Critique logo

An open letter to my friend and soul character, Monica.

Someone who overthinks is also someone who overloves.

By Hridya SharmaPublished 3 days ago 2 min read

An open letter to my friend and soul character, Monica.

Someone who overthinks is also someone who overloves.

Ahh! that quote hitd the heart in the same way cupid strikes his dart. Monica Geller, the super organized, super smart, classy woman, you have always been the backbone of your group, the one whom everyone would turn to when in need, or when they needed a shoulder to cry on. Family is the safe place that shields you from the animosity of the outer world. It helps you build your self-image and creates a sense of belonging.

I knew there may have been times when you would just cry yourself to sleep, when your mother taunted you for everything your existence looked like, or how comments on your weight would have rooted a sense of disbelief in your abilities. But you stood there, looked them right into the eye, and changed yourself.

Not for them, but for yourself.

I want to say I am so damn proud of you. There were times when your brother was loved more than you were, yet your love for him never diminished to even the slightest bit. When you said, “ Am I that hard to live with.” I felt it, I know how it feels when everyone seems to abandon you while you need it the most. And then chandler embraced you and said, “You are one of my favorite people.”

I wish I could say that too. As you walked down the aisle, saying your vows to your prince and your soulmate. And quoted, “ I turned to a friend for comfort and found love that I had looking for my entire life. Made all of us believe that maybe somewhere we would find the rare love too that Monica and Chandler have. I see myself in you, maybe because I care too much, sometimes for the wrong people, and sometimes for things that are not under my control.

But in the end, I have an honest confession to make,

You deserved the love and respect Rachel always got.

As a true friend, you never demanded it.

No matter how much you have been through,

At the end of the day, “ I will be there for you.”

ThemeTelevisionStructureSettingScreenplayRevisionProofreadingPoetryPlot DevelopmentPlayPacingOutlineNovelNonfictionMusicMovieManuscriptFictionFeedback RequestedEssayDraftDialogueCharacter DevelopmentArt

About the Creator

Hridya Sharma

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Hridya SharmaWritten by Hridya Sharma

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.