Confessions logo

Who Am I?

Kayleigh's "Get to Know Me" Challenge.

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago 5 min read
24
Who Am I?
Photo by Felicia Buitenwerf on Unsplash

When I saw this prompt, I was immediately intrigued. I tend to write like an open book, but I'm sure there are some things I have not touched upon that are integral to who I am as a person. I feel this challenge has the potential to be a great community builder and allow us to know more about each other. So, here goes nothing:

  1. My first love was photography. I actually very much intended to work in film because of my love for pictures, but things changed, and I gravitated toward writing. I bought my first DSLR camera after working my first job at a movie theatre. It took me 6 months to save up, and I still own that same camera. Over the years, I've gotten better at photography, and I've collected many lenses to use with the camera body. I do intend on upgrading sometime in the future, but it's an expensive hobby.
Image taken in Western Mass, September 2019.

    2. I collect crystalline minerals and fossils. Not in the "these rocks have magical powers" way, but I do appreciate people who subscribe to that ideology. I just really love the way they look, and I love the history behind them. The way these things form after millions of years in very specific conditions will always be fascinating to me. My first wanna-be occupation was paleontologist, and while I own ammonite and orthoceras fossils, I'd love to expand my collection to include more animal and plant specimens. I also have a few pieces of petrified wood. My big dream would be to own a tried and true dinosaur fossil.

Some mineral specimens on the windowsill in front of my desk.

    3. I've always been a huge fan of music, despite not listening to many artists. I have very peculiar tastes, but when talking about music, I don't want to talk about the musicians I listen to, I want to talk about the instruments I've taught myself how to play. They include guitar, ukulele, kalimba, and most recently, the organ. Ukulele is the instrument that I'm best at; I find the four strings more suitable for my little hands. But guitar was the first instrument I taught myself how to play. My parents could never afford lessons, so I've done things on my own time. I recently inherited an electric chord organ, so I've been dabbling with that and figuring out how to play it. I'd love to incorporate my writing with music someday.

1970s electronic organ.

4. I love old things. I'm an avid antique and vintage collector. Anything from the 1800s to the 1970s is fair game, though my favorite eras include the years between 1880 and 1930. I have hundreds of antique books, and I am always on the lookout to snag more copies for my collection. A lot of what I find is direct from thrift stores or Facebook marketplace. My most recent find is a hand-made Tiffany-style stained glass rabbit lamp, of which I picked up today.

My hand-made vintage Tiffany-style stained glass rabbit lamp.

5. I have a lot of houseplants. I've always wanted to find ways to bring the outside, inside. Over the past few years, I've begun collecting plants from the discount bins at Lowes and Walmart. I currently have 13 plants, and I've been propagating and cloning them. I've not sunk more than $100 into this hobby since its inception, as most of the plants I find are $5 or less. The most I've spent on a plant is $10, including my monstera deliciosa, which grew so big I had to split it up into three pots. I also have aloe, pothos, snake plants, Zanzibar gem, calathea orbifolia, jade plant, fiddle-leaf fig, and a cactus of which I don't know the name.

My monstera. Image on the left is before it was repotted. Images on the right are its three repottings.

6. I don't read as much as I should. Contrary to popular belief, it's possible to be a writer without being an avid reader. Though reading a lot certainly makes one more adept in their practice. I only average about 2 books a month throughout the year. I'd love to read more, but my ADHD makes it hard for me to focus. I tend to put off a lot of things, including the things I want to do and enjoy doing. Unfortunately, this causes reading to go on the back-burner in pursuit of other hobbies.

Some of my books, including more vintage pieces I've collected from thrift stores. I'm bad at organizing my shelves :P

7. I love video games. I am a Pokémon officianado. No, literally, I play the games every year when they come out. I own thousands of cards, and some of them are pretty rare. I'm hoping one day they'll pay for my kid's college tuition ;). I also enjoy The Legend of Zelda, Skyrim, The Sims 4, Animal Crossing, and Stardew Valley. I mostly play games on the Nintendo Switch, my pride and joy.

My Nintendo Switch hanging out with corduroy Pikachu.

8. I love art history. It goes hand and hand with my love of literature. I'm fascinated by works throughout history highlighting the human condition. My favorite place in the world is the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. I could get lost in there for days without getting bored. It's like traveling through time to admire the work of amazing humans who have come before us. I almost minored in art history during my undergraduate degree, but I got lazy and never declared. I made sure to take at least one art history class every semester because it meant a cheap trip to NYC.

Me and Starry Night by Van Gogh circa 2014.

9. I love animals. My second job ever was working for a dog boarding and daycare business. I loved it so much. I got to bathe the dogs, play with them, feed them their two daily meals, give them medication, and more. Many of them were frequent flyers so I got to know them well. On my birthday last year, I found a stray that had been hit by a car. Instead of celebrating my day doing something fun, I took the dog in, cared for it, and found it a safe place at a shelter. It ended up being adopted by a loving family. I also have three dogs myself: Bandit, a chihuahua; Bo, a German shepherd mix; and Roscoe, a pitbull-rottweiler mix. All rescues :)

Bo, Bandit, and Roscoe.

