Feast logo

Fall Must-Have Recipe: Beef Stew

I don't even like cooking, but I'd make this again.

By Tati MarshallPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo found on Pinteres

I'll be honest, I hate cooking. So me writing this is a huge shock to myself and all of my friends and family. Here are some of the reasons that cooking is not my favorite thing to do.

I hate the preparation, the waiting, and the worst part is the clean up.

This past fall, I had this sudden urge to cook beef stew. Maybe it was the fall weather or the nostalgic feeling of the warm beef stew I would have at home with my family. I don't know what the reason was but I felt like I couldn't get beef stew off my mind. So naturally, I scoured the internet as one always does, for a great recipe and I found one on Pinterest! It was so good and hearty that my boyfriend and I ate the whole thing in the span of 2 days! The flavors of this stew were just so powerful that my taste buds were singing, and my stomach was just as happy.

I will warn you, I am not by any means a chef, so finding something that was easy to make was a miracle that didn't require a lot of effort was a miracle. So Pinterest, I am thankful for you.

Also, major bonus points, I barely had to do anything besides throwing it in the crock-pot. The clean-up for this was honestly effortless.

Below is the breakdown of all of the ingredients that you would need:

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

1 pound beef stewing meat, trimmed into inch cubes

5 teaspoons vegetable oil

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1 cup red wine (Winter’s Reserve, Samuel Robert Winery Pinot Noir, also GREAT for drinking 10/10 recommend) - Sidebar, if you have a Total Wine near you, they will definitely have it! But honestly, any red wine would suffice.

3 1/2 cups beef broth

2 bay leaves

1 medium onion (chopped)

5 medium carrots peeled and sliced (I bought pre-made sliced carrots, because once again, I AM NOT A CHEF and it worked just as well if I applied myself to cut the carrots myself.)

2 Large baking potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/4 inch cubes

2 teaspoons salt

One mistake I did make while gathering all of my ingredients for the recipe was buying them at target. I went for several things and ended up coming out with a month's supply of other unnecessary items I wouldn't need.

Once I returned with my ingredients, I instantly got to work on creating the stew. The first thing I did was brown the beef. If you’re a non-cooker like I am, it’s basically partially cooking the beef. And if you have thick beef, consider using a meat pounder to soften it up just a bit.

Once the beef is thoroughly browned, I started throwing all of the other ingredients into a mixing bowl and swirled it all together before throwing everything in the crockpot.

Finally, after placing the items in the mixing bowl into the crockpot, set it to low for 8 hours. Honestly, this was a lifesaver since I did this first thing in the morning and was able to have it cook throughout the day while I was at work. Although, if you’re in a pinch and need the stew faster than 8 hours time, I would suggest having the crockpot set to high for 2 and 1/2 hours. It'll taste just as good as if you were cooking it for 8 hours.

This stew honestly gave me everything I needed, sustenance, a small taste of wonderful memories, and an easy clean-up! Everything I could ask for and then some.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Tati Marshall

Turning Matcha into Creativity, One Sip at a Time

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.