Fiction logo

Ring Finger

An unofficial challenge entry that was way past the micro word count. Still cleaning out my WIP 🚧..might take me some time. 😊

By Grz ColmPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
15
Ring Finger
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

Quick note: I believe this is my first ever micro. Remember the ring finger unofficial challenge? I have no idea what this is that I wrote haha, but it helps if you have seen the movie “The Banshees of Inishirin” with Brendan Gleeson. I wanted to have some characterisation so this went way over the word count of the micro.. so then I chose not to shorten it or share it. 😅 Anyhow, enjoy.

*

“Look there’s another,” Samuel exclaims.

“And another finger over here too - oh my!” His friend Brewster calls out.

A big dog suddenly comes out of nowhere, runs up the beach and snatches the finger with its jaws - then runs along the shore.

“Quick, catch it!” Samuel yells to his friend.

Brewster finally catches up with the dog only a few metres away.

“Nice doggie, I’m gonna get you, I’m gonna..”

The dog temporarily freezes with the finger in its mouth.

Taking a few steps closer - “Good boy, good boy”.

Then the dog rolls over and Brewster begins tickling the dog’s belly.

“What are you doing over there now?!” Samuel shouts.

Brewster yanks the finger from its mouth. “Got it!” And the dog runs off.

The two friends walked back to each other on the shore of the beach.

“Four fingers we’ve got now”, Samuel says.

“Aren’t we lucky? - well there is that one with the ring on it - could be worth something,” replies Brewster.

“I doubt it - whose do you suppose they belong to?”

“Maybe Mr Gleeson from Banshees”, Brewster says excitedly.

“Don’t be silly Brewster. You actually think we’ve stumbled back in time onto the film set of The Banshees of Inisherin?”

“Or maybe we’re trapped in a movie just like that kid in Last Action Hero. Either way we’ll get to see Mad Eye Moody in the flesh”, Brewster grins dreamily.

Samuel rolls his eyes. “Maybe we shouldn’t be friends anymore!”

“What, not ever?” Brewster sheepishly asks.

“Uh no, I made a joke, you know THE FILM and what happens to the two friends..”.

“Uh yeah”.

“I’ll always be friends with you Brewster, no matter how much you might make me wanna pull my hair out”, Samuel confides.

“Thanks!”.

“Brewster, look up there! Why I never…”.

They walked from the shore, up towards the top of the cliff and found a party.

“Look Sam - it’s Mad Eye Moody! No way!” Brewster shouts. “And Colin Farrell!”

Samuel’s face was gobsmacked as they began to crash the wrap party.

“Colin Farrell - how ya doing?” Brewster reaches out his hand to shake the actor’s, as Samuel follows like in a dream as they walk over to the other film star.

“Mr Gleeson - we found your fingers! And you forgot to take your ring off.” Brewster states nonchalantly.

“Feckin’ ‘ell you truly did! Thank you, sir,” Mr Gleeson smiles.

“It’s a pleasure!” as Brewster hands him back his fingers into the palm of his hand.

*

Colin Farrell & Brendan Gleeson

Thanks for reading. If you liked it, please consider hitting the heart, commenting or subscribing for more to encourage my future poems, short stories and reviews. Many thanks.

Short StoryMicrofictionHumor
15

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    Nice job G!

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Great work of fiction, Grz! Totally creepy with the finger bits, but funny! You did a great job with this one! More fiction from you, please! I haven't seen the movie but I'll have to check it out!

  • A lot of fun. Just picked up "Banshees" from Target when they had their Black Friday sale combined with buy 2, get one free. Haven't watched it yet but looking forward to it. Just one question. Did you intend to alternate between present & past tense at the beginning of this?

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    What, what movie is that. Oi, you are such a movie buff, you keep making the list longer and longer. I am making a list, checking it twice, of movies you talk about. The finger thing is creepy, but funny.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Lol. I haven't seen the movie but couldn't help but laugh, especially at the idea of walking up to guy like "dude, here's your fingers." Well done.

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wow, that was so story. I would freak out if my dog came with fingers in his mouth. I will have to watch this film! Great story.

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    🩵🩵

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I did, in fact, watch this movie. I was horrified, but captured by it. I had to think about the implications of it for several days, too. It is simply brilliant, the way that you have taken the movie, the actors in it, and the innuendos and incorporated new character and thought into it!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    🖤

  • I enjoyed your story Grz. It's a very good start at honing your skills with fiction. I'm looking forward to more.

  • Andrei Z.4 months ago

    Why would someone cut their fingers off to end a friendship??

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    You can write fiction, Grz. Here's the proof. I won't punch you in the face for not believing it but I had to comment on what Dharrsheena had written because it was so funny!

  • I was like "What ring finger unofficial challenge? I don't remember seeing any challenge like that". Then as I started reading, I realised it was my challenge 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I'm so silly! Anyway, I loved the direction you went with here! I had so much fun reading this! I'll punch you in the face if I hear you say you have trouble writing fiction because this was so awesome!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.