Poets logo

Distractions from Yourself

Stick a fork in me I’m done.. the ‘hours bleed into one big smoking rotisserie!’ 🔥 BUT, please don’t give up your day job just yet!! 😅

By Grz ColmPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
26
Distractions from Yourself
Photo by Jason Goodman on Unsplash

Quick note: I’m trying to clear out my WIP 🚧. It’s getting too chaotic. So am unloading some garbage, I mean stuff I was not big on. I didn’t really like this distraction entry as it felt too negative, while it has a message, um.. I definitely don’t recommend destitution! 😅 I also don’t think my words for each letter REALLY match the theme. Enjoy, or not. I don’t care!

*

Distractions from Yourself

Dying a slow death, yet at least your co-workers are too,

In tune with each other and ‘success’ but out of

Step with ourselves -

Timing everything to the last detail - order is key and a

Resurgence of conformity superseded any of our own thoughts,

Amazing how quick we’ve turned from eager youngins to super-zombies,

Clocking in each day for what? Prosperity? Who needs it?!

Tick-et-y time-time-ticks - hours bleed into one big smoking rotisserie!

Indeed there’s some purpose, but at what neglectful costs?

Operations are in full-swing & standards are at an all-time high!

Never surrender, sharpen your own self instead whilst

Souls are destroyed for a measly buck!

***

By Daniel Lloyd Blunk-Fernández on Unsplash

Thanks for reading. If you liked it, please consider hitting the heart, commenting or subscribing for more to encourage my future poems, short stories and reviews. Many thanks.

social commentaryAcrostic
26

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 4 months ago

    Good one Grz. Those steps and yearning in your message here.

  • Sometimes I have to admit to pondering the option of speeding up that slow-death part. Evanescing isn't for the faint of heart, lol. But it's one thing at which I am fairly talented.

  • Racharoonie4 months ago

    Eager younguns to super-zombies hit me in the feels! Another brilliant piece 👏👏👏

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    This is brilliant and super creative! Well done!

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    Masterful and I don't think it's too negative, although I can't really relate as the life of a college professor is neither routine nor boring.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Oh man! I feel you about the WIP. I have a few that say ‘last saved 1 yr’ 😅. I’m glad you decided to publish this one. It’s definitely relevant! Well done.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    And how cheap the souls 🧐

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is really well done. Describes the daily drone perfectly. I like it.

  • Oneg In The Arctic4 months ago

    You got me right off the bat with ‘D’ 😂 Nicely done!

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    This was brilliant G! Well done! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    This is fantastic, Grz! Totally relatable and some truly amazing lines in here! This would have been a great entry to the challenge!! You shouldn’t be so hard on yourself–this would have been a top story at the very least, and could have had a really good chance at placing, imo!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    "Resurgence of conformity superseded any of our own thoughts, Amazing how quick we’ve turned from eager youngins to super-zombies," This reminded me (and gave me quivers...lol) of the mundane, pointless faculty meetings. Sad, because so much good could have come from them had the hearts of each instructor been towards the benefit of the students rather than the "program" itself.

  • Mason Darnielle4 months ago

    Very creative 😃

  • Gina C.4 months ago

    This line really got me: "Amazing how quick we’ve turned from eager youngins to super-zombies"...man! There are days I feel crazy having to go to work, but there are also days I feel crazy when I'm not working. I really enjoyed the honesty here, and I love the idea of cleaning out your WIP folder :) Awesome poem, Grz!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    It's curious, isn't it. I do a job a believe to be meaningful. I generate no profit in doing it, but I'm still paid to do so by a government funded body. And yet...I still feel like this some days.

  • Scott Christenson4 months ago

    You capture the monotony of work well, having a good hobby is the best solution.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    You are only speaking the truths we all feel. This is brilliant stuff, yet we all doubt our work. Most of my doubtful ones are the ones people liked the most. So keep doing what your heart tells you. I too need to make WIP room for the new year. Happy new year (●'◡'●) (✿◡‿◡).

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    We all have a goal for working. Saving up to go to our favorite restaurant or trip. Working helps us from being bored from life. When I was young I had two jobs to distract my mind from overthinking because I am too tired to think.

  • I don't think that was negative at all. In fact, that's the ultimate truth. That's what's been happening, is happening and would continue to happen. It's like one big vicious cycle. Rotisserie, is that made by spinning it around? Or is that meat dish called something else? Well, whatever it's called, that's what this is, lol. Also, why don't you like it because it felt negative to you? I mean, sometimes that's how our system cleanses ourselves and you gotta let it out 😊❤️

  • D. J. Reddall4 months ago

    I think you are too ruthless when assessing your own efforts (for what little that may be worth from a fellow, ink-stained wretch): this clearly captures widespread thoughts and feelings with style!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.