Feast logo

.... Is So Divine!

The Two Are In LOVE!

By Amy ElizabethPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
.... Is So Divine!
Photo by Calum Lewis on Unsplash

Through incorporating a diet specifically tailored to my body, its energy and its needs, I found clarity. It had a positive effect on my mindfulness, and my stress levels were significantly reduced.

The idea that food can affect our mood and behaviour isn't new and researchers have found some fascinating links between what we eat and mental health. When it comes to confidence and self-esteem, considering your diet and making any necessary changes can help to reduce anxiety, boost your mood and in turn help you feel better about yourself and more confident.

It's all about getting the right balance of nutrients from foods, which can help our mood and the way we feel. For example, eating carbohydrate-rich foods make the brain receive more serotonin – a hormone that makes you feel positive, relaxed and confident. Too many foods or drinks that are high in sugar or caffeine, however, can cause mood fluctuations, which can leave you feeling lethargic, irritable and anxious. Some research also suggests that low levels of vitamins, minerals and essential fatty acids can affect our mental health; for example, links have been seen between depression and low levels of omega-3 oils. I truly believe you are what you eat!

Hold onto the feelings of feeling better – that day you ate so well, slept so soundly, went to the gym – how that made you feel. That’s what you want. More days like that.

I’m sure we’ve all eaten more chocolate than we intended to, reached for a few more biscuits … only to feel a bit peeved with ourselves later. If you are eating an unbalanced diet and have erratic meal patterns, it’s likely that you feel demotivated and less confident. That’s certainly true in my case. I have been through periods of letting my diet slip (too much fast food while on the go), and my levels of confidence go right down with it. When I am eating healthily, I feel better about myself and this naturally spills over into other areas of my life.

I consider myself a healthy, physically fit woman and I am grateful for the body and lifestyle I have been given and work with. However, I do have a pretty fast-paced routine, and there are times when I find myself making poor diet choices, which in turn leaves me feeling in a bit of a slump, both physically and mentally. I took it upon myself to change that, living by the motto: If I can change it; I will!

Over the years, I have tried a number of ways to get myself back to my normal energetic and creative ways, only to find myself falling back into my bad habits a few weeks later.

I once attended an incredibly powerful nutrition workshop - the words the nutritionist said ...

“We are so used to feeling like crap, we don’t know how good we should be feeling”.

And boy was she right! I will always remember that moment. This was the moment I started to think, act, eat and drink very differently.

Breakfast is the beginning of the day and therefore I consider it to be the most important time of the day to set the tone for the rest of my day (and provide me with copius amounts of energy for the day ahead).

My fave recipe for brekkie is 'Mancakes' and a magical 'Mega Shake' on the side:

ManCakes (Recipe makes 4 - 5 pancakes)

You will need:

1/4 cup quick oats

4 egg whites (or vegan substitute)

1/2 cup berries or 1/4 cup of banana

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon

INSTRUCTIONS:

Heat the pan to mid heat

Combine egg whites, oats, vanilla and cinnamon (you can blend or mix in a bowl)

Add fruit and pulse blender

Using 1/4 cup pour into pan, cook on each side for approx 2 minutes (or until edges form)

Flip once, let cool and enjoy!

(Add additional toppngs of your choice).

The MEGA Shake!

(Works wonders for me post workout!)

You will need:

2 scoops Arbonne chocolate protein powder

1 cup of almond milk

1 tbs raw cacao powder

1 tbs hazelnut butter (no added sugar or salt)

1 tbs chia seeds

1 tbs coconut flakes (no added sugar)

A handful of ice

1 handful spinach / kale

1 tsp cinnamon

1⁄2 an avocado

INSTRUCTIONS:

Blend all ingredients together and top with cacao nibs (if you are going all out!!!)

Don't forget to enjoy!

Amy Elizabeth x

recipe
1

About the Creator

Amy Elizabeth

I am a heart-centred, creative and spiritual entrepreneur, on a mission to inspire, energise and empower as many people as she can to live happy and fulfilling lives.

"If you want happiness for a lifetime, help others.”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.