Feast logo

My Summer Go-to Recipe

for a sweet, light dessert from a Southern Queen

By Shirley BelkPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2
The Queen of Her Castle

We live in the South. It's summertime. Enough said. Did you already get a picture of the blaring heat and humidity that makes you lose your mind and want to slap somebody silly? Well, you would if you lived in north Louisiana during those long, hot summer months with absolutely no air to breathe. And who wants to eat under those conditions? Nobody! So I knew I would have to come up with something that kept my family cool on the inside, their sweet tooth satisfied, and their mouths full. (We avoid hangry to keep the slapping down to a minimum.)

Don't Be Hangry

Everybody knows that barbeque is an essential to southern palates...it doesn't matter what kind of meat: beef, pork, chicken, deer, alligator, racoon, or a combination thereof. Just making a disclaimer...I have never eaten any racoon, but I do know people that have. I know it's a labor of love to grill in the blazing heat of Louisiana, but it's a sacrifice most folks are willing to make for a worthy and satisfying outcome. Admittedly, it is kind of heavy on the stomach, so light is the key for the rest of the plate ensemble.

Stuffed Banana Peppers

And what goes with that scrumptious, mouth-watering meat? Baked beans or even better, Cowboy Beans, Corn on the Cob, Potato Salad, Cole Slaw, Stuffed Banana Peppers, and never to be excluded or to run out of... Sweet Tea! I use a lot of vegetables straight out of my garden, too. There is nothing like the taste of fresh veggies.

Cowboy Beans...replace the pintos with canned baked beans and it is done less than 1 hour

But now, let's talk about my take on a great dessert...or you can call it salad...that way you can eat your dessert first, if you like. Sometimes my family just plops a little bit of my "Southern Not-so Ambrosia" on the side of their main plate and eats a little bite along with the main course. After all, they are eating on hefty dixie-like plates anyway and have room. Mostly, when they do that, the real reason is they just don't want this delicacy to be all gone when they get ready for some.

Warning: It goes fast!

Southern-Style Eatery
A Large Tub of Any Yogurt...consider your fruit when choosing, though

My recipe for "Southern Not-so Ambrosia" calls for the following ingredients:

* YOGURT see above...(I like the thicker Greek ones the best)

*A large tub of Cool-Whip (doesn't matter what brand)

*A small bag of Mini-Marshmallows (They could be plain or multi-colored fruity ones)

*A well-drained, large or 2 smaller cans of any fruit or fruit-cocktail (softer fruits are the best) You could also used sliced bananas, fresh peaches or pears. I also like to add some of those cute and sweet mandarin oranges. (Hint: I take out the hard fruit in the cocktail mix)

*Coconut is good, (but optional) as would be finely-chopped pecans/walnuts

***Just mix your ingredients and chill in the refrigerator***

My personal favorite is when I use peach/vanilla yogurt and peaches, but strawberry yogurt with thinly-sliced bananas is also delicious. I did blueberry yogurt with fruit cocktail and it was a winner, too. So many ways to delight your family and so very easy to make. If you make this recipe, please drop me a note in comments and let me know how you liked it!

My recipe will look something like this one

Eating good food makes my family happy. It's one of our love languages. I love to cook for them, too. I keep a lot of plastic containers to send left-overs home with for my grown children. One day, when I'm gone, I hope they remember the good times we've all had with family meals. I hope it makes them smile and want to go make my "Southern not-so Ambrosia," in my memory. And I hope they will all try to out-love one another. (Especially in the summertime when it's hot, humid, and they get hangry!)

Until then, let's eat!

From Queen Shirley

recipe
2

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.