Feast logo

Calm Down With Lentils

Eat For A Retreat ...

By Ashley TerrellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Calm Down With Lentils
Photo by Betty Subrizi on Unsplash

Before embarking on my foodie journey, I was employed at a law firm. The assistant for one of the [lead] attorneys uses to work in my department. She was very young looking for the age of 50 - firm skin, tight bodily figure, courtesy of her vegan diet and lifestyle.

I remember listening to her tell me how she prepared her vegan meals. One day, she surprised me with some of her vegan-style chili to try. As a semi-vegetarian, I've never been reluctant to try new things.

However, this was my first time trying vegan-style chili. I didn't know what to expect in the microwavable bowl filled with a vegan mystery.

"Would she use more pinto beans for protein?" I asked myself. "Would she use three different types of legumes? Did she use beef crumbles?"

At this point, my inquiring mind wanted to see with my eyes and smell with my nose my fellow co-worker's vegan masterpiece.

I opened the lid to discover her vegan-style chili did have pinto beans and black beans - accompanied with stewed tomatoes ... and lentils.

"What the heck are lentils?" I asked myself, again.

As I tried to disguise my vain interest in the vegan-style chili, I'm more interested in know what are these little rabbit-like pellets are in her dish?

I kindly thanked her, warmed the vegan-style chili, and went back to my desk.

I choose to eat what was in my emergency desk cabinet instead.

I like to know what I'm consuming, including the health benefits foods provide.

By Frédéric Dupont on Unsplash

Lentils belong to the legume family, offering a variety of colorful lentils. For instance, yellow and red lentils supply sweet and nutty flavors. Green lentils offer hints of peppery and earthly notes.

The brown lentils, known as French lentils, are commonly eaten. My co-worker used brown lentils in her chili.

Known as 'Food of the Year' by the United Nations, lentils offer an abundance of antioxidant properties, like polyphenols, anti-diabetic, anti-obesity, and hypolipidemic.

Lentils are a great source of antioxidants, anti-inflammatory, and neuroprotective properties.

Calm down with lentils.

I've enjoyed foods more when I know eating them will calm my nerves.

Studies showed lentils can reduce blood pressure, blood cholesterol, and blood glucose.

A 2019 study published in the Journal of the American Heart Association showed participants who ate healthful foods, such as lentils, lowered risks of cardiovascular disease.

Another 2019 study of about 14,000 participants saw a reduction in gestational diabetes.

Tube studies showed lentils have the advantage to cease cell cancer growth.

By Ella Olsson on Unsplash

Lentils are low in calories.

Lately, I've been adding different protein alternatives that are low in calories so I can feel fuller without the worry of spiking my bad cholesterol and glucose levels.

Luckily, lentils are both.

As my co-worker explained to me, lentils are vegetarian-friendly and high in fiber.

She instructed me to soak lentils overnight prior to cooking. "Treat lentils like beans - soak them," she advised.

I've enjoyed eating lentils over jasmine rice. It's a nice balance of earthly flavor, texture, and packed with protein.

This simple dish makes it easy to skip the chicken [or beef] at the dinner table.

My lentil recommendations for beginners...

If you're looking for an easy introduction at the dinner table, try adding lentils to your favorite salad.

You can also add lentils to your stews, soups, and chili doubling as a thickener. Add lentils in whole or puree them.

Switch it up on alfredo night using lentil-based pasta!

Did you know?

One cup of lentils has at least 20 grams of protein, seven milligrams of iron, 10 grams of fiber, 35 grams of calcium, and 71 milligrams of magnesium.

Which ways do you add lentils to your meal plan?

What type of lentil do you prefer beginners to try?

organic
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Terrell

Bestselling author. Entrepreneur. Seasonings and spices saved my life. Where sheep and angels share the same color. Newport News, VA. Conqueror and lover of all things Fine Arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.