Criminal logo

During The Late Hours..

It was almost 2am when..

By Furqan HaiderPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

It was almost 2am when me and my wife almost started watching Netflix. It was one of the most horrfic night because the serial we were watching was already about a serial killer. You must be thinking I am just faking a story but trust me guys.. I faced this few nights ago and i know how we felt there.

Starting from the beginning, Me and My wife left our country 6 months ago and moved to Iran, Isfahan. We have heard so much about the beauty of Isfahan and decided to move there. In Farsi they call it Isfahan, Nisf e Jahan which means Isfahan is like half of the world. As we arrived in the country, we were in awe of the grandeur of the architecture and the vibrant, colorful markets.

At first, It was difficult to navigate into the city and communicate with the locals but with time, we both became more comfortable with the language and the people. After 20-25 hard days we finally we found a small home to rent and began to explore our surroundings.Most importantly when we were in Pakistan we had certain restrictions on us. Which was part of the Pakistani culture but here we enjoyed going to parks late nights,mix with people with all walks of life and express ourselves with abandon.

As months went by, my spouse and I became more comfortable in our new surroundings and we never looked back. We had found a new home and life in Isfahan, away from the restrictions that were once imposed on us.

Everything was going well until one night me and my wife, were sitting at home snuggled up on the couch and binge watching our favorite Netflix series when we heard a loud bang. It sounded like it came from outside and it was followed by gunfire. My heart raced as we heard more shorts going off. We both jumped up from the couch and rushed to the window peaking out to see what was happening. We could see people running and screaming in the street and there were flashes of light coming from a car parked outside. My wife gasped covering her mouth with her hands. What the hell is going on out there?? she whispered her voice shaking. Fear gripped us and we realized that the gunfire was getting closer we could hear footsteps outside and the sound of glass breaking.

I gained some confidence I don't know from where and I went in the yard. I went close to the door and I saw from the hole of the door that there were two guys shouting and firing towards one particular car. First I was confused that either they were terrorists and they wanted to kill everyone or they had enmity with the car owner I couldn't understand anything. After sometime I heard a woman shouting and ran towards the street shouting and shouting Leave my child alone!! They pointed the gun towards that woman and shouted towards her to go inside. The way that they shouted I understood that they were drunk and they had some problem with that car owner. Luckily there was no one inside that car. My heart beat raced but I couldn't see that woman suffering from all this so I opened my door and shouted towards the woman to come inside. During all this I forgot to call the police but that woman had already called the police. We heard sirens of the police and I got happy but the two guys with guns entered in a car and raced towards the alley and disappeared.

I thought it's finished and the police came. The police officer called me and he was asking me that what happened here and how did the guys look and what car did they have. I was just talking with the police officer when I heard that car racing towards us. There were three cars of police officers and trust me guys all of them Rushed towards the car and shout towards me to run towards my home. But guess what it was too late. The way they raced towards the police I didn't have much time to run towards my home I just ran at the side of the road and guess what? The started firing towards the police and the bullets just crossed front of my eyes. And the guys came out of the car and took cover behind the door of the car and started to fire towards the police. He just killed two policemen in front of me and when he looked towards me I don't know from where he was shot in the head. His friend was shocked and he entered the car and tried to escape but the police had blocked the road from the other side and later on I heard that he was arrested.

While I was typing all the story my hands and fingers were shivering. It was one of the most horrific night in my entire lifetime and that night me and my wife sat together and thank God that we were saved tonight. That night we realized that we left everything behind our family, our country, our people everything! And after so long I called my mom and I cried to her and she gave me patience that it's okay! And from that till now I miss my country everyday.

investigationtravelmafiainterviewinnocenceincarcerationguiltyfact or fictioncartelcapital punishmentbook reviews
Like

About the Creator

Furqan Haider

Far from home.. just trying to empty my heart out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.