Families logo

I'm the Villian in his history.

When trying isn't enough.

By Nat Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
I'm the Villian in his history.
Photo by Yiran Ding on Unsplash

If you would ask my father who ruined his life, His children would be his answer. I never understood how children can ruin a grown man's life. Almost 25 years later, he wants to come back to my life. I look at my father, knowing I never want to be like him. He looks at me thinking the same and his father looked at his father thinking the same. it's sickening to think about actually. I am terrified of becoming my father; sometimes it's easier to act as though I already am instead of fighting. I'm so tired of fighting.

My biological father was never an easy person to get along with. My father and I share the same anger. I can hold a grudge like it's a hand. So when my Father told me that my siblings and I were the one thing that ruined his life, I was pissed. I don't think anger is the right word. It was more than that. Maybe he had a point, he was always angry now I'm always angry. My father could have been gentle. He could have been kinder. He could have held his tongue and his fist. So when a family member mentioned that I have my father's anger, it made sense. He is one of the angriest people I have ever met. I've been told that I am very much like him, and I get scared of it. Rage is the one thing I got from my father. When I get mad I get very mad and say things that I don't mean. In my head, there is no such thing as a little. it's all or nothing. All-or-nothing thinking is very common in my family. There is a trail of anger flowing through my bloodline, from my great-grandfather to my grandfather to my father to me.

I begged him to want me but he didn't want to. I had to pick myself up where he abandoned me. Whenever a man yells, I feel like I am an infant again and being left again. I thought that if I piled something good on all my ba, II could cancel out all the darkness I inherited from my father. For a man with that much hate in their heart, something else must be going on.

Sometimes you have to be someone's villain just to earn a little bit of peace. So I took the money he gave me and never went back. The people who meant the most to me no longer know what to say. I looked around and I saw something my dad couldn't take away. When in relationships and we argue. I forget that he ain't him and I ain't her. When I think fighting ends with pain. I wanna prove myself wrong but I'm scared I'll prove them right. I think that if my father weren't my father, he would be one of the men he hates; he is faithless and narcissistic. The rage is the one thing I got from my father. I don't know where to put the anger anymore. My words shoot to kill when I'm angry. I have a lot of regret about that. I look at my bio parents knowing I never want to be like them and they look at their parents thinking the same thing. it's sickening to think about actually. I am so terrified of becoming my father that sometimes it's easier to act as though I already have so I can stop fighting. I am not the kid my bio parents wanted and it took me years to try to live with that it's sad but there is nothing I can do about it.

valuessinglesiblingsparentsimmediate familyhumanitygriefchildrenadviceadoption
Like

About the Creator

Nat

She/her/hers

writing about adoption, mental health, and chronic Illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.