Feast logo

The Saga of the Zucchini Bread

An ode to trying old foods in new ways and making the most of every situation

By Bri CraigPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
6
The Saga of the Zucchini Bread
Photo by Igor Miske on Unsplash

When I was in elementary school, I had to do my first big science project - tri-fold board and everything. This whole journey started innocently enough, my dad helped me pick up zucchini seeds, pots, and soil. I placed a few zucchini sprouts under different conditions and then measured them daily to see which plant grew the tallest.

The entire project went smoothly and without a hitch... and maybe that should have been our warning. When things go smoothly, it's often my first sign that a saga is about to begin.

After tediously measuring my little plant babies every day, I had grown quite attached to them. So when my project concluded, my father and I planted all of the zucchini in a small, makeshift garden in our little backyard. We dumped our leftover soil in a corner of our side yard and lined the patch with big rocks we found laying around. In that humble first garden, I graciously replanted all the (surviving) zucchini sprouts.

I don't know if it was the soil, the freedom, or my nine-year-old undying love, but something happened to the zucchini when they were replanted. They went wild, feral even. Every single plant shot up and out as if reaching out for heaven and hell themselves. Summer began, and in place of yellow school buses, little yellow flowers speckled the plot. Then.... the zucchini arrived.

At first, the zucchini was an excitement, a blessing even. My mother took great pride in that first zucchini, and we ate it with dinner the very night she was ripe and ready for us. But we weren't ready for the zucchini. No, the zucchini kept coming. And kept coming. Every day another zucchini, or two, or three.

My zucchini plants taunted my mother with their endless barrage. Diligent as she was, she would never let perfectly good food go to waste, but these plants challenged her with their multitudes. She had to start getting creative. Much to the horror of her two picky eaters (my brother and I), from that point on, it was the "Summer of Zucchini." She put zucchini on the side of all our dinners, in our pastas, and yes... even made zucchini bread.

The first time my mother ever made zucchini bread, I remember begrudgingly helping in the kitchen. I grated the zucchini into a pitiful, wet pile of mush, convinced that putting zucchini in bread was a new creative low for my mother. She marched forward, steadfast and unembarrassed, and baked the bread anyway. When she cut into the first loaf, I was horrified to see tiny green bits in my bread.

I was suspicious, apprehensive, and a little nauseated at the sight. But I had been the one to bring this plague of zucchini into our home, so I felt obligated to try my mother's creation.

And... it was really, surprisingly good!

I loved it.

Zucchini bread is similar to banana bread, in that it's soft, cinnamon-y, and sweet. Best of all, you couldn't even taste the zucchini! This bewildering bread ended up being my family's favorite recipe out of the "Summer of Zucchini." We ended up making so many loaves. We ate some, froze more, and even gave some away.

Eventually, the zucchini calmed down, which is to say my family finally got their well-earned respite. After discovering a new (if not a little cursed) green thumb, I continued gardening in my little patch for years (although I never again planted zucchini).

Despite the simultaneous horrors and wonders of the "Summer of Zucchini," zucchini bread has since become a favorite summer recipe of mine. Partially because it is delicious, but partially because it makes me feel nostalgic. This treat makes me think of my family: my father, who helped me create my first garden; my brother, who suffered through every zucchini-based meal like a champ; and of course, my mother, the defender against food waste, the creative chef, and the reigning champion of out-of-control science projects.

And every summer, when zucchini is back in season, I often think back on what I have learned: when life gives you zucchini, you make zucchini bread.

~

Making Your Own Zucchini Bread

Unfortunately, I have since lost the original recipe that my mother used to make zucchini bread that summer. However, if this story inspired you to try zucchini bread, check out this recipe below, from AllRecipes.

Thank you for reading!

cuisine
6

About the Creator

Bri Craig

Bri Craig (she/her) is a variety pack writer. She enjoys writing poetry, webcomic features, humor, short stories, and personal anecdotes. Basically, neither of us will ever know what will be posted next!

Let's connect! More about me here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Marie Concannon2 years ago

    Aww this is awesome I love zucchini bread too!!

  • Sarah G.2 years ago

    Lovely! My favorite lines: - "They went wild, feral even. Every single plant shot up and out as if reaching out for heaven and hell themselves." - "This treat makes me think of my family: my father, who helped me create my first garden; my brother, who suffered through every zucchini-based meal like a champ; and of course, my mother, the defender against food waste, the creative chef, and the reigning champion of out-of-control science projects."

  • This story sounds really familiar! And it is probably a fit for the Dads story contest too😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.