it reminds me of someone sweet…” I whisper, watching her brows furrow. This could be my chance. I slowly try to lean towards her, our gaze locking. Before I can find the logic to stop my naïve stupidity, I gently press my lips against hers.

And then Star pulls back quickly in shock.

The look on her face fills with confusion and horror. Reality rushes at me like a stormy tide and I instantly regret my own existence.

Oh god.

~

I hope you enjoyed this short story that I wrote for a challenge. The prompt was ‘Gambler’s Grief’.

If you enjoyed, feel free to check out another short story of mine below.

Have a lovely day!

Short StoryLove
70

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatár6 days ago

    So touching and naive but in a good way. I had such feelings long time ago but never knew what to do with them :) Thanks for sharing this one.

  • Heather N King12 months ago

    This heartfelt piece captured the essence of taking risks in matters of the heart, leaving me both inspired and hopeful for my own adventures in love. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful and relatable story!

  • Grace Ubana12 months ago

    I'm new in vocal

  • Grace Ubana12 months ago

    Hi my name is grace am from Nigeria single am 22 I need something serious

  • F. Leonora Solomon12 months ago

    those cake and chocolate references made this even more of a treat! *that feeling* everyone has had it when a human makes someone else a god(dess)...

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    This is compelling, raw, and emotional Oneg. Great story. Congratulations 🥇🥰

  • athy thedreamer12 months ago

    Love this story, good one. Im new in vocal and i posted storis too. Please check out mine, i just ned some support thank you :)

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉😉

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratulations Oneg, a well deserved top story

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Thanh Tran Vanabout a year ago

    Nice

  • Nirmal Patelabout a year ago

    Nice one

  • Lacey Dearieabout a year ago

    Really nice story! I love coming off age type of stories.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Oh wow, congrats on Top story Oneg, that came through fast! 😁😊

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Ah, the awkwardness and excitement of youthful love and the painful drama often associated with it. Well done Oneg and congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Aww, this was such an emotional, coming of age story. I could feel the nerves, the butterflies, the uncertainty. A fantastic piece. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Wow!! that really took me on an emotional ride!! 😩❤️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh! Amazing job you did with this! There was so much emotion and longing built up in so few words! That ending, oh man 🥲 Congrats on Top Story!! 🤗❤️❤️

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations!! Yay top story ❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Killer story, spaghetti or not. Congratulations!

  • Excellent writing, congratulations on your Top Story

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    For what it's worth, I was rooting for you 😁

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Hey, I loved the killer spaghetti thing! Colloquialisms in fiction are the best- after all that is how we often talk! 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.