Feast logo

S'mores Memories

So Friggin Delicious!

By C. H. RichardPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
14
S'mores Memories
Photo by Kayla Speid on Unsplash

The trick was always how to get the marshmallow off the stick and onto the graham cracker minus burning your hands. I’m talking of course about the fine art of making s'mores. Traditionally a great s'more would be concocted while sitting around campfire holding marshmallows over an open flame while chasing off mosquitos and telling horror stories.

That campfire way was always fun, but honestly the marshmallow took forever to cool down once on the graham cracker and the Hershey chocolate bar that would cover it before putting the second layer of graham sandwich on it would melt so quick, it become a real gooey mess. However, I still would recommend for those who have never had a s'more treat, you really don’t know what you are missing!

At my house growing up, we had s'mores throughout the year. I thought my mom and dad were genius when they melted the marshmallow right onto the graham cracker using the frying pan over the stove top. This recipe was only second best to their dinner of English muffin pizza which I used to tell the kids in my neighborhood my mom invented. She knew I spread these rumors and didn’t deny it.

Anyways, back to the s'mores, when we saw the ingredients coming into the house this was a genuine huge deal. Something to be excited about during school vacation or a winter storm. Even a rainy-day playing monopoly would be reason to getting the graham crackers out. Honestly, I did not think people actually ate graham crackers without making s'mores. Like why?

Well back to making of s'mores. As I grew older, I have left s'mores behind as a childhood memory like yeah, I used to eat those as a kid same as popsicles, fudge pops, or Italian Ice. Yes, I know I sugar high from all of the above, but yet still something really fun and tasty especially with s'mores.

Taking care of my dad for over six years, I felt like he started revisiting all these treats from childhood. I was on a constant mission to find fudge pops during the summer. He then had his favorite watermelon Italian Ice on his grocery list that was not always easy to find. However, the day he asked for graham crackers, marshmallows and a Hershey bar I knew what he was definitely feeling nostalgic. He smiled and said “it only takes eight seconds in the microwave. I like to have one while I’m watching the game.”

I wasn’t originally going to write for this challenge as I am really focused on leading a healthier lifestyle with less carbs and fats. Then I thought of my childhood and the pure thrill when we made s'mores. I thought of my dad who passed away last year and how short life is and how important it is to partake in as much of it as possible.

I also thought of s'mores and then I wanted one.

Now I’m not looking to eat s'mores as a part of my regular diet, but I did stop at the grocery store and purchase the ingredients. No, I did not want to burn my mouth at the campfire, but a tasty treat at home would still bring back memories.

So, let's start with our ingredients; marshmallows, graham crackers, Hershey chocolate bars.

photo by author, C.H.Richard

Step one: Layer graham crackers on skillet or frying pan.

Step two: Add marshmallows and place them in the center so they won’t be too messy.

photo by author, C.H.Richard

Let them heat up on graham for about 3-5 minutes on low heat. Use a spatula to flatten them nicely. Heat should be somewhere between low and medium.

Step three: Add chocolate (favorite part as I sneak a piece!) place a sectional of the bar over the marshmallow.

photo by author C.H. Richard

Then cover with another half of graham. Let heat 1-2 minutes.

photo by author C. H. Richard

Once the chocolate and marshmallow are melted into each other, flip to opposite side of graham cracker like flipping a grilled cheese. Except this is not a grilled cheese, this is a s'mores. Now I want a grilled cheese. I digress. Only about a minute on the opposite side.

Then you have you have four beautiful s'mores. Except one, that is missing that had to be eaten as a test run and one burnt one, still good just crisper.

photo by author, C.H. Richard

My dad would approve, but you can also do it his way “eight seconds in the microwave.”

Either way s'mores are so friggin delicious!

recipe
14

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    How to get my attention? Just say "Chocolate" and I'll turn around 🤣 Loved this story!

  • Looks yummy!! Nice story :)

  • Eta George2 years ago

    Loved it!

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    I hear you about the health aspect. I changed up my diet too, but definitely miss the carefree days of childhood. Thanks for writing about one of my fav summer treats!

  • Steve Lance2 years ago

    The grocery stores have all three ingredients together. hmmm, maybe I need to make a short trip.

  • Ali Howarth2 years ago

    Yummo. I've never had a s'mores so this was inspiring!

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 years ago

    Loved this story! It was so nostalgic!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Yummy. Great story

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Super splendid smore's story!!!👏💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.