Fiction logo

TCoE: Backstory Blogs Pt. 9 - Riann

**SPOILERS**

By Mel E. FurnishPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
1
TCoE: Backstory Blogs Pt. 9 - Riann
Photo by Hanna Postova on Unsplash

**SPOILERS**

Riann is a fierce warrior-woman with long blonde hair and blue-gray eyes.

First introduced in Part One, The Prophecy, Chapter 23, page 233

Fitin whipped around to see a young, blonde-haired, and blue-gray-eyed gal running up to him. She wore a neat dark blue uniform like the others, but she also had a white silk scarf tidily wrapped around her neck.

She opens up to Kyano about her past in Part One, page 29.

Kyano knelt too and soon saw what she was stalking. A strange creature about the size of a human munching on some berries on a bush ten feet from where Riann approached cautiously. The peculiar animal had smooth blue-purple skin and four legs. It had a small head and long legs.

Its little ears twitched, and it blinked its large green eyes as it ripped and tore away at its meal. It had a very long lizard-like tail that swished above the ground, so it didn’t brush the forest floor to give away its position. The creature didn’t notice Riann, even when about seven feet from it, not hiding behind anything. Without warning, Riann sent her dagger flying.

Right as the creature moved, the weapon struck its short and tiny neck, sending blood gushing from the wound as Riann bolted over to it, pulled out another dagger, and stabbed where Kyano thought the heart might be. Within moments, the creature’s body grew still, blood slowly oozed out, and the cold clutches of death tightly gripped the being and snatched away its soul. Kyano’s eyes grew wide when he shortly realized Riann was digging out the heart. Soon, she had it in her hand, blood coating her skin.

“Survival of the fittest. Make sure you’re the one eating and not the one getting eaten,” Riann affirmed flatly.

“I know this is a strange question… but, were you once a…” Kyano asked hesitantly.

“Yes. I was almost a Sithmora. When they thought they broke me, I unleashed all my strength and killed at least ten of ‘em, and I got away. I was ten years old. I had been living with those beasts for three years. They taught me so much about how to survive, how to hunt, track, kill, torture. I already knew how to hunt and track from my family; however, those monsters taught me to turn off my heart and become cutthroat. After I escaped, I ran to Kovan.

“Not long after I reached Kovan, I met Fitin. Did you know he was The Kovan General at the age of fourteen? I figured then that he was sort of like me. Wild and courageous, but that is in the past. We are to focus on the present and the future. Let’s get this hunk of meat back to camp. I hoped you learned quite a bit,” Riann declared. She put the heart in a pouch on her belt.

“What’s that for?” Kyano asked.

“My people say the heart of a Gravin is good luck… there is a more a—personal reason why I do this…” Riann replied.

In Part Two, Riann and Kyano meet some of her people when they travel to Kavindo Forest with Birin.

More of Riann's past is revealed when she is reunited with loved ones she hasn't seen in years.

Riann speaks with her mother, Faynia, for the last time to discover her little sister is still alive.

“You… have your fahet, your bofrin, your frinhet, and your sishet,” whispered Faynia. “After my last breath… I will reunite… with your long devad older brohet… he’ll be glad to know… you're safe now…” she gasped.

“What? My sishet? She’s still alive?” Riann questioned, her tone shocked.

“Yes… but she is missing… I think… I think she is still… still trapped… Tyrena took her… few yars after you.”

“How do you know she’s still alive?” quizzed Riann.

“I felt… her presence,” Faynia breathed.

Tyrena, The Head Sithmora, took Riann's little sister a few years after she took Riann. After she took her sister, she tainted the waters to poison The Rino Tribe.

Riann vows to make Tyrena suffer after she frees her little sister.

TO BE CONTINUED...

******

If you liked what you read, please: like, share, subscribe, pledge, and or tip! Thank you for reading! :D

******

Most Read Story: Rick's Suicide Attempt

Most Liked Story: The Cursed Hand

******

> My Portfolio <

> Newsletter - Substack <

> THE CHRONICLES OF ENCHANTMENTS <

For a breakdown of the universe within The Chronicles of Enchantments, be sure to check out this guide!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TCoE: BACKSTORY BLOGS

> Pt. 1 - Sithmora <

> Pt. 3 - Kaynen <

> Pt. 4 - Cythia < [ Pt. 4:1 - Cythia ]

> Pt. 5 - Torrick <

> Pt. 6 - Wistria <

> Pt. 8 - Zyro <

> Pt. 9 - Riann <

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TCoE: Creatures Guide

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TCoE: Short Stories

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TCoE: Timelines

The Second Age ~ The First & Second Millenniums

> Year 830 - Year 849 <

> Year 850 - Year 869 < > Year 870 - Year 889 < > Year 890 - Year 909 <

> Year 910 - Year 929 <

> 930 - Year 949 < > Year 950 - Year 969 <

> Year 970 - Year 989 < > Year 990 - Year 1,009 <

> Year 1,010 - Year 1,029 < > Year 1,030 - Year 1,049 <

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

> Website <

Facebook:

> Instagram <

> YouTube <

> Shop <

> Shop - Instagram <

> Shop - Facebook <

> Tumblr <

******

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Mel E. Furnish

I'm a self-published author, raised on a family farm in Indiana.

Facebook ~ Instagram ~ Medium ~ Shop ~ YouTube

~ Book Series (TCoE) Fandom/Wiki

~ https://vocal.media/humans/my-portfolio

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.