Families logo

Voldemort's Rules

Why I left home.

By Guenneth SpeldrongPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Voldemort's Rules
Photo by Chaz McGregor on Unsplash

Lori was really the only mom I knew. My mother was more my child than my mother, after all. I spent more time with this woman than anyone else, and this is a glimpse into what it was like.

Lori's rules for me:

1- eat very little. No seconds, period. Skip meals sometimes. Because I was fat.

2- do the dishes for everyone every day. If I didn't do it perfectly I was evil.

3- bake cookies when the boys ask me to. I wasn't allowed to eat them.

4- no friends allowed over.

5- clean her room and bathroom once a week. If I left even on hair I was trying to ruin her life and/or marriage. It would take hours.

6- vacuum all 3 levels of the house twice a week, more as needed. If the lines weren't perfect I would have to do it again. It would take hours.

7- sweep and mop twice a week, more as needed. If there was one spot I was doing it on purpose so she would yell at me and I would be able to play the victim. It would take hours.

8- no baths only showers. She knew I loved baths.

9- every gift I received was to be given to her or her boys. I wasn't allowed to spend money. She kept my allowance and spent it on her and her boys.

10- not allowed to talk to or ask about my dad.

11- not allowed to talk to my sisters or any other family members.

12- I had to walk to school while everyone else got a ride. I was not allowed to walk to school or home with any friends, or take a different route.

13- no phone calls.

14- could not shut my bedroom door.

15- could not visit friends at their homes, or attend birthday parties.

16- could not pick out my own clothes, and had very little clothes to wear. All clothes she gave me were itchy and tight and uncomfortable.

17- exercise for an hour every day, but only if I did not like the type of workout.

18- had to comfort her when she was sad.

19- 2-3 hours of homework every night. In grade school.

20- keep the girls and the boys bathrooms clean. Sometimes that meant being slapped awake and forced to clean a mirror while she screamed and laughed at me.

21- spray my shoes with a foul smelling spray so people made fun of me and didn't want me around.

22- sit still and not speak while she mocked me, burned my head, called me names, lied to others about me, or just being yelled at for no reason.

23- don't cry.

24- don't read what I want to read, only what she tells me to read.

25- no questions.

26- no birthdays/ birthday presents.

27- oh right dusting. I could not leave one speck of dust or I was the devil.

28- no toys.

29- not allowed to sit on most furniture. Only

allowed occasionally when dad was home.

30- not allowed to smile, talk, or laugh.

Punishments for breaking rules:

1- grounded FROM my room.

2- grounded from the living room, kitchen, dining room, basement, outside. I sat on the stairs.

3- the boys got to bite me, sit on me, sit on my, or otherwise hurt me.

4- no food.

5- all my possessions taken away, and only allowed a blanket. Clothes had to be checked out.

6- slapped, punched, things thrown at me, burned.

7- my sisters or father would be punished.

8- laughed at, ridiculed, mocked.

9- not allowed to sleep.

10- not allowed in the house.

valuessiblingsparentslistimmediate familyhumanitygriefextended familydivorcedchildren
Like

About the Creator

Guenneth Speldrong

Hello there. I write things. Sometimes good things. Mostly, I write to find myself. If I can entertain you in the process, then that's just the derivative icing on the proverbial cake!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.