10. I live in the Blue Ridge Mountains. My unincorporated town is home to less than 1,500 people. I moved here in 2021 because my partner's has family from here, and we were able to buy a house. I came here from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, and my hometown is home to about 32,000 people. It's been a big adjustment, but it's a beautiful place to live, and I love it. Life goes by slower here, and I feel really in touch with nature.

My dog, Bandit, and my son, running toward the pond in our backyard.

__________________________________

Read more about the Challenge here:

Humanity
24

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Rene Volpi 6 months ago

    I remember reading this before. Don't know why, but probably the title enticed me to read it again. I feel so much like you do, we should be twins! 😋 I also think you're an old soul. 💯

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Hi! https://vocal.media/confessions/getting-to-know-who

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Love this! 😁You’ve always seemed like a really cool and all around super creative person to me and this just adds even more so to that feeling haha

  • Berry Driven8 months ago

    Thanks for introducing yourself further. Love the rabbit lamp. Looks like something that will take you to wonderland.

  • Ariel Joseph8 months ago

    Sul Sul! I just got into playing the Sims 4 last year. I was really into the first 2 Sims games, and I couldn't resist getting back into the franchise now that I'm older and have my own disposable income. That is so cool you taught yourself all those instruments. I had to google what a Kalimba is. But seriously impressive. I always start trying to learn guitar and give up after a few weeks. You have inspired me to try again!

  • EYHCS8 months ago

    Nice to meet you. You possess various interests and hobbies, and it all makes sense. I'm curious about what type of books you usually gravitate towards. I am listening to at least two audiobooks at any given time. 🤟🏾 The photography and your collection of crystals are eye-catching!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    While some things were not a surprise, other stuff was a nice surprise to learn. Thank you for taking part in this, Ashley, was good to learn more about you and the person you are behind your words!

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    Some of this came as no surprise, coming from the cape and being an animal and art lover. Pokeman, now that came out of left field. I've traveled through the Blue Ridge many times and it is a beautiful place. Nice to get to know you better!

  • This is such a cool challenge because, you're right, I feel some of us comes through in our writing, but a lot of it is surrounded by assumptions and theories about who the person might be. This challenge allows us readers to get to know specific things about you. Speaking of which, I love animals too!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    I like collecting hockey cards, and I do like thrift stores for rare finds

  • Omgggg, I would love to have a dinosaur fossil too! Yayyyyyy, I play Pokemon too! But only played the older ones. Blue, Firered, Leafgreen, Ruby and Theta Emerald X. I only have a GBA and it's not compatible with the newer ones. I wasn't a card collector so I have none but my cousins have a huge collection. Bo, Bandit and Roscoe are soooo adorable! I would love to live in Blue Ridge Mountains. I'm not a people person so that sounds like heaven! I enjoyed learning more about you!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    A home for all the muses, well documented with the accompanying photography. I especially like your section about the different instruments you learned. I will post an entry for this one at some point soon.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    History, art, and impressed that you taught yourself how to play many instruments. Love that you xan play the ukulele!!! ♥️♥️💕

  • Alivia Varvel8 months ago

    I ADORE that rabbit lamp! Thanks for sharing this. It's cool to get to know you more!

  • Rene Volpi 8 months ago

    "My favorite place in the world is the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. I could get lost in there for days without getting bored. It's like traveling through time to admire the work of amazing humans who have come before us." Absolutely. 💯

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    I am going to do this one, but I see that I will have try to keep up! Thank you for sharing this!

  • Sara 8 months ago

    I loved the little window into your world, you seem like such a magical person 🫶

  • Ashley, you are the quintessential Renaissance Woman! This is rich with the unique facets of your world. I live and breathe Music and the Fine Arts, but I came to a screeching halt when I read that you have 13 plants. Congratulations! They would not have survived me. Kudos on "Who Am I?"

  • Absolutely love this! Especially that you added personal photos.. it really felt like getting to know you reading this ❤️✨🙏 I got so excited by all the common threads also! I am a huge photography fan…Also since I was young. Sadly when I left my ex husband back in 2019 he vindictively stole all of my lenses and camera.. And of course I couldn’t afford to replace them 😓 one day I will be able to return to it. Photography always feels so natural to me! I also LOVE that rabbit lamp!!! (Possibly also because I was born in the year of the fire rabbit 😉 and this is super symbolic of that). Such a cool piece !!! I love the photo of you at MoMa… I know when I visit I am going to be recreating this photo and thanking you for it 😇🥰

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Enjoyed reading this. The town I am in now has less than 150 people living in it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.