Families logo

How I found relief from psoriatic arthritis back pain with red light therapy

By Jin Brown

By stay healthyPublished 7 months ago 4 min read

I have been living with psoriatic arthritis (PsA) for over 10 years. PsA is a type of inflammatory arthritis that affects some people who have psoriasis, a chronic skin condition that causes red patches and scales. PsA can cause pain, stiffness, and swelling in any joint of the body, but it often affects the spine, especially the lower back and the sacroiliac joints (where the spine meets the pelvis).

My back pain is one of the most challenging and frustrating symptoms of PsA. It interferes with my daily activities, sleep quality, mood, and overall well-being. Some days, I can barely get out of bed or sit for more than a few minutes. Other days, I feel a sharp, stabbing pain that radiates down my legs or up my spine. My back feels stiff, tight, and tender, and sometimes I can see the psoriasis lesions on my skin near the affected joints.

I have tried many ways to manage my condition and reduce my back pain, such as taking medications, applying heat or cold therapy, doing gentle exercises and stretches, getting enough rest and sleep, and practicing stress management and relaxation techniques. These strategies help to some extent, but they are not enough to relieve my pain completely or prevent it from coming back. I often feel hopeless and helpless, wondering if I will ever find a lasting solution.

How I discovered red light therapy and why it works

One day, I came across an article online that mentioned red light therapy (RLT) as a possible treatment for PsA back pain. I was intrigued and curious, so I decided to do some research and learn more about it.

RLT is a form of alternative medicine that uses low-level wavelengths of red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular processes and promote healing. RLT is also known as photobiomodulation, low-level laser therapy, or cold laser therapy.

RLT has been shown to have various benefits for skin health, wound healing, hair growth, and pain relief. RLT works by penetrating the skin and reaching the mitochondria, the energy-producing organelles of the cells. RLT can increase the production of adenosine triphosphate (ATP), the molecule that fuels cellular activities. RLT can also modulate the levels of reactive oxygen species (ROS), the molecules that cause oxidative stress and inflammation. By enhancing cellular energy and reducing inflammation, RLT can help repair damaged tissues and relieve pain.

RLT might be especially helpful for people with PsA back pain, as it can target the underlying causes of the condition. RLT can reduce the inflammation and swelling in the joints, as well as improve the blood flow and oxygen delivery to the affected areas. RLT can also stimulate the production of collagen and elastin, the proteins that provide structure and elasticity to the skin and connective tissues. RLT can help heal the psoriasis lesions and prevent further skin damage.

How I use red light therapy at home and what results I have seen

I was impressed by the scientific evidence and testimonials of RLT, so I decided to give it a try. I bought a led red therapy wrap online, which is a flexible, adjustable, and portable device that can wrap around my waist and deliver RLT to my lower back and sacroiliac joints. The belt is easy to use and comfortable to wear, and it allows me to move freely and conveniently while receiving the treatment.

I use the belt for 15 minutes every day, usually in the morning or before bed. The light is painless and soothing, and I can feel a gentle warmth in my back. I have been using the belt for three months now, and I have noticed a significant improvement in my back pain and psoriasis.

My back pain has decreased by more than 50%, and I have fewer and shorter flare-ups. I can do more activities without feeling limited or restricted by my pain. I can also sleep better and feel more refreshed and energized in the morning. My psoriasis lesions have faded and healed, and my skin looks smoother and clearer. I feel more confident and comfortable in my own skin.

I am amazed and grateful for the results of RLT. It has changed my life for the better, and I wish I had discovered it sooner. RLT is not a cure for PsA, but it is a natural and effective treatment that can enhance your overall health and well-being. I highly recommend it to anyone who suffers from PsA back pain or psoriasis, or any other chronic pain or skin condition.

Conclusion

Psoriatic arthritis back pain can be a challenging and frustrating condition to live with, but there is hope and help available. You don’t have to suffer in silence or settle for temporary relief. You can find a lasting solution with red light therapy wraps, a safe, non-invasive, and painless treatment that can address the root causes of the condition and promote healing and recovery. You can try using a red light therapy belt to experience the effects of RLT at home and at your convenience. You are not alone in your journey, and there is always hope and help available.

I hope you enjoyed reading my story and found it informative and helpful. If you have any questions, comments, or feedback, please feel free to share them with me. I would love to hear from you and learn from your experiences. Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day!

parentshumanityhow toadviceadoption

About the Creator

stay healthy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    stay healthyWritten by stay healthy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.