Fiction logo

Rumination

When the truth cuts like ice

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
10
Rumination
Photo by Tim King on Unsplash

Greyscale paints my view with as much enthusiasm as the death that grips my mind. The cars continue to release a deep gray fog that blends into the toxicity already present. The bench beneath my existence thaws and dampens but is a feeling I add to the list of those I bury deep. I try not to feel it.

Being in this frigidness seemed like the only sensible action after the heated interaction that still singes my synapses. The burn never seeming to cool irregardless of the chatter between my teeth and bones. I am caught between numbness and the betraying shivers that keep my heart beating.

How I wish to stop feeling.

If only the frost would seep into my mind and corrupt the memory track that keeps looping back. The only color left leaking into this gray is that of the fury in her eyes. The redness in everything around me like a gigantic stop sign telling me to both freeze and run.

I’ve always been a flight risk.

But I couldn’t hold it in longer. I preferred death to wrap itself around me like a noose or a choking hand than continue on with all these regrets. I couldn’t keep doing this to her. She didn’t deserve the feeling I left her with.

Maybe if the falling sky picks up it’ll bury me here with it.

Wipe my existence clean off this earth so that something else can begin again. A blank canvas.

If only.

If only.

Microfiction
10

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Been there, felt that, still do. Achingly expressed, that desire to evanesce.

  • J. Delaney-Howe2 months ago

    There is a certain amount of desperation, despair. Deep.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Melancholy with a glimmer of hope!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Ashley Shiflett2 months ago

    Awesome story. Very sad but very good.

  • JBaz2 months ago

    'If only....' Once again, you express such a beautiful tone a feel for your piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.