Criminal logo

The day my life turned upside down

Gonna be a wild ride

By Colin WatkinsPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Driving to do what must be done

when I was a kid all I wanted to do was build. I would take devices apart, put them back together. You could say that it was my thing. In a few years I started helping my dad build. Then as I hit 18 I started working as a subcontractor. Things got tough though in time, I ended up jobless, homeless and I had no money to my name. That’s when I met Jerrico. He told me he would look after me, yea what a load of crap.

One strange morning I awoke to Jerrico blowing up my phone. “SOMEONE STOLE FROM ME AND I NEED YOU TO DEAL WITH IT!” So I replied,” let’s get er done!” Until I realized who the target was..... it was my closest friend from highschool. He had gone in with the wrong crowd, ended up owing a lot of money to the wrong people. I feared for him, I knew what my job was. Deal with assholes that steal or don’t pay up. This guys name is Ronnie. Him and I went back a long was.... grade 2-3 I think.... what do I do? I’m not sure.... that night Jerrico and I were set to deal with Ronnie... as I pulled my gun out of the dresser I shed a tear, is this really what I want to do... I don’t but I have to.... we got to ronnies house, he had barricaded the door... well this is gonna be tough. Jerrico screamed, “ get us in that house or this will be your last day!” I pushed the door open with all my strength. There stood Ronnie. Money in hand... what was I to do. Jerrico shouted, “ shoot this punk!” I pulled my gun up and.... click BOOM

I couldn’t shoot my buddy Ronnie..... I look to my left and Jerrico is paying on the ground. I shot Jerrico. Ah crap..... I just killed the head of a huge crime ring, this wont be good. Ronnie stood in front of me in shock, “what did you do?!?!” He asked. I replied,” I did what I had to!” Instantly we both felt sick to our stomachs. Oh well, we can figure it out, I assumed. “Everything will be fine, help me hide his body and make it look like a robbery.” We quickly hid his body in the bushes, ditched out straps in the back lanes and ran. I’m 18 years of age and just killed a man... this will haunt me for the rest of my life, I was more worried about Ronnie. When we got back to my house I asked Ronnie how much money he had taken. He opened up the duffle bag to reveal 100,00$ in small and large bills. I though quick on my feet. “Alright Ronnie, we are gonna take this money and run! We have to hide Ronnie!” Ronnie replied, “ but where?” Me and my stupid mouth blurred out the first thing that came to mind... “JAMACIA!” I screamed! Ronnie nodded his head and replied, “ I have friends in Jamaica that’s a solid plan we leave tomorrow.”

That night we were falling asleep but I woke to rustling in the bushes. I peered out the window to see nothing.... I turned around and whack! everything when black. I awoke in a warehouse Ronnie tied in a chair beside me. “Stop it stop it I’ll tell you where the money is!” Ronnie was screaming... this large man in a wife beater holding a shotgun walked up to Ronnie, put the barrel of the gun against his head and pulled the trigger.. BANG! There Ronnie sat in his chair lifeless.. the large man turned to me and said,” well look who’s awake, wheres the fucking money and the boss. Don’t tell me he’s dead like this bozo did!” As he put the loaded gun to my dome, I sat and reflected on my life... why didn’t I stay as a subcontractor? Why couldn’t I had just said no to Jerrico now I’m about to die...” I was beat and bruised after about an hour of torture, once again I told them the truth, “THE MONEY IS IN THE TRUCK OF MY CAMARO!” They wouldn’t believe me. “ yea right! Who else do you have involved?” They put the shotgun back against my head. At this point I’m in tears shouting that I didn’t have the money! They wouldn’t listen. All of a sudden like god himself was coming to rescue me I hear tick tick tick. It’s the sound of a flash bang hitting the ground. All of a sudden there was a large flash of light. WHOLLY CRAP THE COPS. What I didn’t tell you in the beginning of the story was I had been asked to go undercover for the police. They had been trying to get Jerrico for 15 years. As the building was flooding with cops. Swat took all the bad men into custody, the lead of the case walked up to me. I think his name was David, or some shit like that.... “ good job Jake, you helped us take down one of the biggest drug rings in Canada... thank you Dave. He snarled at me as if I got his name wrong. “It’s Davis.” Ah shit...

as they untied me and led me out the building I felt relieved, all this was over. The cops never came to collect the money Ronnie stole. Now I was rich. Awesome. I think I’m gonna make another subcontractors company....

Trust me when I say. If you ever get an opportunity like I did, don’t take it. In the end it’s just not worth it. The lying, backstabbing, either things will go very well for you, or you’ll end up like Ronnie. Think your life thru.

The end

mafia
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.