Confessions logo

When The Morning Comes

How My Mornings Have Changed

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
8

Introduction

I was getting a couple of things in Aldi and the Hall and Oates record started playing over the speakers and it got me to thinking about how my mornings, especially on weekends had sort of changed over the years.

This is all about me so you may not find it incredibly interesting and this is the sort of diaristic confessional piece that I used to post on Seven Days In.

I also know that my Vocal friends and audience appreciate me sharing some of my personal life with them, but there will be no pictures I promise.

I almost got the idea to turn it into a playlist and suddenly I have started thinking of songs that relate to morning so I will share them with you as chapters.

So this has now become a confessional playlist.

The Morning Of Our Lives

One of the things I hear from people with kids, and probably Juliet and Kirsty were the same with me, is that pre school they were always up really early, even though I wanted a lie in, but then when it was a school day, they had to be dragged out.

To be quite honest I am often like that on a work day, I stay up too late and then the following morning I just do not want to leave my bed. I hear about go-getters who get up at four, run or cycle for miles and then do god knows how many hours in the day, but they seem like machines rather than humans.

I prefer art to work.

Sunday Morning

I remember when Sundays were spent in bed reading papers, drinking coffee and eating toast. Often I wouldn't get up til mid-afternoon, but at some point, things changed. It may have been when I realised I had to do something physically about my health and Diabetes and Fiona suggested the Million Step Challenge.

The timing seemed wrong for me, but though I didn't do it to raise money, it has certainly improved my physique, though my six-pack is still more a bag of potatoes than some rock-hard cans or bottles.

In order to walk I started to realise that I could be walking rather than lounging and lying around in bed. So Sundays became quite a bit more physically active for me as did the rest of the week.

Morning Has Broken

Pre Covid I was working at Citygate in Newcastle and to get my steps up I started to walk to work when it was practical to do so. This meant I could appreciate the beauty of the sun rising and seeing the amazing colours in the sky.

One unexpected benefit from this came when I was diagnosed with Liver Cancer and my consultant said normally when she got cases like this it was not normally a good outcome because people were so frail that treatment would be traumatic, but I was in such good physical shape that they could do anything to me, and I would be able to take it.

As you might guess I think I am recovered and I documented the operation here.

Each weekend though I am usually dressed and showered by eight in the morning, although I do still love the feel of warm bedclothes in the morning and find it difficult to get out of bed, though that is usually when i have to go to work.

Conclusion

These are just some observations on how my mornings have changed over the last twenty years or so. I don't know if it is the same for you, but if it is you know someone else is going through the same thing, and it is not bad.

HumanityWorkplaceSecretsSchoolFriendshipFamilyBad habits
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    I enjoyed reading this very much, Mike! The music was soothing at the end of the day, and all groups and songs were new to me. It is hard to choose a favorite, but I really felt serene listening to "Morning has Broken". Seeing the picture of you when you wrote the 'L-Shaped Wound" shows that you have rebounded very well from the sickness and surgery. I am so glad you added walking to your life.

  • When I was little (okay, I'm still short--little in all but girth), it was always a tough decision. Do I sleep in on Saturday or get up in time to watch my favorite cartoons beginning (if I recall correctly) at 6. It kind of remained that way well into my adulthood. Do I sleep in or get up to play tennis when it's still cool? Then I began walking our dog at 6 a.m. every day except for Sunday when I got up at 4. (I'm a pastor. I had to get ready for church.) Now I can barely manage to get up before noon. Ay-yi-yi! I think I'll just leave it there.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Good read, Mike. I think morning routines change for all of us as we get more mature.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Mornings are such a sacred time for me! They have been for a long time. I've noticed a change in how I've been spending them lately too, however. I find myself using them to clean and tidy the apartment more than writing lately. Could just be my anxious mind!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I enjoy this playlist Thank you🥰

  • Interesting Article❤️Great work❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.