Fiction logo

On the Eve of the Hunt - III

14th March, Story #74/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
16
On the Eve of the Hunt - III
Photo by Tim Rebkavets on Unsplash

I've gone through lots of emotions since the Queen stood in front of me with those hard, gem-like eyes.

Nerves, confusion, embarassment, shock, denial, numbness...

Now, truly, I feel fear. With every step of my slippered feet, it grows in my belly. My heart bangs and rattles in its cage. Hands trembling, bunched into fists. Knuckles white, fingernails biting bloody crescents into my palms.

Another emotion when I'm guided through the Hall to the High Table: dismay. This must be a mistake! I'd heard there are usually about fifty candidates. Here there are barely twelve besides the King and Queen!

The guards deposit me behind my seat. I almost vomit onto the golden plate. I swallow hard, gripping the high back of the chair. The other candidates are doing the same. Am I that green colour?

I glance to the gallery where our families wait. Every face is bloodless, pinched, wide eyed. I search for my mother, but the sight of her doesn't bring me courage. I see the same despair I feel stamped on her features.

When the King and Queen arrive, the King booms at us to sit. He's a big man, grey in his hair and beard. Imposing I suppose. But we all turn our eyes to the Queen. After all, it's her occasion. She nods, and I sink into my chair.

Still standing, she tells us, in that foreign-sounding purr, that the custom is changed. This is not a Sacrifice, but a Test. Failure means death. Success demands a different kind of sacrifice; service to the realm as royal heir.

There's a rustle around the room: it's the sound of many spines straightening inside very expensive clothing. Ears pricking forward and straining for details. It's the subtle noise made by the fog of fear lifting, and resolve congealing.

My horror is complete, but she's not done. Keen to secure an heir, and not wait another nine years for this opportunity, if the first Candidate fails, a second will be Chosen. The rest hangs in the air, and a third, and a fourth...

My mother has buried her face in her hands. I think it's in that moment that my failure is certain.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding notes): 366

Submitted on 14th March at 23.58

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Leave me a link to your own latest story, if I haven't already seen it!

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 74 day streak. I'm also putting them in my Index post.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads.

SeriesShort StoryMicrofiction
16

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Ooooh! The queen’s speech paragraph was excellent and this entire narrative is 👍👍

  • Sian N. Clutton2 months ago

    I'm hooked. Where is the next part?! 😀

  • Fascinating! An heir is a twist! But what does that "really" mean given the circumstances of the queen's child? Haha Wonderfully done LC! Looking forward to the next piece of this!

  • I was gripped by this piece from beginning to end and was excitedly anticipating the next part!

  • Abdul Qureshi2 months ago

    good one

  • Sid Aaron Hirji2 months ago

    It’s amazing how you have such a streak going. This is an interesting storyline.

  • The Hunger Games where the queen is looking for an heir-y surrogate for checkmating.

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    I'm with Caroline. This should be a TV series. I'll bring the popcorn!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    L.C. this is brill. God I wish this could be a TV series. I would binge watch it for sure!

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    Wow, that was something else! I have so many questions, it's like having a glimpse into a totally different universe and not knowing what happens next.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Ahhh ... the count down. 'And then there were n(one?).' Wonderful stuff, LC! Looking forward to part IV!

  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    'some of you may die! but that's a risk I'm willing to take'. I like where this is going.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.