Fiction logo

I Sing To Them

14th March, Story #74/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2024
31
Thank you AI!

I sing to them, the dear little children. With my feet. There is something about the sound that twists around inside their adorable heads and pulls all the right switches. I sing into the mist curling through the forest, and I can feel, in my gut and blood and bones, how it reaches them in their dreams.

I See them stirring on their eiderdown pillows, those tender pink feet swinging out of bed and hitting the floor.

Come along, curly haired little tots. Come to me.

My ears flick and swivel, my flanks twitch. I toss my mane, impatient, staring through the dark.

It's usually a little girlchild. I like them, especially. They have a magic all their own. The wonder in their shining eyes, their little hands patting my shoulder and my velvet nose. There is a myth that there's nothing in the world softer than a horse's nose. It's false. The softest thing is my nose.

Clip clop, little darlings. Clip clop!

Here she comes, in her nightdress, cheeks round with babyfat, hair tousled from sleep. Can you see her as clearly as I can in the starlight?

I stand as pretty as I know how, neck arched, horn catching the moonlight just so. Every muscle ready to launch me away into the night, never to be seen again. This is part of the magic. Show them wonder, and threaten to pull it away, to disappear it forever. This binds them to you. It distorts their senses of fear and saftey. The healthy fear that tells them Run is drowned out by the fear that I will surely vanish, that perhaps I never was. And they so desperately, desperately want me to be real.

Hungry.

Wolves and men are fools, all. This is how you hunt. You don't chase, or hide, or stalk. You stand in a glade in a forest and you let them approach you. It's quite glorious.

First I feast on her wonder, her delight in me, her adoration. When the moment is right I strike. Use the fangs concealed behind velvety softness. Her bones go crunch.

Did you think no one has ever seen a unicorn?

Just no one living.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding notes): 366

Submitted on 14th March at 23.35

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Leave me a link to your own latest story, if I haven't already seen it!

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 75 day streak. I'm also putting them in my Index post.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads.

CONTENT WARNINGShort StoryMicrofictionHorrorFantasy
31

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Abdul Qayyum2 months ago

    I Sing To Them A roller-coaster of emotions! https://vocal.media/fiction/the-last-rose-ihbc0cn0

  • Dizzibooster2 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your story! It's intriguing and beautifully written, exploring themes of enchantment and danger. As for your preference for Dizzibooster Digital Marketing Institute in Ludhiana, it seems like you've found a valuable resource for enhancing your digital marketing skills. Best of luck with your endeavors!

  • With an unsettling twist on a popular emblem of innocence, your terrifying presentation of the unicorn as a predatory creature subverts traditional mythology in a wonderfully compelling way.

  • Stunning little twist on the unicorn legend, L.C.!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story!

  • Mario Taylor 2 months ago

    this post I would rate this post as unsettling and disturbing. The writing style is engaging and descriptive, but the content veers into dark and disturbing territory. The narrator's perspective as a predatory unicorn preying on children is deeply unsettling and may disturb some readers. Additionally, the inclusion of a word count and author's note at the end feels out of place given the dark nature of the story. Overall, while the writing may be technically proficient, the subject matter may not be suitable for all audiences.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Now I am scared, eeek! From my various readings about unicorns I now realise I need to create my own! You are always surprising me:)

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Fang fantastic horror story!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    So glad Vocal made this top story! Nice one!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Fangs. Oh man. But they look so shiny and bright and benevolent.

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Oh no no no no - you have dispelled the charm of the Unicorn. What an ending - this is FABULOUS!!

  • Congrats on the Top Story! That last line is so awesome. The switch in tone to predator is insanely well done. Loved this!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • “M”2 months ago

    Proud of you and all the best for you

  • JBaz2 months ago

    The elusive Unicorn, now we know why. Way to lull us in then tear us apart with this story. Congratulations

  • Oh!!! I had a feeling that the Unicorn was going to do this! Just my gut was going, uh oh, this seems like a trap! Haha Great work LC!

  • Hehehehehhehehehe this made me grin ear to ear!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Oh that distortion of fear and safety, brilliant. I felt that.

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Fantastic! Memorable! Wonderful!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Wow. I had no idea unicorns could be so treacherous and savage! Gosh - what are you going to take down next?! This was FAB!

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    It's the horn, isn't it! I knew it. Great story.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Is my little pony next? Teddy bears? Is nothing too sacred to sacrifice to the gods of twist endings? Someone needs to alert Dharrsheena! She’s going to love this!😝😝

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Oh wow. That was amazing, and damn. There's goes my childhood fantasies.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.