Confessions logo

Writing reveals many truths

Some of them are embarrassing and even gross!

By Allison RicePublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Writing reveals many truths
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Writing sometimes reveals unexpected, embarrassing, or personal details that we may be uncomfortable sharing. I’ve run into this several times over the years. That has caused me to avoid writing about certain subjects, and also prompted me to write under a pen name for a long time.

I’m trying to be more transparent, but this effort may need to include putting more distance between my personal social media pages and my “writer” pages. Readers and fans don’t need personal details, and my professional work info is also tied to my personal page. I need to lock some stuff down and work on organizing my work and protecting my privacy to a better degree.

Meanwhile, I’m going to share a rather embarrassing personal situation that has plagued me recently and initiated an increasingly heated rivalry.

We have a rat.

Leastwise, I sincerely hope that we only have ONE rat, and evidence does seem to suggest that there’s not a full infestation, but I’ve seen this rodent. It comes in through the doggie door, then quickly slinks to a comfy and warm spot under the dishwasher.

The night before Christmas, a creature was stirring, and we set traps.

SIX traps.

We put up a gate to prevent the dogs from investigating and being hurt, then set six traps.

Four of them, we parked right in front of the dishwasher where we’ve seen activity.

Notice the trap that doesn't have bait? Yep, that's the one he keeps emptying!

For good measure, we put out two more – one next to the refrigerator, one next to the trash can.

Four nights in a row, my nemesis has stolen the bait from one specific trap. Twice they have snapped the trap while stealing the bait, but I have yet to see evidence of any injury. I don’t even think he’s even winded. I think he’s messing with me. It’s always the SAME trap. Clearly he prefers fresh rat trap bait to the stuff of 4 days ago!

Our uninvited guest has really scored in the Christmas treats department! He's a champion at emptying traps without injury.

Yes, we could get rid of the dog door and likely the entire problem. However, with two older pups at home all day, and with generally mild temperatures in our region, it’s a convenience that I would like to continue to have access to.

Thus, I need to improve my rat-catcher game! Clearly my nemesis enjoys the bait that I’ve put out, he’s just managed to circumvent the trap elements. I need to find something that works better!

Either that, or teach the dogs to open and close the door themselves!

*********************************************************************

Hello, thank you for for your support and readership!

If you enjoyed this piece, there are several ways that you can boost me.

• Subscribe so you don’t miss any of my new work!

• Visit my author page at Medium where you can also subscribe to keep up with my latest writing efforts! https://medium.com/@alliricewriter or https://alliricewriter.medium.com/membership

• Join the party at my personal writer page. Much more content including frequent "DOTES" and random thoughts. https://www.facebook.com/allisonricewrites

• Leave a comment below and let me know what you thought, or engage in the discussion!

• Share it with others – if you like it, they may as well.

• Drop me a heart below. (Requires registering for a free Vocal account.)

• Read some of my other stories here.

• Give me a tip. Completely optional, but so meaningful!

• Tell me that you read something of mine and say how it made you feel!

CONTACT: [email protected]

WorkplaceTabooSecretsHumanityFamilyEmbarrassment
2

About the Creator

Allison Rice

Finalist 2022 V+ Fiction Awards, Allison Rice is a work in progress! Author of 5 previous Top Story honors including “Immigrants Among Us” "Pandemic ABCs" and a piece about Inclusion, Alli is an avid reader, and always has a story to tell!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    I'm lucky we once had a rat on our bin, and I saw a couple in the streets round here. I hope you get on top of it and thanks for sharing. It's also amazing how sometimes six hundred words is a target you will never reach an other times you whizz past it like it;s not there. Great story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.