Feast logo

Chicken and Veggie Soup Recipe

For those cold winter nights or when you're feeling under the weather or if you just like soup.

By Shasta ScottPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Chicken and Veggie Soup Recipe
Photo by sunorwind on Unsplash

For those of you like myself, soup can be either a seasonal comfort or a necessity when I am sick. In my opinion, soup is one of the most versatile dishes out there. You can choose between tomato with grilled cheese, baked potato with bacon bites, cheese, and chives, broccoli and cheddar, tom kha gai (coconut soup), chicken noodle, vegetable, and so much more. Every time I make soup it's like a culinary freedom where I can throw whatever I have into a pot and make something delicious. Zuppa Toscana from the Olive Garden and Tom Kha Gai are two of my favorite soups that, thanks to technology, have been recipes I have gotten to explore and rather enjoyed. I was known as the "sick/broken" child in my family. Always breaking bones or getting sick, a cold could honestly have taken me out, at least that's how it felt.

Because of this, I felt like it was important for me to learn how to make some of my favorite soups and recipes that would help keep me healthy and feeling good even when I don't feel 100%. This soup recipe won't cure the COVID-19 virus, but recipes like this give me comfort in knowing that when I am unwell and have no one to care for me, I can take care of myself given the tools needed to do so.

Below are the ingredients and steps to creating a chicken and veggie soup. It's nothing super fancy. My friends mother once told me, the most simple base for any soup is celery, carrot, and onion and she was absolutely correct. Her words ring in my ears every time I go to make my next soup creation and for that I am forever grateful!

This recipe can easily be modified for vegetarians and vegans by substituting vegetable broth and tofu in place of the chicken broth and shredded chicken and you can always add mushroom and other vegetables. Like I said before, soup is versatile, there are hundreds if not thousands of combinations and when you are doing it on your own, not following a recipe, you will find you have made a completely new creation every single time. That, to me, is the best part about cooking. Sometimes you create something amazing and the next time it's terrible. It's all trial and error so just have fun with it and enjoy making something you like.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups chopped/diced Celery
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped/diced Carrot
  • 1 chopped/diced Sweet Yellow Onion
  • 2 Tbsp Vegetable Oil
  • 7 cups Water
  • 7 Chicken Bouillon Cubes
  • 12 ounces of Shredded Chicken
  • 1 1/2 cups Red Lentils
  • 1/2 tsp Fish Sauce
  • 5-10 Ritz Crackers

***Chicken bouillon cubes and water can be substituted for chicken broth or any broth you would rather use. Just be sure it equates to 7 cups of broth.

***Can be served with your choice of cracker or dinner roll or croissant. Use what you have available to you.

Seasonings (Optional/To Taste)

  • Salt
  • Lemon Pepper
  • Minced Garlic
  • Garlic Powder
  • Turmeric Powder
  • Ground Ginger
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Paprika
  • Red Pepper Flakes

Prep

  1. Start by preparing a marinade for your chicken. I marinated mine for 30 minutes in the refrigerator, covered in serran wrap, with salt, lemon pepper, garlic powder, paprika, and red pepper flakes.
  2. Next, dice and chop your celery, carrots and onion.
  3. In a large pot, add 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil and add your celery and carrots. Cover with a lid and let simmer on medium heat, on the stove, for 10-15 minutes or until almost tender.
  4. Preheat your oven to 350º Fahrenheit.
  5. Add your onion and minced garlic to your celery and carrots. I used dried minced garlic but you can use minced garlic from a jar or freshly mince your own. Cover and continue simmering on medium heat until onions are almost translucent, another 10-15 minutes.
  6. Once your oven is preheated, place your chicken, uncovered, for 15-20 minutes. The chicken will continue to cook in the soup once it's added, the oven bake is just to start the initial process of cooking, the chicken be a little underdone before adding to the soup. It'll be okay!
  7. Once your celery, carrot, and onion mixture is almost ready add you seasonings to taste. I listed above all the seasonings I chose for this soup, you can substitute for your taste preference or use what you have on hand.
  8. Next, add your water, red lentils, fish sauce and chicken bouillon cubes. If you are using a pre-made broth be sure to follow the directions listed on the product. Broths from a can usually call for water while cartons of broth can normally be used on their own, no water necessary.
  9. Stir and allow water to come to boil then reduce heat to medium-low heat and simmer slightly.
  10. Once chicken is ready, remove from oven. Using 2 spoons or 2 forks or a combination of the two, shred the chicken. If you prefer cubed chicken you can dice your chicken to the thickness you prefer, shredding the chicken allows for more chicken throughout the soup and smaller, easier to consume pieces.
  11. Once all ingredients are combined, taste the broth, then season to adjust taste level to your preference. Add more red pepper flakes for more heat.
  12. Allow soup to cook on low heat for at least 30 minutes to 1 hour to ensure all ingredients are cooked thoroughly. Serve with your choice of bread, cracker, croissant, whatever you like, and enjoy!

***Can be stored in air-tight containers as leftovers in either the fridge or the freezer. Keeps for about a week in the fridge and about 2-4 months in the freezer (possibly longer).

***Makes 7-8 servings and comes in at about 200 calories per serving.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.