Feast logo

Layers of Love

Lasagna

By Jennifer DavidPublished 8 months ago 4 min read

The Story:

I’ve always loved lasagna. The first one I ever remember eating was made by my Uncle Joe. Uncle Joe is the oldest of my father’s 12 siblings. Unfortunately, he passed away when I was in high school. However, I’m thankful that I have a special piece of him to carry with me--his famous dish, lasagna. When I have lasagna, I think of his wicked laugh and experience joyous nostaligia. To this day it is one of my favorite meals.

Uncle Joe’s secret recipe was straight from heaven. It was so addicting that I asked him to make it every time I even thought I might see him. It was so stupefying that lasagna is the focal point of any vivid memory that I have of Uncle Joe. I’ll tell you how crazy that is. Uncle Joe didn’t live close by. He lived in Albany, NY , which is roughly 2 hours from where I grew up outside of NYC. And I traveled to his house many times. However, it was almost always for a specific event or occasion. And with that, all my memories of being in his house are baked in lasagna? It's ridiculous but I’m unashamed to say it’s the truth.

Over the years I’ve tried countless lasagnas in search of one like his. It doesn’t exist. I’ve come to terms with the fact that that otherworldly taste is one I may never taste again. However, lasagna still brings me a warmth I can’t describe-- a fullness I crave. And so, I have layered a simple yet delicious recipe, of my own, that I’d love to share. Keep in mind, you may not achieve the same taste and flavors that I created. But I hope you don’t. Because that’s the beauty of it. The idea of this recipe is to guide you to bring your own twist of happines to a familiar classic. Consider these steps as the basic frame to a house that only you can make a home. Your style, your flare, is what will make this recipe unforgettable.

Recipe:

  • Ground meat of choice (I prefer a mix of beef and pork )
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Italian cheese blend
  • Lasagna noodles
  • One egg
  • Olive oil
  • Fresh cracked black pepper
  • Oregano
  • Italian seasoning
  • Crushed tomatoes
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Basil

Drizzle a generous amount of olive oil into the bottom of a pot, on medium heat. Once the oil is able to quickly and easily glide across the surface of the pot it is hot enough to add in your ground meat of choice. I prefer to use a mixture of ground beef and spicy pork (a 70/30 ratio of beef to pork). Subsequently, season the meat with an array of seasonings: italian seasoning, salt, and fresh cracked black pepper. Once your meat is mostly cooked, push it to the side of the pot. In the middle of the pot add diced onion and minced garlic. Cook them until they are translucent and lightly golden brown. When they are finished cooking, combine them with the ground meat. After the meat is finished fully cooking (there should be no pink meat), incorporate your favorite pasta sauce into the mix; throw in the crushed tomatoes and basil as well. Get creative and play with different sauces for enhanced flavor. Currently I like sauces with basil. But back in the day I used to use vodka sauce. It’s up to you. Let your sauce come to a simmer and it’s ready.

In a bowl, mix one egg and ricotta cheese. Season this mixture with fresh herbs, or seasonings like oregano, or those of your choice.

Have freshly grated mozzarella or a mix of cheeses (provolone, parmesan, mozzarella, etc) ready to layer in your dish.

Then have either prepared lasagna noodles (al dente) or oven ready pasta ready to assemble.

You will need a square medium sized ( oven safe) dish (to put your lasagna in), a spoon, and a spatula.

Now you are ready to assemble the dish.

In the bottom of the medium sized, oven safe, pan add a little tomato sauce and olive oil to limit the lasagna sticking to the bottom and sides. Then put down your noodles. On top of your noodles add the ricotta cheese mixture. Make sure that it is added in an even layer. Then spoon your meat sauce on top. And lastly, sprinkle a cheese layer. Repeat to your desired amount of layers and end with a layer of cheese. Cover and cook in the over for about 25 to 30 minutes (about 15 minutes with al dente noodles). Uncover to brown the top for 5 minutes. Then when the lasagna is removed from the oven, let it sit for at least 15 minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

Affirmation:

Making lasagna is what I do when I need a moment to think. I make it about once a week. At this poing it’s like a prayer. So I guess it’s fitting that I tend to make it on Sundays. If you’re in need comfort and to lose yourself in a burst of timeless flavor, I encourage you to take an hour or two to indulge in this meal. You can make it for yourself, or for your family. It can make you feel the warmth of a hug, if you need it. Or, it can bring you a hug from those you feed it.

Xoxo

J

recipe

About the Creator

Jennifer David

I hope my thoughts challenge yours

Connect with me on instagram!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Stephanie David8 months ago

    So many cultures share love through meals. Your Uncle would be honored by this heartfelt story. You make me want to try my hand at new recipes and then invite folks over to share. Thanks for the loving encouragement.

Jennifer DavidWritten by Jennifer David

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.