Confessions logo

When I say I Love You, I Mean It

Forever and Always

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 3 min read
When I say I Love You, I Mean It
Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

If I could turn back time and take your pain away, I would. I remember those days when you were strong, and you could lift me up and spin me around. You might not be able to do that anymore, but

You're still strong.

What is physical strength anyway, but the ability to lift?

The heart is stronger than any other muscle in the body, and yours is the kindest and strongest that I have ever known.

There has been pain and tears in our journey, but we made it. We made it because we are strong.

Our strength comes from love, not looks and muscle.

People talk. They say we are bad for each other. Maybe we are, sometimes. What relationship is perfect?

What relationship doesn't have arguments and disagreements sometimes anyway?

You're afraid that I won't love you anymore because disability has changed your thinking and your strength, but you are wrong because I loved you back then, and I love you exactly as you are now.

You say that you feel guilty, because I am now the one left doing everything; but I married you 'in sickness and in health.'

I have always believed that love never dies in sickness or disability, especially when you truly love that person from the heart.

Yes, the housework does get on my nerves; but it's not killing me!

It hurts me more than ever to see you in so much pain, and so tired 24 hours, every day of the week; but I will do everything and anything in my power to make life a little happier for you, every day.

Being a lone carer isn't easy at times, but I do make time to look after myself too. I bathe, work out, cook, bake, write, buy clothes and makeup, and I relax by reading, sewing, and listening to music.

We were both ill recently, but we still fought through it without giving up on each other.

Isn't that what love is about?

We still have fun cooking together, going to concerts, watching television, writing together, going for days out, and going on holidays. In, fact, my life would be boring and bland without you.

Besides I don't want another woman or man in my life, no matter how fit and healthy they are. I just want you!

Life would be boring with anyone else, because that person wouldn't be you.

So, when life gets you down and you feel like giving up. Take a good look around you, because everything you need is right in front of you.

You only have to reach out and get it, and you can do that anytime you want it.

Remember, disabilities don't stop me from loving you, and they don't make me feel embarrassed or ashamed of you. Too many people in this world, break hearts because when the person they love changes, sadly so do they, and then they leave them.

Dear loving, caring, bright, wonderful man.

One day, you'll see just how much you really mean to me, and I can't wait for that day to come.

Through the biggest storms of your life, through the trauma and the pain, through every disability, whether permanent or not, and through anything and everything that life chooses to throw at you.

We stand together in strength and love, through it all because love never gives up when it is true.

Always remember my words, for they are the truest ever spoken.

When I say I love you, I mean it.

Saying those words 'I do,' mean a lot to me, and 25th June 1999 was the best day of my life, and the most memorable day of my life ever made.

Humanity

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.