Feast logo

Sugar Cookies!

Tastes like the real deal with 1/4 the calories!

By Rhianon CondelloPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Macro Friendly Sugar Cookies!

Who else loves baking for the holidays growing up!? I know I did!! I have amazing memories of me and my mom rolling out dough balls for cut outs, making pies, and boiling chocolate for fudge. (Funny how your tastes change I can't stand fudge anymore!!) Christmas was especially always extra special because….it's my birthday!

Now I had a lot of favorites growing up but I'm not joking when I say sugar cookies (no frosting, I HATE frosting) were my favorite!!! Back then we used to call them "Butter Cookies" because I hated the frosting so much lol! When I go to parties or Wegmans and see the beautifully decorated confections with the glass like glaze I admire the beauty but my interest in eating them instantly wanes.

This recipe takes me back! All the sweet buttery taste with ¼ of the calories! Isn't it crazy how easy it is to over consume calories in America? No wonder I was obese growing up!

Even now as an adult I tell my mom what I want for my “birthday breakfast”, this year I have modified this very recipe to make white chocolate cranberry cookies which I fully intend to have four with my hot black coffee on my birthday! (The only time I like my coffee black is with a sweet treat!)

Unfortunately, this dough is sticky and the only way you could possibly roll it out is by adding more flour which would of course change the nutritional content, so if you don’t mind them not being Christmas trees and Santas then, I insist continue to read!

One big tip: always use parchment paper! I would encourage you to with any baking endeavor, easy clean up and no stick!

If you’re looking for that sugar cookie taste look no further this one is it! So without further ado here is my very simple, very delicious, all too macro friendly sugar cookie recipe!!🤤

This recipe is suitable for bariatric patients, vegetarians, body builders, anyone who is practicing moderation or just someone looking for a delicious macro friendly dessert recipe!

For more macro-friendly recipes, lifestyle posts and bodybuilding posts feel free to follow my Instagram @boho_nutrition!

Feel free to put your own spins on any of my recipes, I love to see it!

Servings

Makes 24 (using a standard cookie scoop)

Cookware required

Cookie sheet

Parchment paper (Recommended)

Prep Time

Approx. 15 min

Cooking Time

Approx. 10min

Difficulty Level

Easy

Ingredients

~3/4C (100g) all purpose flour

1C no cal sweetener (I used plain monks fruit)

1 large egg

100g Greek cream cheese

15g light butter (I used Olivio light)

1tsp vanilla extract

¼ tsp salt

½ tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 F

Put all ingredients in a blender and blend till well combined (batter will be thick and sticky)

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper (highly recommend using parchment paper for any type of baking for easy cleanup!)

Using a standard cookie scoop and drop the dough in even balls

Bake 9-13 min be careful if you don't leave them in long enough centers will be gooey (the way I like them!) and also be mindful that the centers firm while the cookie cools!

Let cookies cool on wire racks for best result

Grab some milk and dunk!

I'm actually going to go and make another batch!

Feel free to tell your friends all about my recipes, I’d appreciate it!

Tag me in any recipes you try!! @boho_nutrition

(I would love to hear your honest reviews positive or negative!)

Just a reminder: for more macro-friendly recipes, lifestyle posts and bodybuilding posts feel free to follow my Instagram @boho_nutrition!

Rhianon Condello RDN, BSN, RN

recipe
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.