Feast logo

Confused on National Apricot Day (January 9th)

Do I make salsa, relish, or chutney with my Apricots?

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
6

Wow! I never knew there was a National Apricot Day. Did you? But apparently, there is. Sadly...apricots also have to vie for their day in the spotlight, along with hot air balloons, shopping for travel, static electricity, and law enforcement. I kid you not! Open this link to find out more or to get a prompt for writing:

The article goes on to say, "Apricot lovers from all over the United States observe National Apricot Day every year on January 9th."

A) I question my actual love for apricots.

B) I have never had one single conversation with ANYONE in my sixty-nine years on this planet that involved "apricots."

C) I have never heard of anybody "observing" a day set aside for any fruit, much less an apricot.

This assessment was done with all fairness to fruit and no bias has been intended. (My disclaimer.)

Now, it just so happens that I have an overabundance of canned apricots in my kitchen pantry. (I've been known to stock up on manager specials at the supermarket.) This should be a clue as to how popular apricots rank, by the way.

At the time of reaching for the cans, I had envisioned making a type of sweet turnover pastry. But, after careful consideration, concluded that it would be too messy with flour and not sweet enough to satisfy the palettes of my sons. So, I quickly ixnayed that idea. After all, peaches and apples fit that bill better.

So, I have come up with the idea to make homemade apricot salsa. So I googled. Well, that led me down a rabbit hole. Would it be better as a relish or a chutney? And what exactly is the difference in those three mixtures?

According to these wonderful articles:

Chutneys are a vinegar based condiment. They contain chopped fruit or vegetables, spices, sugar and sometimes flavor enhancers such as garlic. The cooking process often involves simmering the ingredients down to a thick, jam-like consistency... a delightful accompaniment to main dishes, chutneys elevate the taste of grilled meats. They are also wonderful partners for bread, crackers, and cheese, making them a versatile addition to any mealtime, with thick, jam-like consistency.

Salsa, is a mixture of fresh vegetables including tomatoes, onions, chili peppers, jalapeño peppers, garlic, lime juice, cilantro and other herbs...served as a dip with crunchy tortilla chips or used to crown tacos, burritos, and grilled meats...often cooked by charring vegetables, then crushed up.

Relish is a delightful concoction made from a medley of chopped vegetables or fruits that are either pickled, cooked, or served raw. The preparation of relish typically involves blending vegetables or fruits with vinegar, sugar, and an array of spices. The most popular variants include cucumber relish, pickle relish, and tomato relish (commonly known in the South as "chow-chow.") Relishes complement an assortment of dishes, from juicy hot dogs and succulent burgers to delightful sandwiches and tender grilled meats.

*https://www.greedygourmet.com/this-vs-that/chutney-vs-salsa/#:~:text=Chutneys%20are%20a%20vinegar%20based,juice%2C%20cilantro%20and%20other%20herbs.

*https://www.coeurdexocolat.com/whats-the-difference-between-relish-salsa-and-chutney#:~:text=Relish%20adds%20a%20delightful%20crunch,diverse%20flavors%20of%20South%20Asia.

Having spent over twenty years in Texas, and having had more than my fair share of salsa and chips, I have opted for the making of Apricot Salsa. I can char vegetables (slightly burning.) No problem there.

Char vegetables how to and recipe: http://www.agoldenafternoon.com/?s=charred+tomato+and+apricot+salsa

But I will make it only mildly hot and leave the cilantro out. I am one of those people that recognize the taste of cilantro as that of overpowering minty soap. "Many people have no idea that this leafy green herb can cause such repulsion, much to the chagrin of those who find it foul. For some, cilantro tastes like soap. To others, it can taste like stink bugs, dirt, or — if they’re feeling really dramatic – anarchy, pure evil, or the plague." https://blog.23andme.com/articles/cilantro-love-hate-genetic-trait

But, yeah for Apricots...and I just realized I am no longer an apricot conversation virgin...I'll let you know how the salsa turns out!

recipehow to
6

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Staringale4 months ago

    Reading this post I came to know that there was a day reserved for Apricots that was surprising. The saying ''You learn something new everyday' came true for me. Your engaging reflection on this discover and the subsequent plan to make homemade apricot salsa enticed me to try it out to. You left me curious about the outcome of the apricot salsa, eagerly waiting for an update. By the way, many thanks for subscribing.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    We eat a dried apricot most mornings (its become a kind of "breakfast pudding" for the kids), but I am not sure conversations about who wants and apricot count. I am pretty sure I have asked if fruit on a tree are plums or apricots before?

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    I am a grocer and even I can't remember having a conversation about apricots beyond where's the jam for sticking marzipan to the top of my Xmas cake. 🤣🙈 Funny and informative. I really want to know how the salsa turns out. Intriguing!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    This just made me cycle all the way through 😁🤣

  • Oooo, I learned a new word, ixnayed! I've never heard it before! Let us know how the salsa turns out!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I love apricot jam. It's my fave. Can I just say, I love your disclaimer? Made me laugh!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.