Feast logo

Grandma's House

The Taste of Sweetness lying at the Tip of a Finger…💜

By HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)Published 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 4 min read
18

Grandma says that she has a surprise for me this weekend…

-My Senior Year Was Not Just a Breeze, Rather it Was More of a Snow Day in Chicago all year round-

Midterms were severe due to the fact, that I have a dance team 👥 and practice had been constant. We were to perform for the School Talent Show Coming May…

On Monday, I studied 📚 in my corner while taking a break from dance practice, but my intellect shuffled 🔀 back and forth between the dance routine and the book 📖…🙄

My best friend considered 🤔 “Abandonment”

She declared that I never really spent time with her like how we used to…
(Parents didn’t understand how much we needed our “Best friends”, in a world of “Strange Possibilities” The one ☝️ person that could ever be a Teenager’s Therapist is the “Best friend”.)

I nonetheless rebelled against going to a Different High School 🏫 from my childhood Friend, we were the ones who could make ourselves “Popular and Different”. It was something we had discovered in elementary. There was no way our parents could separate us now that we are in High School🥹

I wanted out of the Neighborhood as for the School District I was fitted, we’ll so far.

We hurriedly went out and found “After School Jobs and Cellphones 📲” life seemed to be treating me better… but as every other teenager we have so many other unfelt with problems…

I couldn’t stuff everything into my locker, lol 😂( that was a metaphor readers).

By Nicola Fioravanti on Unsplash

Saturday was the day that I would go to my grandma house 🏡

It feels warm just to saying that…

(Reader note 🗒️) “Okay, sadly it’s hard for me to tell this story because a few years back my Grandmother Passed 🥹🕊️❤️ sorry if I got off Track with this storytelling but The story pertained to “My Sweet Granny” so I’ll continue…”

By No Revisions on Unsplash


I went to Granny’s house and upon entering the door I stood greeted with the smell 👃 of Sweet Cake, but not just any Fritter. This was both my and grandma's favorite “Jelly Cake”.

We would walk 👣 down the street to the market and buy a different kind of jelly I always wanted Apple jelly it was my favorite.

Grandma had a preference for Grape Jelly 🍇 but she also enjoyed Apple 🍎with me sometimes, She would just make each of us One layer, and We would lay on her couch and watch the shows that she liked, and I loved listening to the back stories…

Although I never knew the exact story because I eventually woke ⏰ up to grandma saying are you eating breakfast 🍳 it's Sunday ☀️ but by that time my Mom would be calling my cell phone 📳 again to see if I stayed the night at grandma's house and if I would be home early 🕒 because I have School ✏️ Tomorrow…

This was my life as a Teenager shuffling through the duration of Situational junctures but The Taste Of Grandma Cakes always made me feel Safe and Warm, yes, I was a Grandmother's Boy 👶 She taught me to combine:

1 Box of Sara Lee cake mix following the ingredients that were supplied by the back of the boxes…
Grandma only got the “Yellow cake mix” She says that it is a great compliment to the Jelly of your choice and also it reminds her of pound cake lol 😆…

I enjoyed the redolence of the cake batter, especially after we withdrew the pans from the hot oven set at 250🫥

I wasn't allowed to Spread the Jelly because Grandma declared that I always would make a mess LOL… so I let her set them and Dress them with The Jelly Which She had always done so adequately ever since I was in grade school…
This was my first favorite snack and Grandma was the only person with whom I had ever shared this snack, her very own Creation in My eyes was “The Jelly Cake”.

While eating this Recipe I hunger for you to feel the love and satisfaction of a kid again for just a brief moment, relax and indulge in the sweetness💋

Here is a Sweet Poem-

fact or fictionrecipehumanity
18

About the Creator

HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)

Welcome to “My Public Diary “🤪💖

Your Mind is

A Wonderland of

Your Imagination

Make it Beautiful!

🎉I am an Actor, Model, Writer, and Entrepreneur ❤️❤️🙏

Send Tip$🍀 ❤️😉Send Hearts and Add insights if you'd like 😍 ✨💯😉❗

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    You have accomplished your mission. This was a wonderful, heart-warming story! 💗

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Aww... this was such a sweet & beautiful story! Sorry 4 your loss... I've got to try this one day! It sounds delicious! This is a wonderful entry lil bro! BRAVO!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Sweet!!! Sweet!!! Sweet!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Catherine Nyomenda7 months ago

    I'm drooling 😋😋😋😋

  • I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 Jelly Cake seems so wonderful! I gotta try it!

  • Shirley Belk7 months ago

    I am a grandma and I hope my grands love me and my treats as much as you loved your Grandma and that Jelly Cake!

  • Lynn Jordan7 months ago

    I was very close to my Nana and miss her terribly. This made me think of her and the meals we made and shared together. Thank you!

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    What a lovely story this is Lonzo. Grandmas are the best. So sorry she is gone to rest away from you. Your memories are precious. You shared them so well. Thank you.

  • Such a warm, sweet memory. For me it was always playing Canasta with my grandmother after Saturday orchestra rehearsal. Thank you for sharing this with us.

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    Loving the picture of the house. It’s so storybook like and gives me a sense of home. 🩵👏🏼

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Mmm! Jelly cake. Sorry for your loss. My condolences. Not sure if I’ve ever had apple jelly 🧐. Do you still make it? And loved your entry. The parts about best friends rang true to me. 💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.