Families logo

Pancakes at Midnight

How a Midnight Snack Changed My Relationship With My Youngest Child.

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 11 months ago 3 min read
19
Pancakes at Midnight
Photo by Edson Saldaña on Unsplash

Have you ever wanted a midnight snack and had nothing to snack on because you haven't gone grocery shopping yet? This happened one Friday night to me and my youngest child, Elliott (they/them).

Elliott is fourteen years old, which is a rough time for kids. Elliott decided to change their pronouns to they/them about a year ago. They are not sure yet, but they think they may be trans. They are just trying to find out who they are, and much like me, they shut down instead of talking about their feelings or thoughts. (That is why I write about them). Getting them to open up is difficult. Here is where the midnight pancakes come in.

As I mentioned, one Friday night, we were both still awake around eleven forty-five, and the munchies kicked in. We hadn't gone shopping yet. While searching the cabinets, Elliott found the pancake mix. They grabbed the pancake mix, and we both looked at each other. They cracked a little smile, so I said, "Let's do it!" As we were getting the ingredients and mixing them, it was like Elliott's guard came down. As we started cooking them on the griddle, they brought up a scary movie they wanted to see. We were both still wide awake, so we decided to watch it after the pancakes.

While we were cooking them on the griddle, they started discussing counseling and how they didn't know if the counselor was a good match. They talked about their mom and the difficulties they were having in their relationship. By then, the pancakes were done, and we sat down to eat. Just Elliott and I-everyone else was sleeping.

We continued to talk while we were eating. We talked about funny stories and jokes we had heard. They showed me funny memes that they had saved on their phone. We laughed and talked the entire time. We finished our midnight pancakes and then started to clean up. The conversation became serious. They opened up and started talking about all the negative feelings they were having. They spoke about how their mother doesn't accept them and makes them feel like they are a disappointment. We moved the conversation into the living room. They broke down in tears, so I hugged them. They collapsed into my arms and just cried. I cried too, simply because my child was hurting. After a few minutes, they had calmed down, and we put on the movie we had decided on. I couldn't concentrate on the movie. My head was spinning, trying to figure out how to help. The only thing I could come up with was to make sure they knew that I loved them, no matter what and that I always will. When the movie ended, they hugged me goodnight and said, " I love you, Dad. I told them I loved them and that no matter what, I always will. They said I know, and went to bed.

That night has stayed with me. It has been almost a year since our midnight pancakes, but we have had talks like that since. It was a turning point in our relationship. Up until then, they were daddy's little girl. Our relationship had to change from that; they weren't daddy's little girl anymore. It wasn't easy to get used to, but we have forged a new relationship and have had many more discussions. We talk about big ideas and spirituality. We laugh at silly jokes. We talk on the phone at least once a week. When they are upset or struggling emotionally, they reach out to me now. When we are around groups of people, if their anxiety flares up, they know to find me, and we talk it out.

I learned some things that night. I learned that those times when everyone is asleep except the two of us (We are both night owls) are a big opportunity for them to have all of my attention. I learned that it isn't what material things you can do for your child. Sometimes, all they need is our undivided attention with an ear to listen. I learned that sometimes you can't fix everything, but you can let them know you are always there and they don't have to go through it alone. It turns out the old saying "the way to a man's heart is through his stomach" may have some truth to it.

I strongly recommend pancakes at midnight, simply for the discussions to be had. That has worked for us. What are your pancakes at midnight?

Thank you for reading my work! I appreciate every read and every comment. If you would like to read more of my work, it can be found here:

parentslgbtqhumanitychildren
19

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah Danaher3 months ago

    It is always good to listen and good story.

  • Ghulam Fayyaz5 months ago

    love to eat Midnight Snack as usual

  • Paul Levinson6 months ago

    That photo made me hungry, and the text that followed was sage.

  • Test8 months ago

    I'm writing my little blurb on you Jim and I'm finding your work so delightful. From a formerly confused queer kid who eventually found themselves to your sweet Elliot, it gets easier and better. Never perfect, but they will find their people. They've got a great dad who obviously loves and accepts them, and that's not the end all and be all, but it sure as hell helps. Sending both you and Elliot my love.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    I really liked this earnest and empathetic reflection. They’ve a great dad - one that can listen like that and WANT to make things better. ☺️

  • Oneg In The Arctic10 months ago

    This is so sweet and earnest. I’m glad you both got to share in each others’ space and moment like that- it’s really special

  • I'm so sorry their mother isn't as accepting as you are of them. I can only imagine how heartbreaking it must be for them. So glad you had the midnight pancake talk with them!

  • Ash Digest11 months ago

    This is really touching and thank you for being such a good and supportive parent to your child, it really means a lot to be able to read such wholesome content as a genderfluid person who barely has any supporting relatives.

  • I hope they know that there are a whole lot of them out there who can't wait to get to know them. So thankful for pancakes.

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    This is one of those gems of a story that comes around every great once in a while. So glad I stumbled upon it. Thank you for sharing and caring for your family.

  • Amazing story! Thanks for sharing!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful story, Jim! Thank you so much for sharing! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Beautiful story of a wonderful father and child relationship moment. Thank you for.

  • Antoinette L Brey11 months ago

    I am sure Elliot treasured the moment as well , alot of parents don't listen and give support

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    I'm so glad you have each other! It's wonderful to see a child and parent so in sync! Great work Jim!😊

  • This is absolutely beautiful Jim. You are a wonderfully compassionate soul and it shows in your writing. Great job!!!

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    I’m so glad for you and Elliott. Our version was good long rides in the car.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    This brought me to tears. What a beautiful story to share. It most definitely is those moments spent together that make all the difference. Mine are often in car rides or in the kitchen making late night cookies. Something about late night talks, I dunno. Thank you again for sharing this :)

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Beautiful and very heartwarming I love this and that you shared it! 💕💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.