Critique logo

The Lord of the Flies

A 50-word critique

By Judey Kalchik Published 9 months ago 1 min read
20
https://pixabay.com/users/christian_crowd-22911196/

Self-government is so easy even children can do it... on an island...alone. Except.

This little Piggy never came home. 'Simon says' can never happen again and no Herod-ic handwashing can cleanse them from group violence.

With Ralph, we weep for the end of innocence and the darkness of Man's heart.

NovelFiction
20

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Beautiful. I know the content but another classic I’m yet to read! 😊

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Spectacular superb critique!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Phenomenal entry!

  • Forest Green9 months ago

    I read the book and saw the movie in school. Fun times

  • I've not read this but your review was very thought provoking!

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    I have never actually read the book, but the message seems so important!

  • JBaz9 months ago

    A book everyone should read. Glad you chose this to critique, It was perfect.

  • Said the fly to the flea in the flue, "This is gonna get messy!"

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Did not read it until my 30s came around. Golding's best work by far, and I thank you for this!

  • Atomic Historian9 months ago

    Excellent!! I feel like this is a critique of a critique, which is very meta. My understanding is that the book at least is a critique of government. But I only ever watched the movie, when I was much too young to do so

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Excellent critique.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Dayum, as Paul says we 'muricans say! Awesome critique, backed by one of my favorite Don Henley songs! Great job, Judey!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad9 months ago

    Well done, a very poetic take. This book traumatized me a bit in high school…of course, high school seemed to be the time of introducing us to books meant to traumatize us.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Dayum. As some Americans say. This is pure dead brilliant, as Glaswegians say. I say, Dayum, this is pure dead brilliant, because...reasons. Well done, Judey!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.