Feast logo

This is Your Stomach on Summer

The Ultimate Summertime Food

By Corina CochranePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
5

Oh summer.

Tis' the season for late night campfires, days at the beach, rowdy family barbeques and dining at restaurant patios.

Sure, spending quality time with the people that we love is one of the things we cherish most. Summer is lighter. Our hearts open wider.

At the center of all the fun and excitement, there's food. Whether it's an extravagant smorgasbord or a bag of chips.

However, our needs in the summertime changes. Our stomachs accommodate our growing heart space by shrinking in size. I believe that's why our appetites seem to diminish come the warmer seasons. Smaller meals become more charming. Assortments of snacks catch the eye, inviting us for a nourishing nibble and then to quickly return to summer adventures.

Naturally, I frequently gravitate to the food table for a quick bite. Replenished and ready to concur the day.

It's human nature to bond over food. Food is nurturing to the mind, body and soul. People love to share recipes and showcase their cooking abilities. I love to eye-flirt with platters adorned by delicious cookies and squares.

I mustn't forget fresh fruits and vegetables! I was lucky growing up. My mom and dad grew a healthy garden each year. I have so many memories of being tasked with the picking of fresh green beans and sweet peas and the juiciest of cherry tomatoes straight from the vine. Some would end up in my bowl to bring back up to the house to be cooked or frozen for future use. Most would end up in my mouth. The crisp of a fresh picked vegetable is incomparable to anything in the grocery store, I promise. My roommate and I have carried a downsized version of the tradition as we grow a selection of herbs and veggies on our balcony.

The feeling is legendary. To be the savior to a hungry crowd. To be the hero behind the "clickity-clack" of the tongs, watching over the barbeque. To be the master gifting her pupils the tricks to create the most bomb pasta salad of all time.

As soon as the temperatures start to rise, I get giddy about restaurant patios. I love to eat out. Eating out and eating outside. I feel a rush even just writing about it. Hot sun, warm breeze, the sun shining brightly all around while I'm sheltered by an over-sized umbrella. An ice-cold virgin Caesar, with the condensation dripping from the glass. A pickle- always! It's so refreshing. Brightly coloured appetizers and hand-helds are my go to. If there is a black bean taco on the menu, you know I'm getting it. I am a Guac Girl, what can I say?!

When I initially asked my tummy, what is The Ultimate Queen of Summertime food item, she said to me, "deviled eggs". I haven't even touched on deviled eggs yet. I've gotten a little carried away writing this piece. I've always been a bit of a nutter about food. In all of my baby photos you would see a chubby girl with a giant smile on her face and a ring of sauce encompassing my mouth.

I love food. I always have. There are very few things I wouldn't eat. I'm a vegetarian now; I have fish and Caesars on "special occasions" but I kind of make up my own rules. I still salivate at the thought of barbequed chicken and hotdogs. When I started to ponder about the ultimate tastes of summer, my mind- or maybe my stomach, went all directions.

I think that we all can agree, when someone else is doing the cooking, food tastes better! The secret ingredient must really be love.

Essentially, deviled eggs are dressed up hard boiled eggs; hard boiled eggs on date night; all prettied up for prom. Add a few special ingredients, some paprika and green onions for the wow factor. Main character energy.

I could easily eat five. At our family functions, only the fast win. Deviled eggs are gone at lightening speed. My cousins know that. It's a battle. A battle of the eggs.

It's funny when I see my grandmother's deviled eggs dish at the barbeques, I'm carried back in time. It is the same dish from my childhood; and it always will be. Back when time was irrelevant and all that mattered was that the sun was out and that meant we were outside. I was rolling around in the grass or in the pool with my sister and my cousins.

When there is a feeling and a memory attached to a certain food, it makes it taste that much more like home. My stomach may go all kinds of directions on the topic of food, but I will always come back to deviled eggs.

cuisine
5

About the Creator

Corina Cochrane

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • No Real Balance2 years ago

    Your writing has a beautiful cadence to it, and your imagery brings both food and setting to life.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.