Feast logo

Vegan potato salad is an ideal comfort food

This healthy meal will give you vitamins, minerals and antioxidants plus may boost your emotions when you are feeling down.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 5 min read
1
Vegan potato salad

The distress of a lonely widow

Last November 2022, I attended the local annual Grandin Road Children's Parade in Roanoke, Virginia, and had never felt so alone. The love of my life for 45 years and my spouse of 40 passed away on March 7, 2021, and I felt naked without him. Driving alone, parking the car, and walking to the parade by myself was depressing. In addition to missing him, I was receiving indifference instead of condolence from other women.

I was told I had something that other females did not get and I should be thankful and move on. I could not believe women could be so cruel. No one tells a grieving mother to get over her deceased child by finding a replacement but when it comes to husbands that's exactly what is said.

By Julia Taubitz on Unsplash

Insensitivity made the pain worse

Having been married 4 decades did not stop my desire to grow older with my spouse and live until our 80s or 90s. He was my one and only and I had never planned to take another lover or spouse. These harsh words from insensitive women only added to my depression and now here I was alone at the parade. I actually felt that some of them may have been happy that I was now alone because they were.

I watched my daughter and her 3 children march and smiled and waved but inside it felt like I was dying. This was not a conscious choice I simply could not stop missing and loving memories of my deceased husband. the sadness of another Christmas without him was unbearable and I did not know how I was going to make it.

A meal that lifted my spirits

Once the parade was over I went inside the Roanoke Coop 1319 Grandin Roanoke in the Historic Grandin Village. This is the building I had been standing in front of while watching the parade. I made my way to the back to find something healthy in the deli and one look at the vegan potato salad lifted my mood. This became my go-to comfort food whenever I felt down and distressed and it lifted me every time.

I had not regained my normal appetite since my husband transitioned but this vegan potato salad looked healthy and delicious. I returned home and as I ate it my taste buds began coming alive again. Whenever I was in the Grandin area I made sure to load up on the vegan potato salad. One day when they were out the male employee made a batch just for me and I felt so special.

This dish truly was a comfort food as after I ate it I always felt better. One day I decided to look up a recipe to make my own. The one that looked closest to the Coop vegan potato Salad was from BBC Good Food. The ingredients are as follows.

The recipe

  • 21 Ounces Baby New Potatoes (halve any larger ones)
  • 2 teaspoons White Wine Vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 4.2 Ounces Vegan Mayonnaise
  • 1 ½ teaspoons Dijon Mustard
  • 1 Shallot (or 1/2 a red onion, finely chopped)
  • 2 teaspoons Capers (chopped if large)
  • Add a small handful each of chopped chives and chopped Parsley

Making the vegan potato salad

STEP 1 Place the potatoes in a pan, season with salt or salt substitute and cover with cold water. Bring water to a boil and simmer for 15-20 mins, until potatoes are tender. Drain and leave to steam-dry in a colander for 5 mins. If the skins end up papery and peeling away, you can choose to rub them off, or not.

STEP 2 Tip the potatoes into a bowl and add the vinegar, olive oil, and some seasoning, of your choice. Toss well, then leave to cool.

STEP 3 Stir in the mayo, mustard, shallot, capers, and herbs, and be sure to save a little to garnish. Check the seasoning and add more to suit your personal taste. Scatter seasoning over the remaining herbs and serve.

Vegan potato salad

Put a smile on your face

Healthy foods are known to boost the mood so I highly recommend this vegan potato salad recipe to anyone who is feeling distressed or depressed. It will not change whatever situation has you down but it will lift your spirits and perhaps put a smile on your face.

Potatoes contain a high amount of carbohydrates, which can help elevate the levels of tryptophan in the body. Tryptophan is an amino acid that helps produce serotonin, a neurotransmitter that regulates mood and reduces anxiety. Therefore, consuming potatoes may help improve mood.

By Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

Possible mental and physical health benefits

I eat vegan potato salad about twice a month because I don't want to overdo it and gain unnecessary weight. As for the other ingredients, capers are low in calories and high in fiber and Vitamin K. Parsley is rich in Vitamins A, C, and K, antioxidants, and improves eye health. Chives may fight cancer, improve vision, boost immunity and mental health, and help you sleep. White wine vinegar is heart-healthy, decreases appetite, and may lower blood sugar. Extra virgin olive oil is a source of antioxidants, good fats, loaded with vitamin E, and has benefits for the heart. Putting these ingredients together in vegan potato salad gives you a powerhouse of health benefits.

I share my story and this recipe in the hopes that someone reading will try vegan potato salad and find out for themselves that it can take the edge off of a rough moment (or day) as you go through your healing process for whatever has you down. Don't forget to pay it forward and let others know that healthy food can boost your mood and perhaps put a smile on your face. In addition, fixing a meal will take your mind off of whatever is troubling you. Happy eating!

vegan
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.