Feast logo

My comfort food of a lifetime is a bit unusual

Potato chips and dip are not considered healthy but in my system they work miracles.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
2

Potato chips and French onion dip still float my boat

Three years ago I wrote a story on Vocal about my "love affair" with French Onion Dip and now this will serve me in discussing my all-time favorite go-to comfort food. Ruffles potato chips and French onion dip are not a healthy food combo but strangely they work for me and actually relax me and lower my blood pressure which seems illogical.

I went to the home of the Watkins family for the birthday party of the youngest daughter Carolyn. Mrs. Mildred was a widow and was friends with my great Aunt Gladys who lived 2 houses away. My first taste of ruffled chips along with dip was exciting and I kept going back for more. I did not realize it at the time but this combo which was high in fat and salt became my comfort food early on.

A family friend led to my love of chips and dip

I was a skinny child and teen and did not develop breasts and have my period at age 11 or 12 like my cousins and friends. I was teased a lot and when that happened my go-to meal was name-brand Ruffles chips and French onion dip if they were on hand. I was also an avid reader to to get my mind off of being teased I would grab a book and read while eating this combo.

I am thankful to Mrs. Mildred Watkins for allowing me to join the birthday party and experience French onion dip and Ruffles chips for the first time. The recipe I have used to make my own dip is as follows. I am not going to try to make my own potato chips.

A recipe for french onion dip

In later life, I began to notice that the combination of Ruffles potato chips and French Onion dip while reading helped me to relax and even lowered my blood pressure. I do not recommend this to anyone under a doctor's care for hypertension or on a salt-restricted diet. I am only sharing my personal story.

Today I began eating chips and dip and I felt so relaxed and content I was able to write several stories even as my grandchildren were being a bit loud.

The ingredients that are needed are as follows;

400 g / 14 oz sour cream (full fat is best)

40 g / 1.4 oz French Onion Soup Mix (preferably reduced salt)

½ cup mayonnaise (Hellmann’s or a whole egg mayo is recommended).

Mix the ingredients together in a bowl, then wait 5 minutes or until you see that the onion bits in the soup have become soft.

Even though chips and dip are not an actual meal and they are high in saturated fat and empty calories I want to encourage someone. In moderation, we all have that one junk food that gives us comfort. Instead of feeling guilty eat your favorite go-to snack just try not to overindulge. When I eat the chips and dip I feel so peaceful.

Comfort foods make us feel good

Studies indicate that for some people potato chips actually make them feel better. Is psychological and I am one of those people. If potato chips and dip do nothing for you then think hard about what meal or snack relaxes you and keep it on hand. In later years I have also developed a fondness for spinach dip which is a bit healthier. You can click on the following link for a great recipe. Chips and dip may not do a lot for the body but they certainly nourish the mind and soul. Good luck and happy eating.

cuisine
2

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.