Fiction logo

Two Rubies

For Belle's The Conviction (an unofficial challenge)

By Christy MunsonPublished 23 days ago Updated 23 days ago 1 min read
Two Rubies
Photo by MChe Lee on Unsplash

Teachers held the doors. Neighbors carried signs and marched. Parents screams vulgarities. One mother swore to poison her. Students lined the concrete path that led to the double-doors that opened into our classrooms. Some jeered. Others threw things. A few spat. One taunted her with a baby doll in a coffin. All of them shouted.

The marshals walked alongside her, the whole world watching.

I did what I had to do. I offered to carry her books. I sat beside her during class. I shared my PB&J. I smiled, feebly, with few words exchanged between us.

They found me during recess. Only broke one bone. And bloodied my lip. Despite their best efforts to try to lynch me for being a traitor to some cause I never could see.

And so it went. Teachers, neighbors, parents, and students, all of them acting like the world was ending.

I hoped it was. Ending. So that something better could take root. Some kind of life that respected all forms of humanity. But what did I know? I was a child.

Her name was Ruby. Mine was too. Seemed to me she and I had been mined from the same quarry. The same chisel had cut her outside bits to pieces, just like mine. Both of us were girls. Both of us were tall for our age and slim. Both of us were smart in some subjects, and not so much in others. Seemed to me, we had a lot in common. And I was excited to learn about all the things that made us different.

We became the two Rubies. I was with her anytime the marshals weren't. I did what I had to do. I treated her the way I wanted to be treated.

She was my friend.

I could see it, from the first. I was just Ruby. But my friend? She was a diamond in the rough.

_______

Author's Note: For Belle's The Conviction (an unofficial challenge)

HorrorPsychologicalMicrofictionLoveHistorical

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

JUN | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR | MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Jaye Pool19 days ago

    Excellent story!

  • Anu Mehjabin22 days ago

    Enjoying your story, keep it up!

  • Echoing Shirley's comment , great story and challenge entry

  • Katarzyna Popiel22 days ago

    A great take on the challenge. Prejudice rarely makes sense so why does it persist? Sad...

  • Shirley Belk22 days ago

    This story made me think about life in the 60s when schools in the U.S. were first integrated. Great job!

  • But why is everyone against Ruby? That's like so mean of them

  • John Cox23 days ago

    Amazing story, Christy! It’s so damn good and so effin sad, I don’t even know what else to write.

  • Kenny Penn23 days ago

    Wow, great story and a great tribute. It’s so heartbreaking that things like this happened

  • D.K. Shepard23 days ago

    Very powerful piece, Christy! Great use of the challenge line and I loved the wordplay with rubies and the diamond and the close

  • ROCK 23 days ago

    Creeped me out; not one for horror but I might give this challenge a "stab", lol. I still haven't figured out where the challenges are ( that is, unofficial ones.) Good stuff Christy!

  • Hannah Moore23 days ago

    That is pure heart, isnt it.

  • Well-wrought! At the Children's Museum here in Indianapolis, they have an interactive exhibit honoring Ruby, Anne Frank, and Ryan White. All of those exhibits will move one to tears. Brave children facing existential crises of historical significance with the sort of quiet, cheerful, fighting spirit many adults could learn to emulate... but it makes me wonder about reincarnation, as most of us really have to work hard to develop that level of spiritual strength, but these kids just... are that.

  • Dana Crandell23 days ago

    Great entry! I love the perspective you chose!

Christy MunsonWritten by Christy Munson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.