Feast logo

It Doesn’t Have a Michelin Star But It’s Come-Back Good

Recipe from Grandma's kitchen: Potato soup with meatballs

By Lynda CokerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Let me introduce myself. I'm a grandma that loves to cook. I received my training at the aprons strings of my mother, aunts, and grandmother, who were all great cooks from Texas, USA.

Family time meant the ladies of the family spent many hours preparing their favorite dishes. None of them were elegant chefs but they were all dedicated to putting their best food on the table.

Simple, satisfying, smell-good, taste-good food topped the menu. And since money was never something any of them had in abundance, their ability to improvise, adapt, and create original recipes flourished.

One thing you'll learn about cooking from me is that grandma-style leaves lots of room for self-expression. Why? Because we don't measure - we taste for accuracy. A pinch, a dash, a palm-full, and a smidgeon are all very exact directions when you learn to appreciate them.

So don't get stuck in a rut, experiment a little, tweak a lot, and you'll be surprised to find your own flair for cooking.

Let me share my latest dish…

Photo by Author

Down-home potato soup with meatballs

You can start this dish with any basic recipe for potato soup. I always start with a stick of butter, diced onions, and chopped celery which I simmer in my favorite soup pot.

I'll season with fresh garlic, salt, pepper, and a couple of spoons of chicken base.

I add the diced potatoes, frozen meatballs, and a handful of chopped spinach.

Then I fill my pot with liquid - 1 part water to 2 parts milk.

Be sure to add additional seasonings of your choice if you desire.

Cook on medium/low heat until potatoes are tender. Just before serving, I'll add a couple of tablespoons of sour cream to the mix.

All that's left is to dish it up into bowls and top with your favorite croutons.

This soup is most appreciated on cold days when the inside of a person is in need of some additional warmth.

Enjoy!

From Grandma's perspective — 3 Things Chicken Soup is Good For

"All those bits of carrot, celery, and onion commonly found in chicken noodle soup are a great source of vitamins C and K, as well as other antioxidants and minerals. “Not only does this help build a healthy immune system to fight off viruses, but it also helps your body recover from illness more quickly,” ~ Source

I’m not a nutritional scientist so I can’t give you documented evidence that chicken soup is good for your health, but, I can tell you that I feel better just smelling the aroma of chicken soup cooking on the stove. And on those days when my head aches and my throat is scratchy, chicken soup seems to fix the problem, if not physically, certainly psychologically.

The second thing chicken soup is good for is reminding me of home. Chicken soup was a weekly menu item when I was a kid. With three other siblings, my mom cooked lots of big pots of soup to keep us well fed and satisfied. It puts a smile on my face just reminiscing about those days.

As someone who loves to cook, the third thing chicken soup is good for is a base for many other dishes. Homemade chicken stock adds additional flavor and richness to casseroles, gravies, and my favorite, cornbread dressing.

Just for fun—Long Live Jellybeans! And Why They Make You Happy

Before we talk about the list of best things about these little miracle candies, lets’ dig a little into their past life.

The earliest known appearance of a jelly bean is an 1861 advertisement for William Schrafft of Boston that promoted the sending of jelly beans to soldiers in the Union Army during the Civil War.

Why are they called jelly beans? Candymakers have always made candy into novelty shapes. ~Source

And for all those who love these candies as much as I do, you’ll want to know that they have their own designated special day.

National Jelly Bean Day is April 22nd.

A few interesting facts about jellybeans

  • The 40th President of the United States, Ronald Reagan, enjoyed jelly beans so much that they were present at his inauguration.
  • In the 1910s and early 1920s, the word “jellybean” referred to a young man who put a lot of great effort into dressing stylishly. ~
  • Jelly beans were the first candy to be sold by weight rather than by piece.
  • It can take anywhere from 7 to 21 days to make a jelly bean.
  • The original eight flavors of Jelly Belly beans introduced in 1976 were Very Cherry, Root Beer, Cream Soda, Tangerine, Green Apple, Lemon, Licorice, and Grape.
  • Each year in the U.S, there are 16 billion jelly beans manufactured just for Easter. This is enough to circle the Earth more than 3 times if they were laid end to end. ~ Source
  • Jelly Belly jelly beans became the first jelly beans in space when they traveled aboard the 1983 Challenger Space Shuttle. ~Source

The best things about jellybeans are the things that can make you happy

Here’s a list of my best and happy thoughts on jellybeans.

  • They are easy to sneak into my purse or pocket and I can savor them throughout the day without anyone noticing.
  • With so many varieties of color and flavor, I never get bored standing in front of the candy dispensers.
  • They make a festive addition to any side table or buffet.
  • They are the perfect treat for my granddaughters.
  • They are perfect for adding fun to any gift package.
  • Jellybeans and coffee make a fantasy breakfast.
  • They are perfect for rewarding me throughout the day for getting my writing done on time — one jellybean for every 50 words. I’m thinking of lowering the reward quota soon.
  • They are perfect toppers for cupcakes.
  • I can color coordinate my jellybeans with my mood. Those black ones come in very handy on days I get rejections from publishers.

Nutrition Facts ~ Source

Cholesterol Free

Fat-Free

Low Saturated Fat

Very Low Sodium

41 Calories per 10 jellybeans

Conclusion

What’s the best thing about Jellybeans? EATING them, of course. But, for me, the second-best thing is hoarding them.

______________________

Originally published here

______________________

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Lynda Coker

Grab a chair, turn a page, and read a while with me. I promise to tap lightly on my keyboard so we both can stay immersed in our world of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.