Critique logo

The Lovely Bones

Spoiler Alert: Alice Sebold's Melting Convictions on Conviction

By Judey Kalchik Published 10 months ago 1 min read
14
https://pixabay.com/users/5598375-5598375/

Debut novel, published 21 years after her rape, punishes uncaught killer with death by icicle. Abrupt, unsatisfying twist, narrated by dead little girl: fictional frozen justice?

Reality is author's actual attacker is still at large; the wrongfully convicted man jailed for 18 years. Was novel's plot actually subconscious melting convictions?

ThemePlot DevelopmentNovelNonfiction
14

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    This was very sad, no justice . Excellent story to critique 👌

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    Oh shoot! I saw the film, but I did not know the real life story. Well done!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Well done, Judey!

  • Questions to ponder. Wrongful convictions are far too common. Interesting, thought-provoking mini-review.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Although I read Lucky and The Lovely Bones and thought they were bold, TLB ending was a bit of a cop-out after everything that came before...Love the idea of these mini critiques

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    Interesting. I haven't read the book or seen the movie and now I don't know if I want to...

  • Jennifer Vasallo 10 months ago

    I love this book, but yes, you are right it was an incredibly unsatisfying ending

  • I'm with Sonia! I'll be trying my hand at a mini-critique or two.

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Love this book and movie. So well done, Judey!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    Lead the way, Judey!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.