Families logo

How Do You Fall In Love With A GHOST

bo ho booosb

By umer aliPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
How Do You Fall In Love With A GHOST
Photo by Ruan Richard Rodrigues on Unsplash

How Do You Fall In Love With A Ghost?

My time as a ghost is coming to an end soon, but I had to stop at one point to write this piece. The ghost hunter has caught his' mark' and I hope he will continue to keep me company in my life as I fade away to nothingness.

But back to that word, 'falling in love'.

I guess it's the human condition that has evolved and grown through all the long years, all the thousands of years of history and all those thousands of years of DNA, these millions of years that make us who we are and what we are. I do believe that we are all born with an innate love for life. It is a great paradox that even though we die so early, there is always a new beginning, always a new love, always a new beginning of a new chapter.

When I was fifteen years old, my dad lost his job. I remember the two of us arguing. "It's you and I against the world," he used to say. I didn't believe him at all, not even then.

I watched him grow weaker and, at one point, he even gave up fighting, because he knew he was giving up everything for us. His love was fierce, and he didn't hide it. I always loved that about him.

Then he had the misfortune of falling in love with a ghost. A spirit that tortured him until he committed suicide, a soul that passed away but didn't pass away.

What was he to do? In my childhood, I witnessed his best friend commit suicide. He was jealous of his friend's love and watched it go to waste. And my father watched too. I never told my father. I think I learned that lesson myself.

He saw how love was for the strong and I watched him give up on it, it seemed. I watched him stare at my mother, who I believe he loved. He would hold her tight, leaving his own body behind. He did that for me.

I remember all of these and I hope he knows how much he's loved by me. I don't think I've loved a human being so much before. I love him for everything he has done for me and for all the things I have witnessed. My father never ran out of love.

Did you ever wonder how a soul passed away? It's called purgatory, isn't it? I wonder how he landed in the other side. He was always so confident and so firm. He never abandoned anyone.

Does the soul feel the pain we feel? I wonder how the soul can lie when it's done with living? How can we forget a love? Why do we remember someone we lost in the first place? What can we learn from our loved ones? Does a ghost know us or does a ghost only know the memory of his love?

I wonder if he knows what love is. I wonder if he ever saw my father's love. Does a ghost love? Does a ghost even know what love is?

All I know is that I can feel his presence in my life. I can feel his strength. He tries to keep me strong as he fades away, and he tries to help me reach the best version of myself. And I'm forever grateful for that.

I don't think I have ever fallen in love with a human being, but I can say that I have fallen in love with a ghost. I never knew love was as real as it is. I never knew what love was until my father's ghost came into my life. I will miss you Dad. I miss you so much.

I hope you know how much I love you.

how tosocial mediainterviewimmediate familyhumanitygrieffact or fictionextended familydivorcedchildrencelebritiesartadviceadoption

About the Creator

umer ali

You Might Learn A thing or two here

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    umer aliWritten by umer ali

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.